+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: SAT Tips?

SAT Tips?

Im a junior this year, so this is my first attempt at the SAT. ill be taking it october 11. Im not planning any hardcore studying for it...just taking a practice test or 2. I just want to get an idea where i fall, and this will be the first of 3 times i plan on taking it this year. and 1 more time my senior year if im still not pleased with my results. can anyone offer up some tips for the first time?

Not Really a Member
    Don't guess
    in SAT you marked off for each WRONG answer, but you're not marked off for unanswered questions.

in the ACT its best to guess answers, but not in SAT.

Other than that, I never took SAT's they weren't required for my school (in MI most schools use ACT)
    Helicopters don't fly; they vibrate so much and make so much noise that the earth rejects them.

Misanthropic
    Blog Entries
    I never bothered to take the SAT or ACT. (Well not officially at least. ) Just be sure to go in after getting a good night's rest, eat breakfast, and have an open mind.

Just do a practice test or two. You never know what will be thrown on the SAT anyway.

http://www.admissionsconsultants.com/college/sat.asp

some highlights:

Ascending order of difficulty

The SAT questions become more difficult as you go through each section. If you are nearing the end of a section and you can not figure out the last few questions, your time will be better spent to review the questions in the beginning and middle of the section. Keep in mind that all the questions are weighted the same. Furthermore, a few blank answers will not make a material impact on your score.

Avoid Random Guessing in the Multiple Choice Sections