+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: AGP Slot

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    A comfy chair
    Posts
    5

    AGP Slot

    I opened up my computer just a minute ago (emachines T2984) and on the motherboard there are three PCI slots, and above them is a little space that says "AGP" slot, but there is no AGP slot. Is there a way to buy an agp slot and put it on?

    BTW, I just bought a new graphics card. its a radeon 9250 with 128 mb.

  2. #2
    I Haz Catputer JLK03F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    5,494
    Hey & welcome to TechIMO

    Sorry, but there is no way of adding an AGP slot to your motherboard. There is a PCI version of the ATI 9250 though.

    Why are you wanting to upgrade your graphics? A specific game?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    A comfy chair
    Posts
    5
    Oh, okay. I am aware that it is a pci card. I just wanted to know on a side note if it's a good card.

  4. #4
    Goverment property now GroundZero3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    NOVA
    Posts
    34,668
    Blog Entries
    58
    Most PCI cards are not design for performance as the bus has a limited amount of speeds. Of course its better than on board video.

  5. #5
    (AKA) Nakamura sweeper2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    5,739
    * Intel Celeron D 340 (2.93GHz) Processor
    * 512MB PC2700 DDR
    * 80GB 7,200rpm Hard Drive
    * 48x CD-RW and 16x DVD-ROM Optical Drives
    * AC'97 Audio and Stereo Speakers
    * Intel Extreme 2 Integrated Graphics with 64MB Shared Memory
    * v.92 56Kbps Modem and 10/100 Ethernet
    * Five USB 2.0 Ports and 8-in-1 Media Card Reader
    * Windows XP Home, MS Works 7, Money 2004, PowerDVD and Norton Anti-Virus
    _________________________

    I believe that's your machine...

    Like what "GroundZero3" said.. it's not meant for performance... but it is better then your "onboard" graphics

    are you wanting to "game" with this pc ..?? what are your specific intentions...??

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    A comfy chair
    Posts
    5
    Well, I forgot to say this but I did put in an extra 512 mb of ram, and put in a DVD burner. I am also getting a new graphics card. I do want to do some gaming. It's the best card I can afford right now.

  7. #7
    (AKA) Nakamura sweeper2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    5,739
    well, you might get a little gaming out of it... but as far as the "new" games.. i don't think the graphics card will hold up well to those...

    you might look into a better PCI graphics card if you can afford it...

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Brownsburg, IN
    Posts
    1,787
    I know you can play older and some newer games on that PCI card. My friend used to play WoW on a much slower system with a PCI graphics card on low settings and it worked just fine.

    But like everyone else has said, don't expect to play games like Oblivion at all or other games on extreme settings.

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is 10 and 5 added together?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. How can i tell if my comp has a AGP slot or a PCI slot?
    By nshockeyplaya in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: June 30th, 2008, 10:32 AM
  2. is a AGP slot better than a PCI Slot ?
    By soulja in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: May 24th, 2003, 07:50 PM
  3. F/S P3 650 Slot 1-Slot 1 M/B-V3 2K AGP-W/D 10g hard drive
    By mritz in forum Traders Forum: Buy, Sell, Trade
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 15th, 2003, 08:09 AM
  4. can agp card go in agp pro slot
    By xcrunner51 in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 27th, 2002, 10:08 PM
  5. D'OH! Already ordered. . . Will a AGP 2.0 card work in an AGP 1.0 slot? At all?
    By ScreenHints in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: June 24th, 2002, 10:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc