+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    I Void Warranties KarmaKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Springfield
    Posts
    13,485
    Blog Entries
    5

    Stanford releases Nvidia CUDA client!!

    We're happy to roll out the beta nVidia client, it's a nice beta, and so here we go...

    First and before you do anything else, LOOK OVER THE FAQ. Lots of important things in there that you'll need to know if you do anything beyond run the installer and run it.

    Drivers
    You MUST use the 174.55 version of the drivers (or better, from that URL) for now. You do not need the other files, just the drivers.

    Known bugs:
    It's a beta, and yes we meant that, not like Google but like software engineers - expect glitches and updates. The main thing is that the viewer will not work, as we're in the middle of changing how the live coordinates get to the viewer. Other then that, visit our nVidia beta Forum to see what's happening.

    Download:
    6.12 beta 6

    Get ready guys. I got 3 Nvidia cards just waiting to get this installed today..
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Stanford releases Nvidia CUDA client!!-gpu2.jpg  
    Last edited by KarmaKiller; June 20th, 2008 at 06:28 PM.
    Q6600@4Ghz | i7 920@4.4Ghz |E6320@3.5Ghz
    FAQ's ~ Team Stats
    My PC

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  2. #2
    I Void Warranties KarmaKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Springfield
    Posts
    13,485
    Blog Entries
    5
    Update:
    You have to install new drivers for your GPU to enable CUDA. I'm currently using
    CUDA Downloads - NVIDIA
    those. On the F@H Forums they were recommending 175.33, but on Vista 32bit I couldn't get those to install.
    Next, YOU HAVE TO HAVE 1 CPU CORE TO RUN GPU2. So to everyone running SMP's, and maxing out all of your CPU cores, you need to go into the advanced options and edit it to only use the proper amount of cores
    (In console, use
    Code:
      fah.exe -config
    then go into advanced options from there)

    Once you have the proper driver installed, and the proper cores set, then the GPU client should run fine.
    FahMon is reporting my OC'd 9600GT is getting 2490.35 PPD.
    Q6600@4Ghz | i7 920@4.4Ghz |E6320@3.5Ghz
    FAQ's ~ Team Stats
    My PC

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is 10 and 5 added together?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. New GPU folding client is available from Stanford
    By KarmaKiller in forum Distributed Computing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 10th, 2008, 09:26 PM
  2. Stanford VW Wins $2M Driverless Car Race
    By mad1 in forum IMO Community
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 10th, 2005, 09:29 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 12th, 2002, 09:08 PM
  4. Pros/cons of migrating to W2K Pro client -vs- XP client in a school, or any biz??
    By plucky duck in forum Applications and Operating Systems
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: January 8th, 2002, 11:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc