View Poll Results: Do you think connecting ATI HD6670 in my 300/360W SMPS will not cause any problem?

Voters
1. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, There will not be any problem after connecting

    0 0%
  • No, You will burn your PC

    0 0%
  • I don't know or don't have any opinion.

    1 100.00%
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation Graphics Card Buying Advice Needed

    Im planning for Graphics update of my PC. My PC having 300W Powersupply now. I can buy maximum 360W SMPS for this.

    Which Graphics card need to select from these?

    ATI Radeon HD 5450, HD 5670 and HD 6670

    Also please guide me which powersupply can I select for this Graphics Card : 300W or 360W (not more than that as my UPS not support more!)

    My system configuration is as list as below:

    Intel DG41TY Motherboard
    Intel Pentium Dual Core E5200 2.5GHz
    2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM PC2 6400 800MHz
    Seagate 500GB SATA2 HDD 7200RPM
    Seagate 1TB SATA2 HDD 7200RPM
    LG DVD+RW
    300W SMPS
    USB Mouse
    PS/2 Keyboard
    18.5" Wide DELL LCD Monitor 1366*768 Res
    V-Guard SLENDER PLUS 600VA UPS
    Last edited by abhilashkrishn; February 29th, 2012 at 12:01 PM.

  2. #2
    Millwright stroyal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    8,189
    Enjoy, but all power supplies are not the same, what, brand power supplies, are we talking about here.

    PSU REQUIREMENTS - RealHardTechX
    Hard Sayin Not Knowin

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by stroyal View Post
    Enjoy, but all power supplies are not the same, what, brand power supplies, are we talking about here.

    PSU REQUIREMENTS - RealHardTechX
    I can say that it is not branded, it is Chinese. Will it burn my PC if I connect HD 5670/6670 into it?

  4. #4
    Millwright stroyal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    8,189
    I would have to know the 12volt rail amps to say anything, it is on the label

    The power supply will put out what ever you connect it to, if you have too much for it to handle, it gets hot, and eventually thing can begin to fail, and voltages will drop.

    When cheap power supplies, fail they can take out the whole motherboard,

    Amps on the 12volt, how many 12volt rails?
    Hard Sayin Not Knowin

  5. #5
    Millwright stroyal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    8,189
    Actually that list is a little high, now that I look at it.
    Hard Sayin Not Knowin

  6. #6
    Millwright stroyal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    8,189
    Hard Sayin Not Knowin

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by stroyal View Post
    I would have to know the 12volt rail amps to say anything, it is on the label

    The power supply will put out what ever you connect it to, if you have too much for it to handle, it gets hot, and eventually thing can begin to fail, and voltages will drop.

    When cheap power supplies, fail they can take out the whole motherboard,

    Amps on the 12volt, how many 12volt rails?
    I have to check that using multimeter. I will buy one from friend.


    Quote Originally Posted by stroyal View Post
    Are you saying that I have to buy 360W SMPS for HD5450? Or will it serve for HD6670 also?

  8. #8
    Millwright stroyal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    8,189
    No I 'm saying a quality 350watt would run any of the 3.
    A non brand name like you seem to have would have to be a 400watt, and some are so poor they have to be a 450watt.

    You can't check amps with a multi-meter, only volts and ohma.

    You would need an amp meeter, and that would not tell you what the power supply is rated for, only what it is drawing at the moment.
    Hard Sayin Not Knowin

  9. #9
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,248
    Is there a Sticker or Label on the PSU in the case with info on it?
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2
    I do not believe it will "burn" your PC if you plug it in. But I wouldn't trust a PSU as you have with some new hardware. I didn't know much about PSU's when I was in the market, I was told to get a Corsair and never had any problems for a 2 + years.


Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is the color of the sky?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Graphics Card Advice Needed
    By Mari0k in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 13th, 2010, 03:23 AM
  2. Need Advice - Buying Graphics Card
    By tomana in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 8th, 2009, 05:43 AM
  3. NEW Graphics card - Advice needed
    By bc1610 in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 1st, 2008, 10:17 PM
  4. Advice on buying a new graphics card needed.
    By Ymer in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 110
    Last Post: July 20th, 2005, 04:21 PM
  5. Advice Needed On Graphics Card Purchase
    By Iceman0084 in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: November 16th, 2004, 11:20 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc