+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Apple tv

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    549

    Unhappy Apple tv

    I just installed Apple tv and have a Linksys wireless router I can't get the ATV to accept my routers password. Is anyone familiar with this setup as well as the proper router settings ? I've been playing around with this for the past few days, trying to find a solution with no avail.......

  2. #2
    Super Stealthy Moderator RicheemxX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    8,553
    Blog Entries
    4
    You mean an Apple product that doesn't "just work" ,,,hehe are you using WPA-Enterprise or WPA2-Enterprise encryption, if so that could be the issue.

    Apple TV will not join a wireless network using WPA-Enterprise encryption. Choose another encryption method, like WPA2 or WEP to enable wireless access.
    Apple TV: Troubleshooting wireless connections
    Be a Liberal, blame everyone else!!

  3. #3
    THE Gimp Clown Fish! nemowolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    4,935
    Well for starters, how about you give us more information on your setup.

    Which Apple TV do you have? Older style with HD or newer style without ...

    What type of Linksys router are you using? Are you using the newest firmware? Are you running custom firmware?

    What type of security are you using on your Wifi? Are you using a certain type of encryption? have you verified that the Apple TV is able to use this type of encryption?

    Go.

    rich beat me to it what i was trying to elude too.

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    549
    My Apple tv is 2nd version, my router is a Linksys wireless model WRT..GL When I first set it up it worked fine. Then I tried to access the net on my laptop via the wireless route(which was working fine) and found no connection available. After making some changes on the router my netbook can connect to the net via the wireless router, but now I can't get ATV to work ? I tried connecting via WiFi settings. It see's my router, but will not accept my routers password

    My Security settings are WPA2 Personal with AES

  5. #5
    Goverment property now GroundZero3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    NOVA
    Posts
    34,649
    Blog Entries
    58
    Do you have the latest software installed on the appletv?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    549
    Well I asume so, it's brand new besides, I can't update until I can connect.....

  7. #7
    Goverment property now GroundZero3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    NOVA
    Posts
    34,649
    Blog Entries
    58
    No usually they are behind on the software updates (since it just sits in a box), see if you can plug it in with cat5 cable temporary to get it on the internet then follow these instructions to update it

    How to update Apple TV software

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    549
    Thanks Zero for that info, but as mentioned I did have it working. It has to have something to do with router settings

  9. #9
    Goverment property now GroundZero3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    NOVA
    Posts
    34,649
    Blog Entries
    58
    Have you tried rebooting the router since you made some changes on it?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    549
    reboot ? Do you mean save changes ?

  11. #11
    Goverment property now GroundZero3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    NOVA
    Posts
    34,649
    Blog Entries
    58
    Save the changes on the router, then pull the power on it wait about 10 seconds then plugging it back in

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    549
    hmm.. ok I'll have to make the right changes and test.

  13. #13
    Goverment property now GroundZero3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    NOVA
    Posts
    34,649
    Blog Entries
    58
    Go ahead and update the appletv first

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    549
    O.K.
    - Updated the firmware on my router, my notebook that connects via wireless working fine

    - I tried to update Apple tv, no updates available

    - I'm back to square 1. When trying to connect via WiFi ATV sees my router then asks for the password, I enter the password to access my router and then I see. .....

    There was a problem connecting to the network.The WiFi password you entered is not correct. Try again (-100)

    I think it's time to introduce ATV to my 5 Wood

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    549
    Hmmm... I just tried manage wireless networks in Win 7 and it said disabled ?

    I have no wirless network connection icons in Network and sharing yet I have a notebook that is conected to my wireless network ? maybe this is part of my Apple Tv problem ?
    Last edited by Network67; February 25th, 2012 at 10:54 PM.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    549
    Problem solved thanks for the advice............

  17. #17
    Goverment property now GroundZero3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    NOVA
    Posts
    34,649
    Blog Entries
    58
    What did you do to fix it?

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    AUS
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Network67 View Post
    Problem solved thanks for the advice............
    Guessing it may have need to nroadcast it's SSID?

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    549
    Well the thing that stumped me is that ATV could see my wireless network but it kept saying incorrect password yet the password I was entering was exactly the same as my routers. I went back into my routers security settings and noticed it was set to WPA2 Personal with AES TKIP, I also noticed a pass phrase below that. I entered that as the ATV password an Voila DOH!

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Apple computer vs Apple corps.
    By Mr.Macintosh in forum Multimedia and Audio
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 13th, 2004, 08:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc