+ Reply to Thread

CompTIA Exam Vouchers

Hey,

Anyone know of a really great place to get exam vouchers? I'll be taking certs soon and would like - obviously - the cheapest vouchers I can get. But then I've recently read that you can only get vouchers from places that offer study programs... which stinks because I'm self taught. Then there are places that just offer vouchers online but they all seem a bit sketchy!

Geez... talk about a headache just to take an exam, two, or three.

I was thinking of supplementing the CompTIA A+, for instance, with some TestOut.com just to brush up on whatever topics I didn't fully learn from self study (tbc I've been doing PC repair for a while as some on the forum know, I just recently decided to get the A+ before hopping over to networking with the N+ and 'Soft or Cisco certs, although I'd also like to get more into comp sec so Linux+ and Sec+ is also on the list).

Some wonder why I'm even studying for the A+ as a lot of the material is older and the exam is more or less irrelevant (duh, I know networking and network admin work is where it's at). My reason is that I like to be comprehensive so as to be more marketable. Plus my studies for A+ have been more for computer shoppes and stores: it's a safe back up for me since computer stores around here are a dime a dozen and if I don't land big jobs in addition to having my own company, I can at least work for another shop (at the moment I have my company + work elsewhere). Plus, although I do have a college degree, I never got into formally learning computers though have always been doing comp troubleshooting on my spare time for over 10 years now! So I want a cert to prove I have foundational knowledge, thus the A+.

Mike Meyers All in One series has taught me a bunch (just in case anyone is looking at where to begin for their own studies). I've skimmed the N+ book by him and it looks really great.

So that's where I'm at. Looking for stupid exam vouchers.