+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Quanta MoBo?

Quanta MoBo?

I used Everest Ultimate to look up my mother board, and it came up with a Quanta brand number 3082, version 36.31. anyone tell me if that sounds right? i'm trying to find a way to make my fans turn on sooner and stay on more.

if it's saying that, it's reading it from somewhere. try looking at the motherboard and finding part numbers or revision numbers and googling them, see what comes up.

Is it a laptop? Quanta is a fairly bigname ODM for laptops.

yes, it is a laptop. any ideas on where i could look to find ways to change fan turn on points or speeds?

where would the numbers be? i'm fairly new to laptops, and know only bits and peices of desktops.

yeah.... you'd have to pop it open. possibly you could see it if you removed the keyboard, but scratch that idea.

what you need to do is make sure you have the correct chipset drivers and latest bios to support ACPI, as that is the interface that will give you the fan control and what not.

there's a program called speedfan i beleive which will give control to these kinds of things if the hardware supports it.

i have speedfan already, i need to find out what motherboard etc. i am running to allow me to change the settings

well, what kind of laptop is it?

it is an HP Pavillion zd8000 (zd8215 specific model), Pentium 4 with HT (3GHZ), 112GB 4200 rpm HD, 768 (originally 512) RAM, Radeon x600 GPU (128mb)

also, any suggestions on a preferred cooling pad brand?
    or any other ways to cool it?
    i was just online, not gaming or anything, in about mid 80 external temps, and my cpu got up to 155F

i'm going to say that there's not alot of support for dynamic speed control on that system since it has a desktop P4 in it. the speedfan support listing that has all of the motherboards they know support the software listed a few laptop motherboards, and not the quanta. the fact that it's HP leads me to beleive that it definitely doesn't have those features.