+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24
  1. #1
    Senior Member islandguy999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    556

    Unhappy Computer Doesnt Turn Off

    My dad has a Athlon 900mhz, on a Gigabyte GA-7ZX mobo. He recently installed a pinnacle firewire and seems to be having a conflict somehow. An IRQ problem he was told maybe? Whatever that is? Anyways, when he tries to shut down his computer it just hangs and wont shut off. I think it even might start up again sometimes? Im not sure. Has anyone else had this problem or knows how to fix it?

  2. #2
    norml.org thekingofpain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    5,434
    Possible to move that Pinnacle card to a different slot?

  3. #3
    Senior Member islandguy999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    556
    I will have to check on that. Is it known for issues?
    939 x4200+ A8N-E Mobo Dual Channel 4x512 DDR400
    Seagate Baracuda 320gb+80gb Sata 8800GT

  4. #4
    zen
    zen is offline
    Ultimate Member zen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    3,666
    Operating System??

  5. #5
    Senior Member islandguy999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    556
    windows Me
    939 x4200+ A8N-E Mobo Dual Channel 4x512 DDR400
    Seagate Baracuda 320gb+80gb Sata 8800GT

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member Chuckiechan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    North Mexico
    Posts
    16,845
    Pull the card to verify that that is the problem, then go to the Pinnacle web site and see if there is an updated driver available.
    Over heard in a restaurant: "How do you want your eggs?" the waitress asked. "NFL Style. Beaten"!

  7. #7
    Senior Member islandguy999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    556
    tried it all, googling it it seems there is no fix? And a surprising amount of people with the same problem.
    939 x4200+ A8N-E Mobo Dual Channel 4x512 DDR400
    Seagate Baracuda 320gb+80gb Sata 8800GT

  8. #8
    Member BustedAvi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    322
    I dont think its the pinaccle.. seriously... ive had some of the same problems... from experince id say its definitely a software problem probobly drivers as ChukieChan said... i have not yet figured it out but re-installing windows always worked for me

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member nukes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    3,221
    Try re-assigning the IRQ in device manager (you should be able to do that in ME) and make sure there's no conflict if you can't change it in device manager do it in the BIOS. Is there a BIOS update availiable for the board?
    What does the computer show as in Device Manager? Standard PC? ACPI PC? what?
    _____
    NuKeS

  10. #10
    Ultimate Member DoctorReno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,306
    Did ME have the same shutdown problem as 98?
    You might want to disable Fast Shutdown and see if that resolves his problem. This would resolve the problem (usually) with 98 and it was an issue of drivers not being uninitiallized fast enough during shutdown so disabling the fast shutdown gave the drivers time to uninitialize.
    If you can't say something nice... SAY IT REALLY LOUD!!

  11. #11
    Ultimate Member nukes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    3,221
    Just incase you don't know how to do that, run "msconfig" from the run box. There is a checkbox for "Disable Fast Shutdown" in there.
    _____
    NuKeS

  12. #12
    Ultimate Member DanGrease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,721
    I had the same problem and I really dont think its the Pinnacle. My system also hanged when I tried to shutdown and I had Norton AV updated and all but it didnt find anything. Do you have an AV program? (AV=AntiVirus). I downloaded AVG's free AV and it found that one of my folders was infected with a trojan. After deleting it I could shut down my system perfectly. Try to download AVG: www.avg.com and see if thats the problem, if it isnt, then you should maybe consult an other person. Good Luck, hope this helped!

    dan

  13. #13
    Ultimate Member DoctorReno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,306
    nukes, Thanks for filling in what I should have included in my post. Also thanks for the DOS unzip help.
    If you can't say something nice... SAY IT REALLY LOUD!!

  14. #14
    Senior Member islandguy999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    556
    Hmmm he lives a ways from here, so i will have to check this stuff this weekend. He doesnt even have internet on his computer so its hard to update anything really. He said that he has tried taking out the pinnacle (fixes problem) then added it back and the problem is right back again. So he is wuite positive its the issue.
    939 x4200+ A8N-E Mobo Dual Channel 4x512 DDR400
    Seagate Baracuda 320gb+80gb Sata 8800GT

  15. #15
    Senior Member dlh75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    The Woodlands,TX
    Posts
    872

    Talking

    He doesnt even have internet on his computer so its hard to update anything really.
    Sorry for all the mixup. It's been a long day for me. I could have sworn it said firewall instead of firewire. Two different things. I know this guys.Damn I feel like such an a**.
    Last edited by dlh75; August 30th, 2003 at 12:38 AM.

  16. #16
    Senior Member islandguy999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    556
    Firewire.............are they the same thing?
    939 x4200+ A8N-E Mobo Dual Channel 4x512 DDR400
    Seagate Baracuda 320gb+80gb Sata 8800GT

  17. #17
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    2,083
    the pc gotta turn off, just pull the plug, if its still on u got a problem lol
    Athlon 64 3400+ (22-28*C)
    ECS 755-A2 1.1B Bios
    40GB & 80GB Internal HDD
    160GB External HDD
    Corsair 2GB PC3200 RAM
    ATI AIW Radeon 9600 128MB 8X

  18. #18
    Ultimate Member DanGrease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,721
    Originally posted by soulja
    the pc gotta turn off, just pull the plug, if its still on u got a problem lol
    Lmao! True indeed

    dan

  19. #19
    MDS
    MDS is offline
    Never forget MDS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    N-the-center-Kansas
    Posts
    3,224
    does he have anything pluged into the firewire port when powering down? I have seen people have firewire zip drives and even dvcams connected and hangs the system on shutdown.

  20. #20
    Senior Member jmoore2001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Texas Tech
    Posts
    811
    Originally posted by islandguy999
    Firewire.............are they the same thing?
    no, totally different area. Firewire is a type of connection, (like serial, USB, etc). Firewall has to do with the internet and privacy.

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc