+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    31

    Ati 6970 XFIRE Problem???

    Hi guys i was on this forum at the start of the year asking what graphics cards to chose i went with the ATi 6970 in XFire, my problem is i don't seem to be getting any proformence increse when Xfire is enable i have change both cards around and tested them by them selfs, both work fine but when Xfire is enabled i get the same FPS or even a little bit less then when i run one card, here is some sceen shots from GPUZ thanks for your help
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Ati 6970 XFIRE Problem???-6970-one.gif   Ati 6970 XFIRE Problem???-6970-one-2.gif   Ati 6970 XFIRE Problem???-6970-two.gif   Ati 6970 XFIRE Problem???-6970-two-2.gif  

  2. #2
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,032
    depending on the games, some don't cope well with crossfire (same with SLI) and may even get less frame rates.


    the GPUz links are showing the cards at idle mode, which is why the clocks are so low.



    Whats your complete hardware system specs?


    Have you tried the latest Catalyst drivers? Shows your using 11.5's, latest is 11.8's.
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    31
    Hi there just installed the new drivers but still the same
    PC Specs:
    Power Supply: Thermaltake Tough Power 1500w
    MB: Crosshair IV Extreme
    Ram: Corsair Dominator 8Gb 2000mhz
    CPU: 1100T @ 4.3ghz X 6 Cores
    HDD: WD Raptor X2 (Raid 0)
    GPU: ATI 6970 X2

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    31
    Hi could the problem be from my power supply coz I've got 2 types of connections for pci e 1 3volt and 1 4volt I have them in 3volt outlets should they be in the 4volt? Also what do you mean when u say my cards are in idle?

  5. #5
    Reap what you sow Aaron_8015's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    4,162
    Blog Entries
    1
    What games? What screen resolution? What are your average FPS for each game?
    I7 920 @ 4.2Ghz/6GB//GTX480 SLI/M4 64 GB + 1.5 TB + 2x 640 GB/Corsair TX950/ASUS blu-ray/ASUS P6X58D-E + X-Fi /LC PCK62

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    31
    Hi Aaron, All game are in 1920X1080
    Assassins Creed II: 62
    Call of Duty 4 - Modern Warfare: 55
    Dead Space: 35-40
    Dragon Age Origins: 65-70

  7. #7
    Reap what you sow Aaron_8015's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    4,162
    Blog Entries
    1
    Do you have V-sync enabled? I would double check you have it turned off on each game (at least until you find out the problem).

    Forgot to ask for the rest of your system specs...

    GPU-Z should be able to indicate the load on the GPU, you can select it to create a log, run a game then checking the log for the GPU load across both cards.

    Msi afterburner works with AMD cards? Does it have an on-screen display like EVGA precision does so you can monitor FPS and GPU load etc in game....
    I7 920 @ 4.2Ghz/6GB//GTX480 SLI/M4 64 GB + 1.5 TB + 2x 640 GB/Corsair TX950/ASUS blu-ray/ASUS P6X58D-E + X-Fi /LC PCK62

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    31
    Yes V-sync is disabled system spec are up top from earlyer or do you need more?? ill try the gpuz log now

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    31
    GPUZ log on both cards
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    Reap what you sow Aaron_8015's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    4,162
    Blog Entries
    1
    Forgot about that...

    That's what I get for posting at 4am....

    Are you sure that's both cards? Does it not create separate logs for each.... Either way you are only hitting 30-35% load on that GPU....

    Trying to think of a game that will max out GPUs.... Do you have Crysis 2? If not can you get 3dmark 06, I know the blimp video card test brings both of my GPUs to 99% load.... The score will also show you if you are performing as you should be. Have you tried some older drivers at all?
    I7 920 @ 4.2Ghz/6GB//GTX480 SLI/M4 64 GB + 1.5 TB + 2x 640 GB/Corsair TX950/ASUS blu-ray/ASUS P6X58D-E + X-Fi /LC PCK62

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    31
    No sorry in don't have crysis 2, yeah the first half is one card and the other half is the other card, as for drives i was using 11.5 now using 11.8, ill try 3dmark 06 now

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    31
    I have got 3dmark vantage will that do or do need 3dmark 06

  13. #13
    Reap what you sow Aaron_8015's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    4,162
    Blog Entries
    1
    I could never get vantage to work properly.... You can try 11 too...
    I7 920 @ 4.2Ghz/6GB//GTX480 SLI/M4 64 GB + 1.5 TB + 2x 640 GB/Corsair TX950/ASUS blu-ray/ASUS P6X58D-E + X-Fi /LC PCK62

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    31
    down loading now

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    31
    Hi i couldn't 11 to finish the tests it kept crashing this score is from vantage all settings set to extreme 18920

  16. #16
    Reap what you sow Aaron_8015's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    4,162
    Blog Entries
    1
    That sounds about right TBH.... GPUs at stock?
    I7 920 @ 4.2Ghz/6GB//GTX480 SLI/M4 64 GB + 1.5 TB + 2x 640 GB/Corsair TX950/ASUS blu-ray/ASUS P6X58D-E + X-Fi /LC PCK62

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    31
    yeah they are

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    31
    So there is nothing wrong with my cards? Thanks for all your help once again, one last question can you tell me what the 4volt PCIe outlets are used for on my power supply??

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is the color of the sky?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. MSI Lightning 6970
    By Dcezy in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: June 29th, 2011, 03:05 PM
  2. Help Graphics with a 6970
    By Emic in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: March 3rd, 2011, 04:11 PM
  3. 4870x2 vs 6950 vs 6970
    By RacerX in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 30th, 2011, 11:46 AM
  4. A cure for the Xfire BF2 join game problem !
    By nunyadam in forum General Gaming Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 8th, 2005, 11:56 PM
  5. aim, gaim, xfire problem
    By butch81385 in forum Applications and Operating Systems
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: February 14th, 2005, 12:17 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc