+ Reply to Thread

How to remove Linux?

Hi

I have an old computer which I put Linux Ubuntu on to see what it was all about.

After having it on now for some while I have decided to revert back to windows xp but I believe I stupidly overwrite it when I put ubuntu on.

I have read you can revert computers back to original settings by pressing f10 and going through some commands this doesn't seem to work. I can either seem to wipe off ubuntu so i don't know if i buy a new xp edition it will work?

Any help appreciated

I'm not an expert, but I can bumble my way through it.

The easiest way, is to download the hard drive manufacturers disk, and use that to partition and format.
    Then you are good to go for a regular XP installation.

2nd would be use the Linux installation disk to format with NTFS,
    You can then do an install of XP, but the boot loader is still screwed up, at the end of the installation.

However, you only have to re-wright the Master Boot Record, to fix it.

How to fix MBR in Windows XP and Vista

If you are dual booting, there must be a way to format and get rid of GRUB, without destroying your XP installation, but that is beyond me.
    Last edited by stroyal; March 22nd, 2012 at 09:24 AM.
    Hard Sayin Not Knowin

I have gone back to Windows many times, but this time, I'm staying with Ubuntu on this laptop.
    It had a messed up Vista install, that I couldn't save, and I had no media, so I temporarily loaded Ubuntu 11.10.
    After a few weeks, I can see absolutely no reason for Win7, as I don't game, or sim, on this laptop.

There is nothing I can't do with this operating system, and it has no problem exchanging files, and printing to my Windows computers.

I'm trying the Beta 12.04, on some old boxes, and it only has a few user changes, and is stable, as far as I can see.
    10.04.1 is the long term stable version, but 11.10 is ready for prime time.

It is nice to not have to have a virus, or malware program.