+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: e-mail

  1. #1
    Ultimate Member embj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    1,385

    e-mail

     
    I can't send someone that I want to send an e-mail to. It always sends it back to me. Maybe somebody knows what this means:

    The original message was received at Wed, 5 Mar 2003 20:15:11 -0500 (EST)
    from fe4 [24.93.67.51]

    ----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
    <*********@aol.com>
    (reason: 550-The IP address you're using to connect to AOL is either open to the )

    ----- Transcript of session follows -----
    554 5.0.0 Service unavailable



    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    Received: from mail4.nc.rr.com (fe4 [24.93.67.51])
    by ms-smtp-02.southeast.rr.com (8.12.5/8.12.2) with ESMTP id h261FAbB024711
    for <*****@aol.com>; Wed, 5 Mar 2003 20:15:11 -0500 (EST)
    Received: from emachines ([66.57.***.**]) by mail4.nc.rr.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.5.1877.757.75);
    Wed, 5 Mar 2003 20:18:07 -0500
    Message-ID: <002a01c2e37e$0785d130$0602a8c0@emachines>
    From: "Webmaster of Eddie's Computer World" <webmaster@eddiescomputerworld.com>
    To: <*******@aol.com>
    References: <95.2aef69ab.2b97bef1@aol.com>
    Subject: Re: hey
    Date: Wed, 5 Mar 2003 20:16:34 -0500
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
    boundary="----=_NextPart_000_0027_01C2E354.1E7BE7F0"
    X-Priority: 3
    X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
    X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2800.1106
    X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2800.1106

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member implexant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,697
    (reason: 550-The IP address you're using to connect to AOL is either open to the )
    seems like this error message has been somehow cut off. can you check and see if you accidently didn't copy the whole thing? i'd conclude that it has something to do with the IP address your using when connected to AOL.

    -Chris

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member embj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    1,385
    It was cut off like that when I got it. I tried to send this person something three times and it said the same thing. Also, I don't have AOL. I have Road Runner Cable and if you don't know it is a division of AOL and some of RR's servers are AOL servers from what I have found out.

    EDIT: I do have AIM though.

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member golfcart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,769
    Looks to me like your mail server used to be an open relay and AOL has it blocked.

    http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/ip4r.ch?ip=24.93.67.51


  5. #5
    Ultimate Member implexant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,697
    well i knew that AOL owns RR, but never thought they'd mix servers i'd suggest contacting RR and telling them whats up. sounds like the AOL servers are denying relay from your machine for a certain reason.

    -CHris

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member implexant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,697
    ah ha. there's your reason

    -Chris

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member crouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    2,879
    All below from this link...................

    http://postmaster.info.aol.com/mailer.html

    550 - AOL no longer accepts connections from dynamically assigned IP addresses to our relay servers. Please contact your ISP to have your mail redirected through your ISP's SMTP servers.
    This indicates that you are trying to connect directly to AOL’s relay servers to send mail from an IP address which is listed in AOL's dial-up-list. AOL will not accept port 25 connections from dynamically assigned IP addresses; we require that all email connections come from static IP addresses (a “fixed” line – like an SMTP server). If you get this message, you should talk to your ISP to have your email re-routed through your ISP’s SMTP servers. If your IP address has been mistakenly added to the dial-up-list, you will need to have your ISP or Upstream provider contact AOL to remove the IP addresses out of the dial-up-list.

    Check out our dial-up-list search page!

    Here's a new bounce message you may receive:

    550 - The information presently available to AOL indicates that your server is open to the free relaying of e-mail, and is being used to retransmit unsolicited bulk e-mail to AOL. Based on AOL's Unsolicited Bulk E-mail policy at http://www.aol.com/info/bulkemail.html, AOL cannot accept further e-mail transactions from your server until that server is closed to free relaying. For additional information, please visit http://postmaster.info.aol.com.
    .
    .
    .
    HTH's

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member embj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    1,385
    Ok....Something is up then. What exactly does that page mean that you linked to? I know it says that some were denied but, what is it? It also looks like I can't get to anyone with AIM either unless this person is ignoring me. I don't think that the person is ignoring me though.

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member embj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    1,385
    Oh, nevermind now. In the previous post I was talking about the link posted by golfcart. Hmm....That is new. I was just able to send e-mail to this person about 5 hours ago. I am contacting RR via the chat and will let you know what they say. It will probably be something stupid.

  10. #10
    Ultimate Member golfcart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,769
    The page I linked to just checks various databases of known spam sources. Some ISPs use those databases to block all email coming from the IP adresses listed. I could be wrong about AOL blocking you. It's just my guess

  11. #11
    Ultimate Member embj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    1,385
    As I said the RR person would say something stupid. They said I need to contact AOL and we cannot assist you with this matter.

  12. #12
    Ultimate Member golfcart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,769
    Try sending through one of RR's other servers:

    ncmx01.mgw.rr.com

    or

    ncmx02.mgw.rr.com

    might work

  13. #13
    Ultimate Member embj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    1,385
    It won't validate me. It connects but, does nothing else. Does anyone know the contact mail addy for AOL? I can't find it.

  14. #14
    Ultimate Member embj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    1,385
    I just thought I would let you all know that I got my e-mail working the next day. I didn't do anything else to it unless the AOL Postmaster did something when I sent hime (or her) an e-mail regarding it. I think I may have found what happened though. This may have affected it or may have not. It is a possibilty though. I found this article about something M$ did.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Recommended Sites: ResellerRatings Store Reviews