+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member TheBigCarp321's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Paragon City
    Posts
    873

    Logo Resume Placement?

    Hey all. Question. Where would we put our certification logos on our resume? For example the comptia A+, would you put it in the top left hand corner? Or would you put it under education or would you do just put one in the corner and not make a reference to it in words. Any thoughts or ideas?
    Phenom 1100T @3.8GHz//8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1333//XFX HD6870 Crossfire//Win7 64//3DMark11: P6702

  2. #2
    Super Stealthy Moderator RicheemxX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    8,836
    Blog Entries
    4
    I don't know that you are ever "supposed" to add logo's to your resume. But I guess some people do. Typically you'd just list your certs under education.

    You def. wouldn't add them to the top left hand corner that I know! You'd probably want to add them to the same section you'd be placing your cert/training
    Last edited by RicheemxX; December 14th, 2006 at 02:20 AM.
    Be a Liberal, blame everyone else!!

  3. #3
    Banned Keymaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Loveland, CO
    Posts
    5,486
    Blog Entries
    2
    IMO I wouldn't add any kind of logo. "You want to keep it clean", use key words and sell yourself! Describe your expertise rather than have a lazafare approach to your potential. You are the companies prospective investment! Your resume is their prospectus.

    Good Luck!!!

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member SeanC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Milton
    Posts
    4,832
    I agree with everyone, don't put the logos on your resume. It looks tacky and distracts from the real meat on your resume.

  5. #5
    Senior Member tarpat1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Pitman, NJ
    Posts
    703
    As a person who looks at tech resumes from time to time it would not be a plus for an applicant who did this. However, if you feel you need to then be aware that the logos may have specific rules for use and placement.

  6. #6
    Mobile Member ShuckyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    S. Central PA
    Posts
    3,644
    another tip is to try and keep your resume to one page.. thats key for alot of employers (at least from my experience)
    Mobile: Lenovo Yoga Pro 2 | Desktop: Dell XPS 8300 | 3.4 Ghz Intel i7 | 16GB DDR3 | SSDs for LR photo editing

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member famosbrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    1,796
    Blog Entries
    1
    Leave the logos off, but add the acronyms in the correct areas. Do not be afraid of more than 1 page if you have that much relevant experience, education, etc.

  8. #8
    Banned Keymaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Loveland, CO
    Posts
    5,486
    Blog Entries
    2
    I've heard 1 to 2 and no more. Employers don't want to read a book per say.

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member famosbrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    1,796
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Keymaker View Post
    I've heard 1 to 2 and no more. Employers don't want to read a book per say.
    it all depends on the job you are applying for, what field you are in, and what you are trying to get accross. My resume was 3 pages when I applied for my last job. It was a Systems Administrator job making a WHOLE lot of money, so I polaced all of the Microsoft courses taken, relevant courses taken in college, certifications attained, RELEVANT positions held in the past which were a whole lot and they all came together very well, etc. When you move up the ladder, the 1 page resumes might not be enough at all!! Maybe entry level positions, but when you are going for positions like higher management, entire company's systems/network engineer/adminstrator, or anything else that will yield great responsibility and need skilled applicants, employers need MEAT in the resume, so they can ask you the "detailed" questions during the interview without asking the obvious general info that is already listed on your resume. At my last job, one of the Directors of I.T. said that his resume was about 10 pages long. Another guy in upper management said that his was about 8. It gets pretty lengthy when you are holding or applying for high level, experience needed jobs.

  10. #10
    Banned Keymaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Loveland, CO
    Posts
    5,486
    Blog Entries
    2

    Talking

    I would just pass up a book if I was in charge of hiring.

    My tactic would be to just look at a well formated and to the point one or two page resume and then let the interview tell me more about the expertise of the applicant's I wish to pay. Very old jobs are irrelevant especially any of the Mc Donald's type jobs, IE; Odd job employment history.

    OP, Do you know about the use of "key word" resume scanning?

    So I guess it varies by employer and what their looking for.

  11. #11
    Ultimate Member famosbrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    1,796
    Blog Entries
    1
    Correct...that is why I capitalized RELEVANT job history/experience in my reply. If you don't have that many, then you don't have that many. If you do have that many, then don't leave them out...again...it depends on the position you are applying for, how much money, etc.

  12. #12

    Smile Logo Resume Placement?

    I don't know if placing a logo is good or bad. It might not harm your chances of getting a job. It may be good to place a logo if you do a really good job of the Resume layout. In addition to or alternative to placing the logo, make sure you mention the certification in words. That way it gets picked up Resume search software.

    With regards to the number of pages in the Resume, i don't mind if if the resume exceeds 3 to 4 pages for a person with 10 years of experience, or for jobs that a recruiter might spend a significant amount of time searching such as mid level or senior management positions. However if you are a fresher, and your recruiter has to pick up 50 resumes out of 500 for 5 positions, and he/she has 2 hours to do the job, books probably does not make sense. At the same time, even if its a book a recruiter will probably not read it entirely, but appropriate sections only.

    A resume just needs to show the qualities that are required for a specific job. A lot of rubbish might cloud out the gems in the resume.

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. resume
    By keitkeit in forum Certification and Education
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 22nd, 2005, 10:15 PM
  2. Need some resume help.
    By Blazer06 in forum IMO Community
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: August 6th, 2005, 01:00 AM
  3. Sub placement
    By Bizkitkid2001 in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: June 17th, 2005, 07:15 PM
  4. Help With Resume Please.....
    By 311Sam in forum IMO Community
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: May 22nd, 2004, 03:25 PM
  5. Resume Help.
    By PyroSama in forum IMO Community
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 25th, 2004, 07:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc