+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

ATX 12 V Power Connector on motherboard

Major Newbie here needing help.

I plug in the 24-pin power connector for the main power and everything starts up fine; however, when I plug in the 4-pin connector that powers the CPU fan and hit the on button, I get a flash of energy and then nothing.

Any clues as to why this is happening?

Hello and welcome to Techimo...
    From this point on you should always give us a little more info...
    Backround,... type and model of components, etc...
    I'm aware of no 4 pin power connector for the CPU fan...
    Are you refferring to the 4 pin Motherboard connector from the power supply that plugs into the motherboard?
    Last edited by JPMiller; June 15th, 2006 at 03:13 PM.

Okay. I have a 24-pin that is the main power supply for the mobo and the other one I have is 4-pin block that the mobo manual says is an ATX 12V power connector. Now, the very first time I had this plugged in, everything worked including the CPU fan. I turned on the computer and then had to shut it down. When I came to it later, it would not turn on. When I unplug the 4-pin block, the computer will turn on; however, the CPU fan does not work. I therefore assume that this 4-pin block is the 12 volts that allows the CPU fan to get it's energy as the main power does not seem to do this. Below is a site with the picture of my mobo.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...953314&CatId=0

It is the 4-pin block kitty-korner to the CPU. I just assumed since I had a plug for it it should be plugged in. Anywho, if I don't plug it in, then the computer will run, but I get no power to the CPU fan, thus is my problem.

If it does power the fan, it is not the only thing it powers, it also adds power to the the CPU. It should have 2 yellow wires, and 2 black. If you plug it in any way but the right way it will short out the power supply. Unpluging the power supply should reset it.