+ Reply to Thread

Biggest benifit to switching to Linux?

So I use Ubuntu from time to time, but mostly keep it on standby for when things go terribly wrong with friends/family's computers.

the best feature I like is its ability to boot from the disk and treat it as sort of a back door when windows is completely shot in order to trouble shoot and recover files.

Basically toying with the idea of using Ubuntu instead of windows...thoughts? input?

Goverment property now GroundZero3's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    I only use linux as a proxy/vpn server. Other than that, I have no interest in the desktop portion of it

Its pretty much what your needs are.

you will love it....

Works great for me as my desktop system.

But it does all depend on what you want to do with your system and if you want to spend the money on Windows.

I'm a windows user but have for years had a linux machine running.
    While I know linux, probably as good as you average windows user, I'm no expert.

Recently I have installed Ubuntu in a half dozen computers, and it was easier than XP, as everything worked after an unsupervised install.

If you game, flight sim, or need windows specific programs, it is not for you.

If you don't mind learning a new system,(but not that different from a users stand point) It is a perfectly viable system.

Most user surf, E-mail, and maybe word process, and don't fix their own computers. Linux is every bit as good as windows for that, and you don't need a virus program 99% of the time, if ever.

I have given computers with linux to new users that don't know windows, and they have no problem.

Edit: There are thousands of free programs for Linux.
    Last edited by stroyal; January 20th, 2010 at 01:50 PM.
    Hard Sayin Not Knowin

I'll have to explore the free programs- Thanks!

They do have things like flight sim, but I have never had it on a computer with a good enough graphics card to play them.
    Hard Sayin Not Knowin