home hardware prices news articles forums photos user reviews
Go Back   Tech Support Forums - TechIMO.com > PC Hardware and Tech > General Tech Discussion
Ask a Tech Support Question (free)!

Someone PLEASE HELP! word-of-mouth.info is holding data about me!?

Reply
Get bargains at  »  Dealighted.com
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Currently Active Users: 1530
Discussions: 200,903, Posts: 2,378,875, Members: 246,272
Old January 20th, 2003, 03:13 PM   Digg it!   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 18
Someone PLEASE HELP! word-of-mouth.info is holding data about me!?

I recieved an e-mail from word-of-mouth.info today
It stated that -someone- that I know, or who knows my email address, has submitted data about me to word of mouth's online database.
read the site yourself http://www.word-of-mouth.info and see what I mean!
this means that anyone can find out this 'report' about me by contacting the author. - To do so, you need to sign up to the site as a power user (by paying).
I can find out who submitted the report about me (and kill them) only by signing up as a power user (paypal) myself, which is extremely annoying.

I am trying to eliminate each person one by one, but i am afraid that it could be someone that has met me through a chat room or forum that my email address is related to.

I was wondering if anyone knows if this site actually does this? or is it a long-term plan to create a database of emails which can be used for spam, and there is actually no data held on the site's servers at all?

Either way, can anyone advise me on what I should do
a) to find and remove any (if any) data that they hold about me
and
b) to find out who submitted the information
weezal100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2003, 03:25 PM     #2 (permalink)
Not Really a Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 25,368
don't forget it is quite possible they are using a scare tactic to get you to buy into them... its not necessarily true. How to know, well that I can't help with, but do take that into consideration.
__________________
Helicopters don't fly; they vibrate so much and make so much noise that the earth rejects them.
vass0922 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2003, 03:27 PM     #3 (permalink)
norml.org
 
thekingofpain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,436
Sounds like spam/scam to me...
thekingofpain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2003, 03:43 PM     #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
win2kuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wiltshire, England.
Posts: 582
Send a message via AIM to win2kuser Send a message via Yahoo to win2kuser
Unfortunately, this site does look regit, and it would appear that they do hold information about various people.

If you look at their site and click contact us, you will be able to send them mail.

What you need to put is that they are holding personal unauthorised information about you without your express permission and that you would like to see exactly what is contained. If they refuse, threaten them with legal action.

These sort of sites are completely open to abuse, and any comments held can contain anything such as child abuse, sexual harrasment, theft etc. You could be listed as a serial rapist, and you wouldn't even know about it...

In the UK, a teacher took "Friends-United" to court over Sexual Harrasment information that was contained on their site, and won £125,000 in damages for Slander.

I am not sure about other countries, but in the UK it is illegal for a company to hold personal information without the persons knowledge. It may pay you to contact your local authority for any advice on this matter.

Sorry if I have worried you, but better safe than sorry...
win2kuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2003, 04:00 PM     #5 (permalink)
Ultimate Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Augsburg, Germany
Posts: 5,586
My guess is, they're trying to make you type in your own name ... thereby enlisting yourself in the todo list of their internet scoop droid. Be paranoid.
Peter M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2003, 04:04 PM     #6 (permalink)
Ultimate Member
 
chris64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,494
Quote:
Originally posted by Peter M
My guess is, they're trying to make you type in your own name ... thereby enlisting yourself in the todo list of their internet scoop droid. Be paranoid.

Now I'm paranoid I just did a search under my name.
__________________
Got Jesus?
chris64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2003, 04:26 PM     #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Foggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: CCC by the Sea
Posts: 779
Blackmail & extortion come to mind.
Foggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2003, 04:40 PM     #8 (permalink)
Ultimate Member
 
PyroSama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 2,782
Send a message via ICQ to PyroSama Send a message via MSN to PyroSama
Maybe every time some one does a search it records thier name and other info then they take some random coment from thier database that fits your gender and then you sudenly become part of thier scam.



PyroSama
__________________
JOIN [FaD] | TEAM NUMBER 2037 | http://www.techimo.com/forum/t121132.html
PyroSama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2003, 04:42 PM     #9 (permalink)
Ultimate Member
 
PyroSama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 2,782
Send a message via ICQ to PyroSama Send a message via MSN to PyroSama
Now Im sure of it I did a search for my name and nothing came up and then I did a search again and it had results.

Looks like I cheated on my wife. Thats odd Im only 15.



PyroSama
PyroSama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2003, 08:53 PM     #10 (permalink)
Ultimate Member
 
chris64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,494
Quote:
Originally posted by PyroSama
Now Im sure of it I did a search for my name and nothing came up and then I did a search again and it had results.

Looks like I cheated on my wife. Thats odd Im only 15.



PyroSama

That funny I still got a clean record.
chris64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Most Active Discussions
Is It Just Me? (2799)
Is the PSU I received dead? (10)
Install XP pro and a Vista laptop ?.. (7)
California Passes Anti-Flat-HDTV Le.. (38)
A good PSU? (10)
Foreign voltage (5)
New Computer wont recognize XP disc (7)
Fox uses old news clips to inflate .. (33)
HIS HD5770 graphic card question (10)
Dept. of HS: NSA 'Helped' Develop V.. (12)
Print spooler problem (5)
EVGA 9800 gtx help with finding a g.. (6)
Ideal cheap graph card for PC-Gamin.. (13)
Mysterious Boot manager (9)
Recent Discussions
Need hard disk drivers (3)
Cloning old drive to new drive (6)
Asus P4G8X Mobo (0)
Amptron monitor G17FP-Black (0)
windows vista security holes (0)
EVGA 9800 gtx help with finding a goo.. (6)
A good PSU? (10)
Install XP pro and a Vista laptop ?? (7)
Is the PSU I received dead? (10)
Ideal cheap graph card for PC-Gaming? (13)
HP Pavillion Laptop ze4220 won't turn.. (7)
HIS HD5770 graphic card question (10)
Dept. of HS: NSA 'Helped' Develop Vis.. (12)
Foreign voltage (5)
Convert 5 pin Keyboard to USB (11)
Print spooler problem (5)
hybernate option (2)
Steam ID's, Gamertags etc... (1)
New Computer wont recognize XP disc (7)
World's largest Monopoly Game using G.. (328)
Modern Warfare 2: Who Bought It? (60)
[F@H SPAM 11/16/09] ! 1/2 months to r.. (28)
blender help (2)
Hard drive freezes boot (1)
Mysterious Boot manager (9)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:27 AM.
TechIMO Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28