+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

[UD] Good News 'n' Bad News

<-------- Kind of one of those.

As some of you know, by day I'm a real estate novelist and accidental mathematician. By night I'm a musician and computer geek. I'm also a full-time UD cruncher and proud member of the Formerly Deranged Bovines.

What you may not know is that I've also had a rather lengthy career as a recording engineer/producer, etc., etc., and am now long retired. However, I've maintained a pretty nice studio in what used to be our living and dining rooms. My wife is the house drummer and graphics designer for Spiny Norman (our indescribable duet) and Little Silver Coaster Records. Both of these rooms house the better part of my UD herd.

My main, biggest fastest cow was actually built as an audio workstation. I've held off installing the specialized hardware and software until now, waiting for a few other things to come together. They did, finally, in the form of a pretty spendy microphone preamp and a couple of mikes that are just perfect for our voices and my guitar.

So, now I gotta put this thing together and start making some noise, or forever recant my claim to being a recording musician. That's the bad news. The worse news is that my general purpose machine which doubles as my number 2 workstation, upon which I'm writing this, has one of those cussed Delta fans on the HSF and it's gonna need to be turned off while I'm recording.

The good news is, I don't do this 24/7, two of the cows are quite quiet and I can work around the limited fan noise thy make, and two are in another room. So, while the big cow is down for a while while I once again tear my hair out trying to turn it into a recorder, the others will continue to crunch, and really, only when I'm in the midst of a project will the big cow be offline (and the #2 one also, when I've got mikes open).