+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Quanta MoBo?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    11

    Quanta MoBo?

    I used Everest Ultimate to look up my mother board, and it came up with a Quanta brand number 3082, version 36.31. anyone tell me if that sounds right? i'm trying to find a way to make my fans turn on sooner and stay on more.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Austin, tx
    Posts
    1,005
    if it's saying that, it's reading it from somewhere. try looking at the motherboard and finding part numbers or revision numbers and googling them, see what comes up.

  3. #3
    Perfetc Member VHockey86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Maryland Suburbia
    Posts
    4,334
    Is it a laptop? Quanta is a fairly bigname ODM for laptops.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    11
    yes, it is a laptop. any ideas on where i could look to find ways to change fan turn on points or speeds?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    11
    where would the numbers be? i'm fairly new to laptops, and know only bits and peices of desktops.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Austin, tx
    Posts
    1,005
    yeah.... you'd have to pop it open. possibly you could see it if you removed the keyboard, but scratch that idea.

    what you need to do is make sure you have the correct chipset drivers and latest bios to support ACPI, as that is the interface that will give you the fan control and what not.

    there's a program called speedfan i beleive which will give control to these kinds of things if the hardware supports it.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    11
    i have speedfan already, i need to find out what motherboard etc. i am running to allow me to change the settings

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Austin, tx
    Posts
    1,005
    well, what kind of laptop is it?

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    11
    it is an HP Pavillion zd8000 (zd8215 specific model), Pentium 4 with HT (3GHZ), 112GB 4200 rpm HD, 768 (originally 512) RAM, Radeon x600 GPU (128mb)

    also, any suggestions on a preferred cooling pad brand?
    or any other ways to cool it?
    i was just online, not gaming or anything, in about mid 80 external temps, and my cpu got up to 155F

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Austin, tx
    Posts
    1,005
    i'm going to say that there's not alot of support for dynamic speed control on that system since it has a desktop P4 in it. the speedfan support listing that has all of the motherboards they know support the software listed a few laptop motherboards, and not the quanta. the fact that it's HP leads me to beleive that it definitely doesn't have those features.

    as for a cooling pad, unless you need to keep your legs from burning, don't bother. to keep the system cool, get the latest bios and also ensure as dust free of air passageways as possible. that will make the temps rise quicker than any other factor.

  11. #11
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Augsburg, Germany
    Posts
    5,584
    ... and besides, you'll find that any halfway (post-2000) notebook controls its temperatures and fan speeds through ACPI methods - meaning that the sensors, thresholds and fan control chips are in the operating system's domain, unavailable for userspace programs.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Austin, tx
    Posts
    1,005
    there's more than a few utilities out there that give a "user interface" to ACPI... windows power management for one. the way it would use ACPI to control this is to hook in the fan control with the changes of ACPI states... if this is how they impliment it.

    they could also hook the fan control into a temperature sensor (more common with desktop processors in mobile platforms than mobile processors), but in my experience whenever i made changes to the system's state by, for example, unplugging the power and moving the power source to battery, the fan speed would immeidiately change to reflect the change of the system's state.
    Last edited by johnnyis42; March 25th, 2006 at 10:11 PM.

  13. #13
    Ultimate Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Augsburg, Germany
    Posts
    5,584
    Of course it does.

    When you're doing thermals in ACPI, you erect a "thermal zone" object that spans a heat source (e.g. the CPU), a temperature reading, and cooling methods (throttling, fan). Thresholds for the temperature reading trigger adjustment of the cooling method, also entirely under control of the ACPI scripts.

    Other ACPI-controlled events, like change of power source or opening/closing the lid, may also be used to change cooling strategy or temperature thresholds.

    When userspace software tries to program the temperature sensor chip while ACPI uses it, the changes either won't last long because ACPI keeps overwriting them, or it's going to fsck up the automated control the machine makers deemed necessary.

    (Can you tell which side of the affair I'm writing the software for? )

  14. #14
    Member Fruit&Veg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom, Leic
    Posts
    250
    that laptop is PRO!
    New Computer:
    MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4
    AMD 64 3200+ Processor @ 2.1ghz
    1gb G.Skill Dual Channel DDR Ram
    GeForce 6800 GS 256MB
    FSP Sparkle ATX 400w

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Austin, tx
    Posts
    1,005
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter M
    Other ACPI-controlled events, like change of power source or opening/closing the lid, may also be used to change cooling strategy or temperature thresholds.
    right, but i was always under the impression that things like the utilities motherboard manufacturers released actually gave state control over to their terminate-and-stay-resident processes, which worked in kernel mode and not user mode, seperately from the UI used to configure the behaviour. is this not the case, or is there a level of abstraction between the level any UI can communicate with ACPI functions that make this impossible?

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Buying Mobo and Mobo -> CPU compatability
    By oliver w in forum Motherboards
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 26th, 2005, 08:06 PM
  2. WTB mobo or mobo/cpu combo
    By daveleau in forum Traders Forum: Buy, Sell, Trade
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 17th, 2004, 03:30 AM
  3. quanta is awesome!
    By e980238 in forum Applications and Operating Systems
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: October 8th, 2002, 08:20 PM
  4. P4 mobo with rdram 1066 or mobo with ddr and agp8x
    By psynotic in forum Motherboards
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: July 23rd, 2002, 06:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc