+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    20

    graphics card not being found

    Ok got my new computer and installing drivers and such and cant get it to detect my GTX550ti. Nvidia drivers wont install saying hardware not detected but its in there and the fans running but I cant get it to detect it. any idea's? I google searched to try to figure out and I haven't got anything to work yet.

  2. #2
    Super Stealthy Moderator RicheemxX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    8,569
    Blog Entries
    4
    For those of us that don't know what the rest of the specs on this system are those might help?

    I'm assuming the card is displaying video correct? what drivers are you using? the latest ones, the ones from the cd or something else?
    Be a Liberal, blame everyone else!!

  3. #3
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,245
    did you let windows 7 install its default VGA Drivers first before installing the Nvidia Drivers?
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    20
    i5 2500
    asus h61 motherboard Newegg.com - ASRock H61M/U3S3 LGA 1155 Intel H61 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard
    4gb ram
    nvidia gtx 550ti Newegg.com - MSI N550GTX-Ti-M2D1GD5/OC GeForce GTX 550 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 192-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
    620watt PSU
    windows 7

    Its not displaying at all im running off on board graphics right now. Its not detecting the card at all but the cards fan is running.

    edit for shyguy yeah I installed all the windows drivers first so id assume it was installed. Then I insalled all my motherboard drivers then went to do the graphic cards and this is where im stuck.

  5. #5
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,245
    Quote Originally Posted by TheUsualSuspect View Post
    i5 2500
    asus h61 motherboard Newegg.com - ASRock H61M/U3S3 LGA 1155 Intel H61 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard
    4gb ram
    nvidia gtx 550ti Newegg.com - MSI N550GTX-Ti-M2D1GD5/OC GeForce GTX 550 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 192-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
    620watt PSU
    windows 7

    Its not displaying at all im running off on board graphics right now. Its not detecting the card at all but the cards fan is running.
    Is the card plugged into the Power supply? It does require a 6 Pin PCI Express connector to be plugged in. The PCIe slot only provides part of the power needed for that card, hence the additional power plug needed.
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    20
    yeah i got the 6 pin PCI express power plugged into it/

  7. #7
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,245
    When you installed windows, did you have your monitor plugged into the video card or the onboard video?

    Should of been in the video card. The motherboard would switch to the proper output it detects, which would of been the video card.
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    20
    I had it into the onboard when I installed windows.

  9. #9
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,245
    should of been in the video card.
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    20
    ok Now I got it running off the graphics card through VGA but I cant get it to run hdmi atm. its a mini hdmi with a converter that came with to make it regular hdmi. ill check to see if its recognizing the hardware now.

  11. #11
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,245
    boot the PC with the monitor connected to the video card, go into windows, see if it detects it then, since its being used, and install the drivers.
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    20
    yep the driver disk recognized immediately that it was there installing right now. hopefully once it installs I can swap to the hdmi.

  13. #13
    Super Stealthy Moderator RicheemxX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    8,569
    Blog Entries
    4
    Figured it was either the lack of the power adapter or lack of him using the video card initially. Now that you've at least got it up and running and installing the drivers off the disk you should be g2g. You'll want to update to the latest drivers following the initial setup though.
    Be a Liberal, blame everyone else!!

  14. #14
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,245
    Latest Nvidia drivers are only 2 days old, came out on Tuesday, 296.10 If I recall? Make sure you get the ones for your OS though (32bit or 64-bit)
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2

    Well have the same problem! But i fixed it!

    Check the PCI-e area

    see if its the correct one to be inserted in!

    mine was in the wrong one!

  16. #16
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,245
    Bit late replying to the thread.

    And besides, their motherboard only has ONE, PCI Express x16 slot, its not like its too hard to be confused as to which slot the card goes in. Helps to read the thread sometimes.

    (the board also has a PCIe x1 slot, but it doesn't take a genious to figure out that an x16 slot length card won't fit into the x1 slot either)
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2

    Yes, but i fixed it differently.

    Do this,

    Computer>Properties>DevManager

    see if thar be a VGA driver there.

    If so when on the internet, click it and update it !

    Fixed it for me.

  18. #18
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,245
    ok, so what, it still doesn't apply to the original posters topic, and the fact that they haven't posted back in 6 months, add to that, their initial problem was solved.

    The fact is, what your posting is unrelated to the OP situation, it may be in the same category of problems, but its a different process, different issue that was the problem/cause.



    great, that whatever the problem you had, what you did fixed it for you, but it doesn't apply to the topic/situation in this thread.

    Again, as I said above, it helps to read the thread, your dredging up before posting to offer more help. If this was an ongoing topic and problems still not resolved, it may be a different story, but its not.


    The issue at hand in this thread, was that the OP didn't have the proper Video output connected when they installed windows, and wasn't using the Video card for display output, once they did have it connected, Windows recognized the video card as the display device being used, but they also still didn't have the proper video display drivers installed (just the stock VGA drivers for windows), once those were installed, HDMI use should of been enabled and problem solved.

    as I mentioned, with your initial reply, there was no other slots for THEM to use and thus it was irrelevant info for help with this thread. It may have been something in your situation, but not this one. The OP posted a link to their motherboard, and it only has a single PCIe x16 slot.

    Your 2nd post, "Do This", again, irrelevant, since they were already installing the drivers from the disc that came with the card, they already stated that above, granted it wasn't the most up to date drivers, but, it would of allowed them to gain use of the HDMI port and its features.

    they never replied back, so we assume it worked for them, since its been 6+ months now, the thread is a dead topic.
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is the color of the sky?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Awesome Free Graphics programs I found
    By deltaf508 in forum Applications and Operating Systems
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: April 15th, 2010, 01:56 AM
  2. Need to Diasable Intergrated Graphics When Installing Graphics Card?
    By MegalosSkylaki in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 24th, 2010, 03:20 AM
  3. wirless card and lan not found
    By hawkeye2006 in forum Networking and Internet
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 16th, 2008, 07:39 PM
  4. Problems with new graphics card and onboard card
    By Err in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: July 2nd, 2008, 05:37 PM
  5. New graphics card but still crappy graphics
    By Rane_Sacre in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: December 26th, 2007, 06:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc