+ Reply to Thread

Windows software use on linux?(i.e. photoshop, google chrome, itunes)

I am getting ready to build a new computer for my fall semester of college, well getting ready to slowly buy parts, but im doing a barebook build, and I have been researching Linux, and I'm aware that there are numerous kinds or distros and all are different in certain ways, but im an amateur photographer, so i need to use cs5 and adobe lightroom, etc, and i need other software such as a typing program (word, powerpoint, etc). my qustion is: is it possible to get such software on linux (probably the unbuntu version), because this will be my sole computer throughout college and my editing workshop. Like i said, i have NO experience at all with any type of linux, so any advice is a help, even if you just tell me to go with windows instead. thanks

Blog Entries
    This tells how to use photoshop using the wine emulator
    [Photoshop] Idiotís Guide to Photoshop CS5 installation on Ubuntu 10.04

Many applications work in linux using wine or xine, but you should see first if they have a linux version available and use that.

Is also alternatives that are free for linux, is so many free applications for linux.

OpenOffice should work for you with the documents
    OpenOffice.org - The Free and Open Productivity Suite

Here is a free image editing for linux called gimp
    GIMP - The GNU Image Manipulation Program
    DynaIndex.com - Dynamic search index of websites, links, feeds, title, description, keywords and thumbnail snapshot.

Blog Entries
    Welcome to TechIMO!