+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    8

    T2865: Where do I plug in the power switch on the motherboard?

    I did something stupid why troubleshooting a power issue on a friend emachines T2865 w/ AU31 MB.

    I pulled the on/off connector along with the on/off light and hdd light off the mb to test the switch prior to replacing the ps. Now I don't know where to plug them back in.

    There is a 9 bin block connector and 3 pin connector where they came from on the mb.

    I label them like this


    CMOS battery location

    1 2 3 4
    0 0 0 0
    0 0 0 0 0
    5 6 7 8 9

    1 2 3
    0 0 0

    Any help sure would be appreciated.
    Craig

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    8
    Even a picture of that area would be helpful.

    thx.

  3. #3
    I Haz Catputer JLK03F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    5,494
    In doing a little searching, someone said that your emachine uses a FIC AU13 motherboard. If that's true this may help. It's a link to the FIC AU13 manual.
    http://www.fic.com.tw/support/downlo...ip&info=manual

    Good luck
    What computer do you have? And please don't say a white one. - Sheldon Cooper

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by JLK03F150
    In doing a little searching, someone said that your emachine uses a FIC AU13 motherboard. If that's true this may help. It's a link to the FIC AU13 manual.
    http://www.fic.com.tw/support/downlo...ip&info=manual

    Good luck
    Thanks. I got the PDF and it detailed exactly what I needed to know! My mother board actually says AU31 and that site did not have a manual for that board but the connectors were exactly pictured as mine.

    Now, on the down side, the PC still does not power up I have reseated all the cards, replaced the memory stick and still nothing. I guess my next step is to replace the motherboard unless someone else has some more troubleshooting tips. Where would I get a 1 for 1 replacement that will fit.

    Thanks again.

    cd

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member cmptrgydv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    MINN
    Posts
    1,778
    check if there is a switch on back of power supply first, are any fans running,
    any lights on, in back or front,

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by cmptrgydv
    check if there is a switch on back of power supply first, are any fans running,
    any lights on, in back or front,
    Yes, there is a switch and it is turned on to 1. (us old folks know that 1/0 is binary for on and off. )

    No lights.

    No fans come on, from either the power supply or the one attached above the cpu. I have swapped out the power cord to eliminate that too. I'm down to my last straw I think.

    Thanks

    cd

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,091
    the mother board maybe shgorting, remove it from the com then try the system out tht way

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    8
    For the future generations:

    Based on my diagram:

    Power button is 3-4
    HDD light is 5-6


    Quote Originally Posted by craigerd2
    I did something stupid why troubleshooting a power issue on a friend emachines T2865 w/ AU31 MB.

    I pulled the on/off connector along with the on/off light and hdd light off the mb to test the switch prior to replacing the ps. Now I don't know where to plug them back in.

    There is a 9 bin block connector and 3 pin connector where they came from on the mb.

    I label them like this


    CMOS battery location

    1 2 3 4
    0 0 0 0
    0 0 0 0 0
    5 6 7 8 9

    1 2 3
    0 0 0

    Any help sure would be appreciated.
    Craig

  9. #9
    Member mlee97's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    416
    Emachine's powersupplies have a bad reputation. Try another powersupply, even if it don't fit the case. You can troubleshoot with it until you go get one that does fit if thats the problem... But I bet it is..

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by mlee97
    Emachine's powersupplies have a bad reputation. Try another powersupply, even if it don't fit the case. You can troubleshoot with it until you go get one that does fit if thats the problem... But I bet it is..
    Thanks for the advice. I have already replaced the powersupply from one I purchased at Compusa. Still no go.

    cd

  11. #11
    Member mlee97's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    416
    have you tried hotwiring the ps? See..
    http://www.techimo.com/forum/t13657.html
    by doing this you can confirm if it's a switching "on" problem or not..

  12. #12
    Ultimate Member Jarhed7276's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    2,230
    Have you tried turning the power switch lead to the motherboard 180? I believe the power lead is one of the ones that make a difference as to how it connects.

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    8
    Thanks for the PS tip. I tried that and confirmed that the ps comes on and I hear the HD spin up but the motherboard still refuses to power up. I also tried switching the on connector 180 but that did not work but thx for helping, much appreciated.

    Now on to replacement board. Any suggestions on where to start. Should I buy a bare motherboard and assume my cpu is ok?

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1
    Hey Craigerd2 I did the same as you and I dont Know how to conect that 3 cables
    the red with white,the green with white, the red with withe.I think you Know hos is the order right.
    Please help me Thanks

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is 10 and 5 added together?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Emachine Model T2865
    By Slayertime in forum Motherboards
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: May 24th, 2005, 04:11 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 16th, 2004, 08:37 PM
  3. Power plug on laptop damaged need help.
    By kantlivelong in forum Mobile Computing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 11th, 2004, 11:44 AM
  4. Broke DC Power Plug / Pavillion ZT1230
    By Bdogge23 in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 30th, 2004, 05:44 AM
  5. Dell motherboard power switch pin out
    By wc in forum Motherboards
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 3rd, 2003, 07:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc