+ Reply to Thread

About to purchase the components for a budget Gaming PC, would love some feedback

Budget of $750

Here's what i have so far:

CPU: i5 2500 $210
    GC: radeon 6870 $148
    Mobo: Intel Micro-ATX DH67BL B3 $90
    RAM: XMS3 1333MHz 8gb $48
    PSU: Cooler Master 500W $40
    Monitor: eMachine 21.5 LCD E211H $85

To cut corners even further, I will be using my old Windows XP Tower and old 120GB Hard Drive. Since I am planning on using this computer more or less solely for gaming, I figure for now at least, 120GB is fine until a birthday/christmas roles around.

Of course, since I will be using an old HDD that uses PATA I will also be purchasing a PATA PCI Card, but those are usually very cheap and I can find one quickly.

Also, I will be using an old DVD Drive - I believe it's about 6 years old.

Bear with me, I am new to this and have thus far been getting the worst headaches trying to track down the best deals. I am considering swapping the CPU from i5 2500 to i5 2400 to save $30. Do you think the difference is worth the cost?

Before you berate me on this monitor, I will tell you that the seller, blinq, has a great return policy. I know emachines are not everyone's favorite, but I simply can't pass down a 1080p 21.5" monitor for less than $100.

Finally, all these items I am showing and their prices are on Amazon.com. I did search newegg and tigerdirect and was not able to find a better price, as almost all of these products on amazon (save the monitor) will come with free shipping.

Please rate this set-up, thank you.

PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    $90 for an H67 chipset motherboard is ridiculously high.

For about the same price, you could get a MicroATX Z68 Chipset motherboard instead:

Newegg.com - Computer Hardware, Motherboards, Intel Motherboards, LGA 1155, Intel Z68

If your looking for Free Shipping and lower priced H61/H67 boards look here, PLENTY to choose from on newegg.