+ Reply to Thread

Question Programming as a career? Other IT careers?

Hello everyone,

I have been spending this summer researching different career paths in IT. One of the careers I have been considering is going into programming (and maybe even programming for mobile devices, more specifically). I don't have any formal training as I graduated with degrees in business management and marketing but if this was the career path I chose for myself, I'd certainly be willing to take night and weekend classes. I was just hoping to get some insight from people who have worked as programmers (or currently still do) as to what the job is like? I'm just curious about things like stability, growth & demand, as well as pay; I'm not looking to know anyone's salary, I just want to know is this something you can really do as a long-term career; the cost of living in the tri-state area (NY, NJ, Conn.) can be high, which I always try to take into consideration.

Any insight, advice, or resources you could provide would be greatly appreciated! If you have a career in IT, I'd love to hear about it too - there are so many choices and I'm trying to get as much research as I can before I commit to a field of study (should it be required). Thanks so much, this really does help me a lot!

Im not sure I understand buddy?

[He who is Nude..] Nude_Lewd_Man's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by GLaDOS View Post
    Im not sure I understand buddy?
    Either you're talking to yourself, or the SPAMmer that I just decimated...either way, your post doesn't make sense now.....
    I've seen the light... It was green, flashy and attached to a Network Interface Card...
    Whenever someone says "You can't miss it", I invariably do...

TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!IE Team111 FAQs TEAM STATS Apps

Lol it was a spammer? Shoot, haha! Well thanks for deleting!

[He who is Nude..] Nude_Lewd_Man's Avatar