+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Senior Member fakan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    California & Canada
    Posts
    644

    Exclamation flash my hardrive

    I got 120GB hardrive maxtor - in external case connected to my laptop through USB.

    For some reason it started to show that its only 13GB drive.

    I'm trying to flash my hardrive bios .... should I use Max-Blast or is there something else ?

    Where I can get it ?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Fur ballin Sixpac_XP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Victoria, BC
    Posts
    4,371
    How old is the laptop..it may not recognize the hard drive size properly.

  3. #3
    Senior Member fakan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    California & Canada
    Posts
    644

    laptop

    its 3.06GHZ dell brand new laptop ....

    I have tried to connect the drive to a different computer ( tower) and it recognized same size

    what should I use to flash the drive ? flashing the hardrive helps to gain back maybe few gigs but isnt it too hardcore when 120GB is showing only 13GB ?

  4. #4
    Senior Member fakan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    California & Canada
    Posts
    644
    it was working fine for hmm 6 months maybe the laptop recognized the drive with out any problem .... after that I had some problems I had to format my laptop n stuff ... since than its showin only 13GB ....

  5. #5
    Fur ballin Sixpac_XP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Victoria, BC
    Posts
    4,371
    whats the model number of the USB drive and which OS are you using on your laptop?

  6. #6
    Senior Member fakan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    California & Canada
    Posts
    644
    USB 2 and I'm using winXP PRO SP2 hmm is it going to be a problem to flash it ?
    Not sure if the fact that its connected through the USB won't cause any trouble

  7. #7
    Fur ballin Sixpac_XP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Victoria, BC
    Posts
    4,371
    Well if worked before it shouldn't be a problem with the drive. I would avoid flashing it.. I will look on Maxtor's site and see what I can find for you.

  8. #8
    Fur ballin Sixpac_XP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Victoria, BC
    Posts
    4,371
    I need the exact model number for the drive.. should be listed on the bottom of it.

  9. #9
    Senior Member fakan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    California & Canada
    Posts
    644
    the drive is in the external case and the case is screwd with 15 bolts hmm is it necessery that number ? If its needed I can open it up it will just take a few minutes .......

    what else can I do if not flashing it ?

    the drive works fine only problem is its showing 13GB instead of 120 GB lool little detail

  10. #10
    Fur ballin Sixpac_XP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Victoria, BC
    Posts
    4,371
    OH... is a aftermarket USB hard drive enclosure because Maxtor makes there own USB external hard drives in their own enclosures.

  11. #11
    Senior Member fakan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    California & Canada
    Posts
    644
    yeah its after-market external case that you buy for 40$ and than u just put in regular hardrive out of ur tower ... this way its much more cheaper ... instead of paying 350 - 400$ you just pay 150 already with the case or somethin like that

    should I take it out of the case ?

  12. #12
    Senior Member fakan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    California & Canada
    Posts
    644

    max-blast

    what about flashing the drive ? how else can I get back the original size of the hd ?

    could I use max-blast ? I was looking for that little utillity on maxtor website but there is nothin like that

  13. #13
    Uncommon Man samwichse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    4,279
    Er, have you checked its partition table with a partition manager of some sort?

    You'll probably have to do this from within windows as DOS doesn't work too well with USB stuff (so no booting to a ranish partition manager disk). You might be able to use ranish from a command window though.

    Sam

  14. #14
    Senior Member fakan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    California & Canada
    Posts
    644
    check for errors ? I use partition magic is that what you mean ?

    hmm thats what I think as well that connecting the hardrive through USB hm I dont even think that it would show up in dos mode

  15. #15
    Uncommon Man samwichse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    4,279
    Well partition magic works from windows, so what does it say?

  16. #16
    Senior Member fakan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    California & Canada
    Posts
    644

    partition magic

    Ok this is very weird

    When I connect the hardrive to my laptop through USB and I try to run partition magic 8. it just display that error 100 " partition table is bad" and than shots down automaticly

    when I disconnect the USB drive the partition magic starts no problem and works like a charm...

    I had some stuff saved since I lost 120GB to 13GB I have saved some files there and now I'm trying to transfer those files back to my laptop .... but after 2-3 minutes of transfering it says that I/O error connection or cable error.

    but I can explore the drive and get little files out of there no problem

    any ideas ?

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question in regards to KeyCodes
    By HuntinGalnMO in forum Security and Privacy Issues
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: October 9th, 2004, 02:33 PM
  2. resize my drive
    By fakan in forum Applications and Operating Systems
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: September 24th, 2004, 07:55 PM
  3. GB wont register?
    By cyclebreakers1 in forum PC Modification
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: August 1st, 2004, 06:02 AM
  4. FS: TI-83+, laptop, proc, bad mobos, etc.
    By emcron in forum Traders Forum: Buy, Sell, Trade
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: March 30th, 2004, 10:47 PM
  5. Mount hdd to a fan?
    By OC Guy in forum PC Modification
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: January 13th, 2002, 06:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc