Closed Thread
Page 4 of 15 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 14 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 291
  1. #61
    [He who is Nude..] Nude_Lewd_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    My own little world.
    Posts
    11,764
    I'm thinking that maybe Shy was trying to access via my site, but I hadn't added anything after post 20 to there at the time.....I've updated it and now it is just a case of waiting for my hosting servers to finish replicating the menu around to get it to link properly....
    I've seen the light... It was green, flashy and attached to a Network Interface Card...
    Whenever someone says "You can't miss it", I invariably do...

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!IE Team111 FAQs TEAM STATS Apps

  2. #62
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,258
    No, I checked via TIMO here, and there was no additional pages beyond the first one. Then when you posted last night about that thread, I looked and all 3 pages were there again. But wasn't via your site, was in TIMO here that I was looking.
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  3. #63
    [He who is Nude..] Nude_Lewd_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    My own little world.
    Posts
    11,764
    Not sure what happened there then...the thread has been here all along, as I've been replying to it... I know that the page on my site does appear to be from here (apart from the menu bar at the top - which I only added yesterday afternoon) so it would be easy to be confused about which you were actually looking at - and my site only had the first page on there, until just about the time I added the menu to those pages...........
    I've seen the light... It was green, flashy and attached to a Network Interface Card...
    Whenever someone says "You can't miss it", I invariably do...

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!IE Team111 FAQs TEAM STATS Apps

  4. #64
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,258
    Yeah, I know for sure it wasn't via your site, because I had actually gone to find it via the forums sections, and opened it that way, not from any URL links posted in this thread.

    but who knows, maybe something was screwy with the forums, Aaron mentioned he'd been having problems with the forums PM functions so, could be a related bug or issue with what ever is/was going on in the background.
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  5. #65
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,258
    Well, just waiting for bank to finish processing the deposit for paycheck, then hitting the buy button for the 560 Ti from EVGA, unless by a stroke of extreme luck Newegg gets in an Open Box 570 for around $200, or even a 6970 for that price (as they have once or twice in past, also wouldn't mind seeing a GTX 460 2Win show up around there as well, or the one time freak instance of a 590 showing up around the $250 mark)
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  6. #66
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,258
    Just hit the button on the 560 Ti FPB on EVGA's site, so hopefully in a week I'll have that.

    Was really hoping to find a 570 for cheap, but never happened, so after looking at some Dual SLI 560 Ti reviews I figured it was enough performance for me, so will be nabbing a 2nd 560 Ti in the next month or two or three, when ever.

    now I can focus on getting the data backed up off the current drives on to the new 1.5TB one, then sometime soon do the whole system transplant into new case, and get the H60 installed.
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  7. #67
    Reap what you sow Aaron_8015's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    4,162
    Blog Entries
    1
    Then overclock that CPU!
    I7 920 @ 4.2Ghz/6GB//GTX480 SLI/M4 64 GB + 1.5 TB + 2x 640 GB/Corsair TX950/ASUS blu-ray/ASUS P6X58D-E + X-Fi /LC PCK62

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  8. #68
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,258
    Oh I plan on it. Just have to let the H60 run on the system a bit before doing that.

    My Current DDR3 is 1333MHz, I know its only running at 1066 currently, but wondering if it should be fine for the OC, or if I should invest in some 1600, since prices are down, but then again, 6GB DDR3 seems to cost more than a 8GB Kit now days, thanks to 1366 being the only triple channel platform out there.
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  9. #69
    Reap what you sow Aaron_8015's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    4,162
    Blog Entries
    1
    Well with my current overclock my RAM is only running at 1080Mhz...

    If you wanted new RAM, check the for sale threads on OCN... I see lots of tri-channel hypers going all the time...
    I7 920 @ 4.2Ghz/6GB//GTX480 SLI/M4 64 GB + 1.5 TB + 2x 640 GB/Corsair TX950/ASUS blu-ray/ASUS P6X58D-E + X-Fi /LC PCK62

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  10. #70
    [He who is Nude..] Nude_Lewd_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    My own little world.
    Posts
    11,764
    ...and there's a TX950 for sale/trade on there too....





    Only a few more days before we fly over to Canadia...
    I've seen the light... It was green, flashy and attached to a Network Interface Card...
    Whenever someone says "You can't miss it", I invariably do...

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!IE Team111 FAQs TEAM STATS Apps

  11. #71
    Reap what you sow Aaron_8015's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    4,162
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Nude_Lewd_Man View Post
    ...and there's a TX950 for sale/trade on there too....





    Only a few more days before we fly over to Canadia...
    I would drop the price down on that TX950..... Scan is selling them for ~120 inc shipping...
    I7 920 @ 4.2Ghz/6GB//GTX480 SLI/M4 64 GB + 1.5 TB + 2x 640 GB/Corsair TX950/ASUS blu-ray/ASUS P6X58D-E + X-Fi /LC PCK62

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  12. #72
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,258
    Hey Aaron, off hand, do you know of those Metal Back Plates on EVGA's site, for the 560's, I know you can order them separately and all, but wondering if installing them requires the cards heatsink and shroud to be removed? Was looking at the plates and they seem to have screw holes where the GPU's heatsink screws usually are, unless those are just drilled out to sit flush around the existing screws?

    was thinking about grabbing one or two once I go SLI to help add some additional cooling to them.



    If your only running 1080 on the RAM, whats the CPU's FSB/QPI or whatever its called now?

    I keep forgetting with these newer boards there's decent CPU/Memory Dividers allowing you to OC the CPU with out bumping the RAM much.
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  13. #73
    [He who is Nude..] Nude_Lewd_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    My own little world.
    Posts
    11,764
    I think I'll leave it as it is until I get back from Canadia, as I'll be offline until then, once I fly out - when I went to San Jose in May, and Turkey in June, the roaming data charges were massive...
    I've seen the light... It was green, flashy and attached to a Network Interface Card...
    Whenever someone says "You can't miss it", I invariably do...

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!IE Team111 FAQs TEAM STATS Apps

  14. #74
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,258
    bit of a surprise, looking at newegg, seems 6GB Triple Channel kits finally dropped in price, $45 for the cheapest 1600 kit: Newegg.com - Computer Hardware, Memory, Desktop Memory, 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM, 6GB (3 x 2GB), DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  15. #75
    Reap what you sow Aaron_8015's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    4,162
    Blog Entries
    1
    Yes, you would have to unscrew pretty much every screw on the card... They look awesome though.

    Not sure what settings I have ATM... I was going to bump it back up to 4.2Ghz last night, but it was quite warm. Will wait a bit longer....

    Please don't buy a cheap kit..
    I7 920 @ 4.2Ghz/6GB//GTX480 SLI/M4 64 GB + 1.5 TB + 2x 640 GB/Corsair TX950/ASUS blu-ray/ASUS P6X58D-E + X-Fi /LC PCK62

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  16. #76
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,258
    You know what I meant when I said cheap kits (price wise)


    Man that sucks with the back plate then, I've heard all the horror stories about Nvidia's "wood screws" they use on their cards, soft metal screws (just a hair excess torque and shred the heads or cross thread by accident and strip them), reverse threads, etc, and ruining the cards or warranty on them.

    I'd be wary of installing the things myself.

    Any idea of how EVGA is, if I installed one, accidentally screwed up (no pun intended), if that would be covered under warranty (90 day on Recertified Cards). Assuming I register the card once I get it, considering how tricky these parts have been to install in past.
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  17. #77
    Reap what you sow Aaron_8015's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    4,162
    Blog Entries
    1
    I'm not 100% sure... We don't really get warranty and such in the UK...

    I would hope that because EVGA sells them that they would support warranty with one installed...
    I7 920 @ 4.2Ghz/6GB//GTX480 SLI/M4 64 GB + 1.5 TB + 2x 640 GB/Corsair TX950/ASUS blu-ray/ASUS P6X58D-E + X-Fi /LC PCK62

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  18. #78
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,258
    once I get my card, and register it, I'll have to shoot them a message and see what they say then.

    Even if it wasn't covered under warranty per say, its just the issue of installing one that would make my a bit wary, in case the screws or threads got screwed up.

    Its not hard to tighten it right make sure its threaded properly, though sometimes mistakes will happen, but its the soft metal screws I'm worried about. My Lian Li Mini ITX case, also uses extremely short, and soft metal screws, so have to be careful about not over tightening them and stripping the heads.
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  19. #79
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,258
    GTX 560 Ti should be here Friday, if UPS doesn't screw up again.


    Also picked up on sale online Corel Video Studio Pro X4 for $50, opted for the boxed version so 4-7 day shipping, and an extra $9 for shipping. But found an Online Coupon site with a valid working 10% off coupon, that I used, dropped the total down to $54 instead, so saved about $5.

    I was going to wait for the next Paycheck, but the sale ends on the 31st and my Payday is the next day, so was a take it or leave it thing, with 50% off regular price, couldn't pass it up.

    once I get that I can then start playing with editing videos my mom has taken with my brothers Step daughters graduation, as well as the other Nieces & Nephews stuff with the other brother.

    And what ever other personal video clips I make with FRAPS, and other stuff.

    Also picked up a couple other Cheap Wii Games to bide my time. Wii Play SUCKS (at least the stupid Pool/Billiards one does, god damn thing never detects the use of the Cue properly, either I hit the ball too hard or not enough, despite my damnedest to hit it right.... And you can't Jump the ball in this game which sucks too.

    Picked up one of the Rapala Fishing games, try that out, its ok, but not all that great either, the damn camera views really suck once the lure is in the water, and once you do catch the damn fish, you have to do some cheap ass mini game like interface to land the damn thing, you screw up on that, and the fish gets away.
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  20. #80
    [He who is Nude..] Nude_Lewd_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    My own little world.
    Posts
    11,764
    That reminds me of the last night I was in San Jose back in May...when I was [finally] able to go to a bar (rather than hotel bars, restaurants or Dave & Busters) and there was a pool table there......................which I managed to OWN for the night, once I'd been able to get a chance to play... I was beating everyone, from the 4 or 5 that were playing to start off with, the manager, some others who were called over, the manager again, and a few others...
    I've seen the light... It was green, flashy and attached to a Network Interface Card...
    Whenever someone says "You can't miss it", I invariably do...

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!IE Team111 FAQs TEAM STATS Apps

Closed Thread
Page 4 of 15 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 14 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [F@H SPAM MAY 2011] Sinko De Mayo...?
    By ShyguyXPC in forum Distributed Computing
    Replies: 191
    Last Post: August 4th, 2011, 04:22 PM
  2. [F@H SPAM JAN 2011] January... The Monday Of The Year
    By ShyguyXPC in forum Distributed Computing
    Replies: 460
    Last Post: May 18th, 2011, 07:30 PM
  3. Help me out here.. brain fart
    By vass0922 in forum IMO Community
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: December 7th, 2005, 11:03 AM
  4. OK brain fart?
    By sam in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 8th, 2004, 10:51 PM
  5. Mandela is suffering some sort of brain fart.
    By Epidemic in forum IMO Community
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: February 1st, 2003, 12:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc