+ Reply to Thread
Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 LastLast
Results 141 to 160 of 192

Thread: PCI Graphics

  1. #141
    Guest SgtDriggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    272
    Quote Originally Posted by Frink191
    Although it's rather small lol the graphics do actually look pretty good. Any chance you could make the image bigger so I can get a better look lol.
    Hold on

  2. #142
    Guest SgtDriggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    272
    I think this is good...................Not bad for a pci card, 2.5ghz celly and 1gig huh?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails PCI Graphics-screenshot2_xl.jpg  

  3. #143
    Member Frink191's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    225
    Yeah that's pretty good...i'm hoping to see if games like Quake 4, Battlefield 2, F.E.A.R. and Half Life 2 (including CS: Source) will work with my setup though.
    My setup is:
    Intel Celeron 2.60GHz processor
    256mb DDR ram (upgrading to 1gig though)
    80gb hard drive (will most likely upgrade to 200gb...or 160gb)
    intel extreme built in graphics contoller (my GeForce 6200 should be arriving tomorrow...hopefully)
    So do you think my system could run those games I mentioned earlier in the post or not?

  4. #144
    Guest SgtDriggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    272
    Quote Originally Posted by Frink191
    Yeah that's pretty good...i'm hoping to see if games like Quake 4, Battlefield 2, F.E.A.R. and Half Life 2 (including CS: Source) will work with my setup though.
    My setup is:
    Intel Celeron 2.60GHz processor
    256mb DDR ram (upgrading to 1gig though)
    80gb hard drive (will most likely upgrade to 200gb...or 160gb)
    intel extreme built in graphics contoller (my GeForce 6200 should be arriving tomorrow...hopefully)
    So do you think my system could run those games I mentioned earlier in the post or not?
    Yeah, mine does. Remember that the slowest component to your system is the hard drive. I have a 40gb 5400 rpm ultra dma with a 80 gb external lacie HD (I put all my games on that one so my system doesn't slow down). If your's is a 7200rpm then it will be faster than mine. Also remember if your memory on your hard drive is less than 50% left, it starts to slow down your system. My hp is maxed out in every component except the hard drive. I will get that eventually but right now Im happy.
    Last edited by SgtDriggs; February 16th, 2006 at 06:07 PM.

  5. #145
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    9
    Does the 3dfuzion 6200 PCI have a 128bit or 64bit memory interface? Download Rivatuner to find out.

    http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=163

  6. #146
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Champ8
    Does the 3dfuzion 6200 PCI have a 128bit or 64bit memory interface? Download Rivatuner to find out.

    http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=163
    64

    I was hoping not as it didn't say TC anywhere near it, but alas. Oh well, it's doing good enough for the temp-fix that it is.

  7. #147
    Guest SgtDriggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    272
    Everyone loves pics
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails PCI Graphics-pic2.jpg  

  8. #148
    What? SoloCamo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Burning in Florida
    Posts
    15,238
    Blog Entries
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by davogriz

    In trying to find what settings it could handle, I had to do a lot of tweaking. I got them reasonably high and for the most part it would run smooth, but sometimes when turning out in the open it would chug for 1-2 seconds while crap was rendered. After that, it'd be smooth until I turned again. I ended up lowering the world detail, but I was still able to keep the character detail high, and at those settings plenty smooth. FPS hangs around between 20-35, though I'm sure I could get it higher if I was willing to sacrifice some texture quality and character details.

    My only remaining concern, and something people replacing onboard vid with these crap PCI cards should watch out for, is that the card sys reqs said it needs a 300w power supply, and this POS comp has a 200w one. Since it's only the first day that may come back to haunt me soon, but so far nothing catastrophic has gone down.
    The problem with the "texture load" is not withing your graphics card, but within your lack of ram. Upgrading to 1gb will almost be like a whole new computer, you won't be dissapointed.
    Main PC: Intel i7 4790k/ 16gb DDR3 2400 / AMD R9 290X @ 1100 Core & 1350mhz Mem / Win7 Pro 64bit
    Linux Boxr: AMD FX-8120/ 4gb DDR3 1866/ Nvidia GTS450/ Ubuntu 12.04
    Laptop: HP-Compaq nc8430/ Intel CoreDuo T2400 / 2gb DDR2 667/ Ati x1600 / WinXP Pro 32bit

  9. #149
    Member Frink191's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    225
    So if i got 1gig of ram, a GeForce 6200 would i be able to play games well? I got a 2.60GHz celeron, 256 ddr ram which i'm upgrading tomorrow hopefully to 1 gig and an 80gig hard drive, my GeForce 6200 arrived today but i'm waiting until i get my ram and them installing them both at the same time.

  10. #150
    What? SoloCamo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Burning in Florida
    Posts
    15,238
    Blog Entries
    4
    Well don't expect any relatively new game to play topnotch at medium settings, but it will be a huge improvement over onboard, and besides gaming adding the extra memory will make the computer overall just faster.

    FEAR is what you are going to have problems with, game is very demanding
    Main PC: Intel i7 4790k/ 16gb DDR3 2400 / AMD R9 290X @ 1100 Core & 1350mhz Mem / Win7 Pro 64bit
    Linux Boxr: AMD FX-8120/ 4gb DDR3 1866/ Nvidia GTS450/ Ubuntu 12.04
    Laptop: HP-Compaq nc8430/ Intel CoreDuo T2400 / 2gb DDR2 667/ Ati x1600 / WinXP Pro 32bit

  11. #151
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by SoloCamo
    The problem with the "texture load" is not withing your graphics card, but within your lack of ram. Upgrading to 1gb will almost be like a whole new computer, you won't be dissapointed.
    Sadly this cannot be the case as I have a gig of ram. 6200 or not, it's 128DDR and 64 bit, so it's the first suspect. I really wish I could have also bought the 256mb 128-bit 5500 for a direct comparison. Then again, it could be related to the celery processor.

  12. #152
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    9

  13. #153
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    80
    Yes, yes...... It also has a 64 bit memory interface (I asked BFG in an email). It's no more useful than the 3D Fusion 128MB card.

  14. #154
    What? SoloCamo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Burning in Florida
    Posts
    15,238
    Blog Entries
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by davogriz
    Sadly this cannot be the case as I have a gig of ram. 6200 or not, it's 128DDR and 64 bit, so it's the first suspect. I really wish I could have also bought the 256mb 128-bit 5500 for a direct comparison. Then again, it could be related to the celery processor.
    ohhhh, did not notice that it was 64bit. Ya, that definately puts a stranglehold on the performance
    Main PC: Intel i7 4790k/ 16gb DDR3 2400 / AMD R9 290X @ 1100 Core & 1350mhz Mem / Win7 Pro 64bit
    Linux Boxr: AMD FX-8120/ 4gb DDR3 1866/ Nvidia GTS450/ Ubuntu 12.04
    Laptop: HP-Compaq nc8430/ Intel CoreDuo T2400 / 2gb DDR2 667/ Ati x1600 / WinXP Pro 32bit

  15. #155
    Member Frink191's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    225
    So does that mean i'm unable to play Fear, HL2 and other demanding modern games with a GeForce 6200 and 1gig of ram?

  16. #156
    What? SoloCamo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Burning in Florida
    Posts
    15,238
    Blog Entries
    4
    No, but it does mean you will be running very low settings and low res.
    Main PC: Intel i7 4790k/ 16gb DDR3 2400 / AMD R9 290X @ 1100 Core & 1350mhz Mem / Win7 Pro 64bit
    Linux Boxr: AMD FX-8120/ 4gb DDR3 1866/ Nvidia GTS450/ Ubuntu 12.04
    Laptop: HP-Compaq nc8430/ Intel CoreDuo T2400 / 2gb DDR2 667/ Ati x1600 / WinXP Pro 32bit

  17. #157
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    9
    I didn't notice this thread was still current. I've read up on all posts here. Looks like the 5600LE is better than the 6200 in my opinion, because the 5700LE is 128bit. The reason I'm inquiring here is that the 6600 and 7300 were mentioned for PCI. Does anyone know anything more about them? My AGP slot got fried along with my Radeon 9600XT, and I'm stuck with PCI now. Any help would be greatly appreciated, if not I guess I'll get a 5600LE.I think I found something http://www.nextag.com/serv/main/buye...eForce_7800_GT
    its a bit pricy but Im willing to get my graphics kicking again.

    Something else just for kicks.

    There are plenty of old computers out there without AGP and PCI-E. Wouldn't it make sense if a company made a video card PCI that takes up two PCI slots, so it would be the same as PCIx16 couldn't that do the same job as a PCIE-x16? Im new at this, so you could sense my logic on that if Im wrong.
    Last edited by Lasher007; March 3rd, 2006 at 07:12 AM.

  18. #158
    Human voltmeter DanU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    4,214
    The 7800 is a PCI-e card.

    Not all 5700le's are 128bit. Many are 64bit.

    If you want a dual PCI slot video card, you'll gonna have to reach back in time and get an SLI Voodoo 2!!!

    PCI graphics cards that are anywhere near halfway decent are ridiculously priced for what you get. You'd probably be better off replacing the motherboard and getting a budget PCI-e card which will run circles around any high end PCI card. [edit]shared memory PCI-e cards excepted. They're awful.

  19. #159
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1

    Smile

    Hi guys,

    Just a quick question. Doeas anyone know if the PCI GeForce FX 5500 has DVI. I think I'll be buying it and obviously DVI would be a good feature.

    One version of the 5500 I was considering is this one:

    FX 5500

    On a sidenote, I am also considering getting a Dell 2405FPW 24" monitor. Do you guys think that there will be a significant difference in display quality between DVI and analog, especially at high resolutions.

    Thanks

  20. #160
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    US
    Posts
    39
    I think that card has dual vga connectors and a svideo port, but no dvi.
    I get that impresson from the pny website, since it says vga+vga+svideo outputs
    http://www.pny.com/products/verto/value/5500pci.asp
    Also, this card, which appears to be the same, is dual vga, but no dvi.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814133134

    Dvi is definitely the interface you want if you are using a larger hi res display though.
    Here's another cheap pci card with dvi though.
    http://www.pcupgrade.co.uk/productde...categoryid=117
    http://www.pcupgrade.co.uk/productde...categoryid=117
    e4300 @ 3.0GHz w/ Tuniq Tower, 4GB DDR2 1000, 8800GTS 512MB, WD 640GB, Corsair 650W.

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is 10 and 5 added together?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. PCI Graphics Card.
    By Zingba in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: December 31st, 2005, 10:01 AM
  2. PCI graphics card
    By tom_100 in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: December 2nd, 2005, 11:10 PM
  3. pci graphics card
    By randomlight in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: June 6th, 2005, 09:26 PM
  4. Pci Graphics Card?!?!
    By cheezy102 in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: February 10th, 2005, 04:40 PM
  5. What PCI Graphics Card?
    By Fred_Peeps in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: January 24th, 2005, 10:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc