+ Reply to Thread
    Blog Entries

Digital Forensics Cert Questions

So for a while now I've been helping out family and friends by doing a bit of photorec/recuva to get deleted or corrupted files, encrypted drive wipes, removed hard drives with a SATA/IDE-to-USB recovery cable, quick crack/reset Windows passwords, DEFT toolkit in Linux & Windows, you know, the fun stuff! Not really toying much with hex via carving yet but playing around plenty with various operating systems.

As some of you know I'm a paralegal trying to focus more on eDiscovery and data forensics to aide in investigations (I do have some investigations in my background).

So recently I came across the ISCFE's CCE bootcamp pages. I was a CJ major and not a CS major but I do have a lot of the prerequisite skills just by virtue of working on computers heavily. After speaking with an ISCFE rep. I'm seriously considering going to a bootcamp program (ISCFE in VA or Intense in NY).

I'm not good at doing math in my head for some reason. I made this clear. ISCFE assures me that for the exam anyway and the exam's practical (as well as course work), heavy math skills aren't really needed. More "knowing what to do" and using programs to convert Hex, Dec, etc. Not really pencil and paper type stuff. Yet on the ForensicFocus forums CS majors-turned-CCEs say math is used all the time but don't mention programs or calculators that do the conversions for you.

So what's the truth?

My friends all tell me to go for it if I'm really into it. Stop making a mountain out of a mole hill: if I'm good at it, I'm good, if not all I've lost is money but tried to do something I like. Friends in the know say that it's "knowing" math concepts but not really in-the-head calculations. And that it mainly depends on the type of job I get afterwards (data recovery lab heavy into the sciences vs. law office).