+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    3

    My samsung syncmaster wont turn on

    im almost positive it dead but im wondering if any of you think theres hope for it.
    Its a Syncmaster 906BW about 3-4 years old pluged into my GTX260 as a second monitor.

    the first monitor works fine.

    but the samsung refuses to power up.

    The blue light arround the power button fades on and off every 5 seconds, but the screen stays black.

    no searching for signal.

    ive downloaded the driver for this and has had no effect.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by urfate View Post
    im almost positive it dead but im wondering if any of you think theres hope for it.
    Its a Syncmaster 906BW about 3-4 years old pluged into my GTX260 as a second monitor.

    the first monitor works fine.

    but the samsung refuses to power up.

    The blue light arround the power button fades on and off every 5 seconds, but the screen stays black.

    no searching for signal.

    ive downloaded the driver for this and has had no effect.
    THe manual says that the Monitor is in Power Save mode. When you first turn it on, does it show you the Samsung Logo or Connection Type, it should display something before it goes into that mode. If so try changing the source to make sure you have it set to the correct mode, VGA for the blue cable, DVI for the white cable. If that doesn't work, make sure you have set yourt computer to display to both monitors, if you haven't done that it won't send the signal to the monitor, thus the sleep mode.


    JohnnyB

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1

    possible fix

    Quote Originally Posted by jtbrehm View Post
    THe manual says that the Monitor is in Power Save mode. When you first turn it on, does it show you the Samsung Logo or Connection Type, it should display something before it goes into that mode. If so try changing the source to make sure you have it set to the correct mode, VGA for the blue cable, DVI for the white cable. If that doesn't work, make sure you have set yourt computer to display to both monitors, if you haven't done that it won't send the signal to the monitor, thus the sleep mode.


    JohnnyB
    Hold down the power button and the auto button. if that doesn't work try the power button and the source button.

    -osborn street

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2

    I ave same problem, the auto or source buttons do nothing

    This problem is all over the web, with a bunch of "solutions" that do nothing. Beware Samsung monitors.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    7

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by bobjones2007 View Post
    This problem is all over the web, with a bunch of "solutions" that do nothing. Beware Samsung monitors.
    Hi Bob,

    As you can see from the post dates, the original user that had the problem never responded to answer our questions or let us know what he tried that worked or not (2 years have gone by actually). Due to that we cannot move along in the troubleshooting process, and we start with the simple things because that is the best place to start when troubleshooting. I have kicked myself in the foot for not doing that to many times and I always remind myself, KISS (Keep It Simple Stupid). In any event Bob, if you are having issues, let's not knock the brand name, they have great products that have held up over the years, I know people with Samsung monitors that are 8+ years old and still running strong.

    Instead I encourage you to create a new post with your problem, send me a message with a link to it, and let us help you troubleshoot and try to resolve it. Make sure you give lots details about your monitor, make, model, etc. And lots of details about the problem, what you have tried already, etc. Keep in mind we are doing this to be helpful and give back to people, we aren't making money from this.

    Thanks,
    JohnnyB

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member Chuckiechan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, El Norte
    Posts
    16,353
    Wherever your post went ...

    Open it up and you'll probably see blown capacitors. Take one each (I think there are two types) down to an electronics shop and buy replacements - be careful about the height of the capacitors. If they are too tall they won't fit.

    Fixed mine. It was easy. I'm using it now.
    “Rancher Bundy should’ve told the feds that those were Mexican cows – who came across the border illegally to seek better grazing opportunities. It was an act of love.”

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 7th, 2010, 02:51 PM
  2. Samsung SyncMaster 2253BW Not Displaying Image
    By Steph184 in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 6th, 2009, 03:48 PM
  3. Samsung Syncmaster. Shouldn't it be operating as digital?
    By raindance15 in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 10th, 2008, 05:14 PM
  4. need VGA cable 4 Samsung Syncmaster
    By JPMiller in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 16th, 2004, 03:52 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc