+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member sm8000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    985

    Acrobat 7.0 Pro can't find or create fonts

    I'm a helpdesk worker trying to assist a user in my office who has Acrobat 7.0 Pro (upgrade from 6.0, not sure if Pro or Standard). When he opens a file he created to edit it some more, he gets a popped-up error message saying "Cannot find or create the font 'TimesNewRomanPSMT' some characters may not display or print correctly." The font name seems to vary depending what was used in a given document. All that can be seen then is anything non-text. However the documents appear just fine in Acrobat 6.0 Standard. This includes the 7.0.1 and 7.0.2 updates to Acrobat and reader.

    This user has Windows XP with Service Pack 2 and MS Office XP (no SPs).

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1
    Eureka I think I found it !!!

    There are many allusions to font problems on other posts on the web... That lead me to try something that works immediatly, without reinstalling.

    It seems that there is a problem (BUG ) with the font handling in Acrobat 7... standard / pro / or reader. But Acrobat 8 reader can read the file (on the same computer).

    The only thing I did to fix the problem was to remove the 2 fonts I had manually added (for bar code handling in my case)... After I Reopened the file with Reader 7 and the file displayed correctly.

    So if you installed a package that install fonts, or simply installed new fonts manually, try to identify the font, remove them, and Bingo !

    Hope this helps many of u that had that bothering problem !

    J.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1

    Adobe fonts missing

    Delete the below 3 files from the Adobe directory:

    \Documents and Settings\UserName\Application Data\Adobe\Acrobat\8.0\

    AdobeCMapFnt08.lst
    AdobeSysFnt08.lst
    UserCache.bin

    Once deleted, re-open the file with Adobe.

    Without those files, adobe will re-create them. THe main problem seemed to be in the UserCache.bin file not listing the font that was missing. Once abobe opens and re-creates the files, it seems to populate UserCache.bin with all the proper fonts and open the document properly.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by sm8000 View Post
    I'm a helpdesk worker trying to assist a user in my office who has Acrobat 7.0 Pro (upgrade from 6.0, not sure if Pro or Standard). When he opens a file he created to edit it some more, he gets a popped-up error message saying "Cannot find or create the font 'TimesNewRomanPSMT' some characters may not display or print correctly." The font name seems to vary depending what was used in a given document. All that can be seen then is anything non-text. However the documents appear just fine in Acrobat 6.0 Standard. This includes the 7.0.1 and 7.0.2 updates to Acrobat and reader.

    This user has Windows XP with Service Pack 2 and MS Office XP (no SPs).

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Oxfordshire, England
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs up Thank you!

    Quote Originally Posted by ddix View Post
    Delete the below 3 files from the Adobe directory:

    \Documents and Settings\UserName\Application Data\Adobe\Acrobat\8.0\

    AdobeCMapFnt08.lst
    AdobeSysFnt08.lst
    UserCache.bin

    Once deleted, re-open the file with Adobe.

    Without those files, adobe will re-create them. THe main problem seemed to be in the UserCache.bin file not listing the font that was missing. Once abobe opens and re-creates the files, it seems to populate UserCache.bin with all the proper fonts and open the document properly.


    On behalf of several million frustrated Acrobat Reader users, THANK YOU so much for this tip. It worked for me immediately.

    But why, Oh why, can't a company like Adobe write code without stupid bugs like this? Don't they ever test their own code? Do they ever listen to users? Do they never read the forums?

    Aha..., I think I can guess. I'll bet they hired ex-Microsoft programmers.

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. How can I find out my IP address in XP Pro
    By cosjobs in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: February 11th, 2013, 06:38 AM
  2. Acrobat error: Cannot find External Window Handler....what is this?
    By newbie~wan in forum Applications and Operating Systems
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: August 3rd, 2012, 04:50 AM
  3. Question about Acrobat 6 Pro
    By Undeadlord in forum Graphic Design and Digital Photography
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 5th, 2004, 05:32 AM
  4. WTB: Microsoft Office and Windows software + Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Pro
    By Idz21 in forum Traders Forum: Buy, Sell, Trade
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: April 1st, 2004, 07:26 PM
  5. Adobe Premiere Pro 7.0 Create Clips
    By lobo_pac in forum Graphic Design and Digital Photography
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: March 29th, 2004, 02:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc