+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 90
  1. #1
    Senior Member ScottyRolen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    963

    AMD sempron setup vs athlon xp?

    I've seen a few threads saying go sempron instead of athlon XP mobile because you dont need to overclock to get good gamning performance off the bat. Is all this true? I dont see the difference in the newegg stats about the semprons. I noticed the semprons have a 754 socket. Do the motherboards for them cost more then socket A? Thats probably a dumb question as I am assuming they do. Thanks guys.
    The Master of Puppets

  2. #2
    Full Time WoW Addict nwo75200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    8,571

    Arrow

    The only s754 sempron is the 3100+ and IMO that's the only one worth buying if you're on a budget looking for a great gaming CPU right off the bat, without overclocking. And yes, it is true, Semprons (esp. the 3100+ S754) are great at gaming, and much better than athlon XPs
    Just look at the 3100+ sempron leave the 3200+ XP in the dust

    http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...spx?i=2149&p=7

    as you see, the only sempron that is worth buying for gaming is the s754 3100+ and yes, the s754 mobos do cost more than socket A mobos.
    Last edited by nwo75200; October 11th, 2004 at 09:05 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member ScottyRolen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    963
    How much do their mobos cost?
    The Master of Puppets

  4. #4
    Registered User EpyonMelee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,149
    just remember, with a sempron, half the cache and no dual channel ram.

  5. #5
    Senior Member ScottyRolen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    963
    that sucks heh.
    The Master of Puppets

  6. #6
    Full Time WoW Addict nwo75200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    8,571

    Arrow

    Quote Originally Posted by EpyonMelee
    just remember, with a sempron, half the cache and no dual channel ram.
    cache and dual channel RAM don't really matter, as proved by the a64s

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member mazdarx7-64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    2,044
    Nice article NWO, The socket A Semprons are junk to say the least. If your looking socket a there is no reason not to get a athlon mobile, great overclockers! For the socket 754 get the sempron then upgrade to a 64 bit when you got the cash, if you think you need it. If you got money get the socket 939 chips!
    BSOD.........
    The reason why I'll be drunk tonight.
    Are you a winner?

  8. #8
    Registered User EpyonMelee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,149
    umm the Athlon 64's have 1 mb of L2 cache, those that are 3200+.

    And dual channel memory does matter, if you want the most out of your CPU.

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member mazdarx7-64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    2,044
    the socket 939 can do dual channel RAM, the 754 can't. I got a 754 and can say that I don't miss it at all form my 2800+ socket a chip. I do have the 3200+ with 1 meg of cache.
    BSOD.........
    The reason why I'll be drunk tonight.
    Are you a winner?

  10. #10
    Senior Member ScottyRolen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    963
    I only have 600 bucks heh. I and I have a 6800 on my parts list, and I need a PS and a new Hard drive and ram. I have been tweaking this list to get maximum performance but somehow I think its not going to get as far as athlon64 w/ my 6800 on the parts list. If you want to reccomend any kind of 600 buck setup, note that I do not need a CD drive or case. I do need everything else though heh, excluding DVD drive.
    The Master of Puppets

  11. #11
    Full Time WoW Addict nwo75200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    8,571

    Arrow

    Quote Originally Posted by EpyonMelee
    umm the Athlon 64's have 1 mb of L2 cache, those that are 3200+.

    And dual channel memory does matter, if you want the most out of your CPU.
    yes, I know that 3200+ has twice the cache of the 2800+ and 3000+ but it really doesn't make that much of a difference, that and dual channel RAM, I mean, it certainly would be a great bonus if it had those things, but I guess that's why its cheaper

    Dual channel RAM only gives you about 3% more bandwidth compared to single channel.

  12. #12
    Registered User EpyonMelee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,149
    right, but in a computer world where people upgrade for less that 1%, 3-4% is alot.

    at least to me it is.

  13. #13
    Full Time WoW Addict nwo75200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    8,571

    Arrow

    Quote Originally Posted by EpyonMelee
    right, but in a computer world where people upgrade for less that 1%, 3-4% is alot.

    at least to me it is.
    yup, and that's why I said it is a nice bonus, but you can certainly live without it

  14. #14
    Registered User EpyonMelee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,149
    right, but the same arguement can be made for videos cards, " you can live without it"
    or cas 2-2-2 "you can live without it"

    the point is you can always live without it, if you're going for it, why not go all the way.

  15. #15
    Full Time WoW Addict nwo75200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    8,571

    Arrow

    Quote Originally Posted by EpyonMelee
    right, but the same arguement can be made for videos cards, " you can live without it"
    or cas 2-2-2 "you can live without it"

    the point is you can always live without it, if you're going for it, why not go all the way.
    I see, you make a good point

    Now that I think about it, a 3200+ is really worth the extra... what, 30 bucks? you get all that extra speed, and twice the cache, but going to a s939 is definitelly not worth is, because it's way too damn expensive, and the only difference is speed, and dual channel RAM

  16. #16
    Ultimate Member mazdarx7-64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    2,044
    Don't forget that the 939 can OC better than the 754 from what i've seen. I can only get my 3200+ up to 2.4 and keep stable.
    BSOD.........
    The reason why I'll be drunk tonight.
    Are you a winner?

  17. #17
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    1,615
    Since the A64 3000+ newcastle is only $165 @ newegg at the moment, I think that has more 'bang for the buck' than the 3200.
    Maybe a 10% performance increase on a good day, for an extra $40 (25% or so price increase).

  18. #18
    Full Time WoW Addict nwo75200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    8,571

    Arrow

    Quote Originally Posted by mazdarx7-64
    Don't forget that the 939 can OC better than the 754 from what i've seen. I can only get my 3200+ up to 2.4 and keep stable.
    yep, the s754s aren't great OCers

    I tried mine, and it was pretty stable at 2300MHz, I could get it to 2400, but it's way too hot, idle, its like in the mid 50s

    What's your rig by the way?

  19. #19
    Member ryanredbaron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Near Gerbil
    Posts
    285
    just to put it strait to the point i would go with athlon
    ryanredbaron™

    www.ilovellamas.com

  20. #20
    Registered User EpyonMelee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,149
    Quote Originally Posted by ryanredbaron
    just to put it strait to the point i would go with athlon
    WHICH athlon???


    the 2500+ XP Barton?

    or the 3200+ XP

    or the athlon 64 3000+ with the 512 L2 cache?

    or the athlon 64 3200+ with 1mb L2

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. a ? about motherboards
    By wv87minitruckr in forum Motherboards
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 26th, 2004, 12:05 AM
  2. Should I pass over my XP for a Sempron?
    By ArcticFox in forum Processors, Memory, and Overclocking
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: September 23rd, 2004, 03:09 AM
  3. Is the Sempron really a bargain? RANT
    By gerald_weigel in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 25th, 2004, 01:58 PM
  4. Price Drops coming up soon?
    By MitaDC in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: August 12th, 2004, 10:53 PM
  5. SEMPRONS ARE HEOH!!!
    By nwo75200 in forum Processors, Memory, and Overclocking
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: August 12th, 2004, 09:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc