+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 29
  1. #1
    Senior Member Speed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Montclair, California That BURNING smell isnt my computer... IS IT????
    Posts
    673

    Angry Invalid CD Key in Counter Strike

    Hey there, I have 2 machines both with the newest CT on them, both with different CD keys. We connect via Linksys Cable router. Everything is fine. Yesterday I built my youngest sons their own PC, So this is #3 on my LAN, all connected to the same router. I Installed everything, put in CT everything is smooth, installed the newest versions, put in a new cd key (REAL) we started a LAN game and everything works fine. Go to thier computer and try to play online, I get to the loading screen then it kicks me out saying my CD Key is invalid??!! I put in a new one still doesnt work, I put in the one from my computer, still says the same thing! I uninstall CT and HL shut it off. Im tired. Today I reinstall everything from scratch put in even another CD Key, same thing. Its after midnight, Im tired and they are too.

    Does anyone have any ideas?
    Please?

    Dave.
    That smells not my computer... IS IT????

  2. #2
    Banned Blood_Luster's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Walnut Creek, CA
    Posts
    713
    So you're saying that You have 3 diff CD's with 3Diff CD-Keys? or 3 CDs and 2 CD-KEYS?
    Well, the reason for the CD keys are to keep it from being PIRATED and used online ....so if 2 people have same CD-KEY one will get booted(The 2ed person who gets in I belive) ...but...you...could always...do some Google Searchs for some keys...(not remended) if you're depret... or something...

    Later

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Athens, GA
    Posts
    1,333
    soemone might have guessed ur cdkey so urs wont work. I believe you can call them and they will give u a new one. I think u just have to read a number to them off the CD

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member radio1_mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Weymouth, MA
    Posts
    1,777
    Yah. That is what most likely happened. You can call up Sierra and they will give ya a new one.

    Or if ya had broadband you could download the latest version and do something with that I suppose.
    New Dad since 07/06/2005

  5. #5
    Member ecvtony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    118
    how long was this invalid cd key coming up on your sys? if someone has your cd key you'll get "cd key in use". by the way, are you using the mod or retail version?

  6. #6
    Senior Member Speed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Montclair, California That BURNING smell isnt my computer... IS IT????
    Posts
    673
    Sorry I never got back to you guys. It was an invalid key problem. I guess now they are inforcing some kind of WON autorization thing. And my CD key was not in thier files or something. Sierra was able to get me another CD key.

    Thanks for your help.
    That smells not my computer... IS IT????

  7. #7
    Member ecvtony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    118
    cool....happy fraggin!

  8. #8
    Member FlyingHamster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Tx
    Posts
    282
    Originally posted by Speed
    Sorry I never got back to you guys. It was an invalid key problem. I guess now they are inforcing some kind of WON autorization thing. And my CD key was not in thier files or something. Sierra was able to get me another CD key.

    Thanks for your help.
    curious, but how did sierra get u a new key?
    ThE GreatwhitE~
    AMD 2600+ mobile
    Abit NF7 v2.0 w/ d10beta4 bios by tictac
    vdimm vdd & NB modded [thnx Hell Fire]
    2x256mb TwinMOS pc3700 43B
    Radeon 9800Pro @ 450/380 [mods in progress]
    Thermalright SP-97 + Smart Fan II
    WD 1200JB 120gb hdd
    Lian Li PC-60USB
    TTGI 520SS +5v +12v modded [thnx OPPAINTER]
    19" ViewSonic A90
    Lite-On 52x32x52x CD-RW
    Windows XP Pro
    my heatware

    help support us on mIRC! :cool:
    irc://irc.gamesurge.net/dynamic.cs

  9. #9
    Member ecvtony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    118
    come to think of it...i'm curious too.

  10. #10
    Ultimate Member Barney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,625
    They probably used a CD-key generator.

  11. #11
    Member ecvtony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    118
    i have one of those but it only works if you're playing single-player. to play online they don't work unless you're lucky enough to get hit a registered key...

  12. #12
    Senior Member Speed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Montclair, California That BURNING smell isnt my computer... IS IT????
    Posts
    673
    Sierra Entertainment, Inc.
    4247 S Minnewawa Ave
    Fresno, CA 93725
    310-649-8008
    8:00am-5:00pm (PST)
    Monday-Friday


    Customer Service:
    8:00am-4:00pm (PST), Monday-Friday
    Phone: 310-649-8000

    I called, got transfered about 20 times, explained my problem about 10 more times, had to fax them a copy of my cd cover and old cd key. Gave them my email. They then sent me another cd key.

    CD key generators do not work for online gaming.

    Dave.
    That smells not my computer... IS IT????

  13. #13
    Member ecvtony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    118
    thanks for the info. never know when you'll have a problem with a cd key. keep fraggin...

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    3
    if you are just creating a lan game, you should only need one cd-key total...

    my dad put cs on his pc and we could play lan games perfectly.

    but if we tried to join the someone's server over the internet, it would say "cd-key in use."

    also, you must enable dmc host on your router to let others connect to your server(only when creating a wan game, not a lan tho).

  15. #15
    Member ecvtony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    118
    correct. for a lan game, the cd key can be the same. but if go online to play only one of the systems will be to. so if you have multiple systems that you want to be able to play online at the same time with, you will need multiple cd keys.

    halflife is inexpensive now and buying it just for the cd key is all you'll need. don't buy tampered software either.

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    1

    CD Key

    Hey, Im at a friends house and he has 2 comps on a network. One of his comps he has CS the other he doenst, so i brought my CS on CD over and installed it. The first time I started it it didnt ask me for my CD key and when ever I try to go into a game it says Invalid CD key so I dont know what to do??

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5
    You should also run into this problem of cd key in use on a LAN. We did this at a lan party and everyone had to change their keys. 'Twas quite annoying but it all worked out in the end.

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1
    Hi this is my first post in these forums!
    I've got a problem with Counter-Strike. When I try to join a game it says 'Your Cd key is already in use, blah blah......'. I've downloaded a CD-key generator, but where do I have to type in the key that it gives me?? Thx for your help, and I hope that you understand that i DO NOT have an illegal(spelling??) edition of neither CS nor Half-Life. Thx in advance...

  19. #19
    Ultimate Member Nighthawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Montreal, QC
    Posts
    1,950
    You should just contact Sierra like Speed did. Using a keygen is illegal, even if it's for a legal copy of the software.

  20. #20
    Ultimate Member davidamarkley's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    MO
    Posts
    2,354
    Originally posted by FlyingHamster
    curious, but how did sierra get u a new key?
    Disclaimer: I in no means support the use of 'keygens' as they are illegal. Just telling you what I know.

    Sierra uses CD-Key generators to make keys for their gmaes. All software companies do. The reason you can't just use 'Billy Joe Bob's CS keygen' is because, while any key that has a certain algorithm will make the game start up and play single player, Sierra has every 'legit' code in the server software, and thus filters out any duplicates, or illegitimate codes and make them unplayable.

    Glad to hear your back up and running, Speed!! Now, go have fun playing CS!! (And kill with Speed!! )

    David

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is 10 and 5 added together?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc