+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4

    Is it worth it to upgrade from HD3650 to HD5670 of radeon?

    Hi guys.

    I want to upgrade my pc and i want to start with my Graphics card.
    Currently I have Radeon HD 3650 512mb ddr3 on it. I want to upgrade to a Radeon HD 5670 1g ddr3.

    I have tried a site gpureview and did a comparison of the two and i can see the the 5670 has a higher flops, memory bandwidth etc. while the 3650 has a higher clock rate.

    link for the comparison: Video Card Comparison - GPUReview.com

    I am using a sony bravia TV(dunno the exact unit) and i have a maximum resolution of 1920x1080. Playing games on this like Assasins creed and Skyrim seems to be on the bottleneck when at this resolution at only medium settings on skyrim and high quality but low . Thats why i want to upgrade to a higher graphics card.

    Is it worth it to buy the 5670? I dunno how to compare the other things in the review so please help me on deciding to buy it.

  2. #2
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    18,400
    What are your Power supply specs?

    Brand, Model, Wattage, +12V Amp Rating.

    How much are you looking to spend on the 5670?

    In a card to card comparison, the 5670 is vastly better.

    But depending on the price, you might be better off getting a 6670 instead.


    Also, what is your CPU? exact specs.

    Since you mention some games, as the bottleneck could also be the CPU. Though certainly the GPU is holding those games back... well, at least Skyrim anyways, AC is hardly taxing GPU wise (also have AC, though only got a little ways into it).


    Actually while your at it, can you tell us if you motherboard has a PCI Express or AGP slot for the video card... I forgot the 3650 was available in both slot "flavors".
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4
    I have a old system.
    I am at the office so ill make a rough description of my PC since i cant remember the exact specs of it.

    I gots:
    2 Gig DDR2 Ram
    Core 2 Duo 2.8ghz
    PSU is i think about 350W generic brand.

    Oh should i just get the 6670? because in my currency 5670 is about 65$ and the 6670 is about 75$.

    Do you think it will improve the performance of the said games even if i have poor PC specs?(Skyrim, and Assassins Creed)

    Thanks for the Reply

  4. #4
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    18,400
    your CPU should still be fine, the C2D 2.8GHz should be enough for those games. Was worried the CPU might be too low end and be a bottleneck on the GPU choice, but its not.

    I wouldn't really consider doing anything with more info on the PSU, if its a generic brand, I'd consider upgrading it to a better brand, better safe than sorry with putting in newer hardware, rather than chance overloading the old PSU and frying everything in the case.

    I'd also consider adding another 1GB of RAM if possible, if your running Windows 64-bit, another 2GB would be fine.

    assuming there's any slots to fill with more RAM.

    How much of a budget do you have? And where are you? UK, EU? Etc?

    The GPU upgrade would certainly improve performance, but the PSU is the main worry in regards to that upgrade. Not that the 5670 or 6670 are that power taxing, but they could be more than the 3650 and put the generic PSU over its limits.
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4
    I am from the PH.
    I have alloted about 100$ max in the meantime.
    Can you recommend a PSU that will fit the budget? What should i look for when i am looking to buy a PSU? how many watts should i get?

    I cant add anymore memory though, something about the motherboard i think. because currently i have 1 2G stick and 1 1g stick attached to it but it only read 2g.

    Thanks for the replies! Kudos to you kind sir.

  6. #6
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    18,400
    400W Should be enough for your needs, with a Radeon 5670 or 6670 range card.

    Corsair, Antec, Coolermaster, Seasonic, FSP/Fortron, OCZ, PC Power & Cooling, Enermax, Silverstone, Thermaltake, Sparkle, XFX, Zalman Are all the usual quality brand names, if you can find any of those over there in your budget range that should work fine...

    Some of them over here cost around $40.

    For example, these 2 should be fine, if you can find them over there for similar pricing:

    Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER Elite 460 RS-460-PSAR-J3 460W ATX12V V2.31 Power Supply

    Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER eXtreme Power Plus RS500-PCARD3-US 500W ATX12V v2.3 Power Supply



    Some other budget models:

    Newegg.com - Antec VP-450 450W ATX 12V v2.3 Power Supply

    Newegg.com - FSP Group ATX400-PNT 400W ATX12V V2.2 Power Supply - Power Supplies

    Newegg.com - SPARKLE ATX-350PN-B204 350W ATX 12V 2.0 Power Supply - Power Supplies
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4
    Hi, I decided. to buy the Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER eXtreme Power Plus RS500-PCARD3-US 500W ATX12V v2.3 Power Supply item then buy a Sapphire Radeon HD 6670 1g ddr5 video card. Will it affect my performance in a great deal if i am currently using ATI Radon HD 3650 512mb ddr3? What is the DDR for by the way?

  8. #8
    Millwright stroyal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    8,189
    Double Data Rate SDRAM

    It just means that it dose 2 operations per cycle as opposed to plain old SDRAM, DIMMs, and SIMMs that only did 1 operation per cycle.

    I'll leave the card performance to Shyguy.

    Lots of things are DDR, it was one of the early ways AMD CPUs competed with Intel.

    Some Intel CPUs are at least quad pumped
    Last edited by stroyal; April 4th, 2012 at 05:31 PM.
    Hard Sayin Not Knowin

  9. #9
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    18,400
    I'm not sure I even understand what your asking about the 3650, you already HAVE it, so I'm not sure why your asking if it will affect your performance?
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is the color of the sky?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Sapphire Radeon HD3650 X2 question
    By yamanx in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 1st, 2012, 06:21 AM
  2. Which Radeon HD5670 to buy?
    By Jimdriver2 in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 1st, 2011, 10:18 AM
  3. New Sapphire Radeon HD5670 1GB GDDR5 won't work.
    By jasio13 in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: February 19th, 2010, 03:11 PM
  4. HIS RADEON HD3650
    By ZO in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 20th, 2009, 08:11 PM
  5. Have Radeon X800-Upgrade GeForce 7600GT or RADEON X 1650 PR0?
    By popeye123 in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 15th, 2008, 11:17 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc