+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member sm8000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    985

    Board gets power (fans spin) but no POST

    I picked up a used Socket A board with the caveat that it may be dead, I'm not worried about getting a refund as I'm sure the seller will make right if need be. It came with a Barton 2500+, and one or the other (maybe both?) apparently died after an overclock attempt.

    I'm testing it by laying it on its cardboard box, plugging in a spare PSU, and the PWR SW wire from a nearby case. I also have some RAM in it an a video card (both known good). I've even got the SPKR wire from another case plugged into it. I initially tried with the Barton it came with, the board would power up (fans spin) but no beeps and no post.

    I've since pulled the battery for about half an hour, with the CMOS jumper in Clear (now back to Normal since reseating the battery). Still no beeps nor post. I'm also trying a spare Duron 1.8 but no luck, and I tried changing the FSB jumper. I even switched from DVI to VGA on my X1600 Pro (with its PSU wire connected) but no difference. Just spinning fans.

    Is there anything else I can do to test this? I just want to make sure it's really dead before I request a refund. I'd hate to lose this board if it really can work. I've also tried replacing the CMOS battery, no go.

  2. #2
    I Haz Catputer JLK03F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    5,494
    Take the RAM out & see if you can get a "memory bad or missing" POST beep. If you can't get any beeps out of it, IMO the board's probably bad.

  3. #3
    I Void Warranties KarmaKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Springfield
    Posts
    13,490
    Blog Entries
    5
    Or if you have onboard video, try that and see if that's the issue.
    If your getting no beeps and everything appears to be working, then it is a possibility that it is working, just the video isn't.
    Q6600@4Ghz | i7 920@4.4Ghz |E6320@3.5Ghz
    FAQ's ~ Team Stats
    My PC

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  4. #4
    Senior Member sm8000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    985
    No onboard video here, just two serial ports. Although perhaps I should try digging out a PCI video card...

    I took out all of the RAM but still got no beeps. I hope motherboards don't depend on keyboards being present to POST

  5. #5
    I Haz Catputer JLK03F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    5,494
    Yes, no keyboard can cause a stop error on some boards.

  6. #6
    Senior Member sm8000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    985
    Quote Originally Posted by JLK03F150 View Post
    Yes, no keyboard can cause a stop error on some boards.
    But it should still POST, right? I've got one here anyway, I'll plug it in and see what happens.

  7. #7
    I Void Warranties KarmaKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Springfield
    Posts
    13,490
    Blog Entries
    5
    Well, IMO I would think the board is bad. Sorry
    Q6600@4Ghz | i7 920@4.4Ghz |E6320@3.5Ghz
    FAQ's ~ Team Stats
    My PC

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  8. #8
    Senior Member sm8000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    985
    Bummer Tried a keyboard and a PCI video card, no luck.


    It's a damn shame, this could have been a really nice board too: http://www.leadtek.com/eng/mainboard...3&pronameid=71

  9. #9
    I Void Warranties KarmaKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Springfield
    Posts
    13,490
    Blog Entries
    5
    Yeah, that is a nice board. Sorry

    I never knew Leadtek made motherboards...huh...
    Learn something new everyday...
    Q6600@4Ghz | i7 920@4.4Ghz |E6320@3.5Ghz
    FAQ's ~ Team Stats
    My PC

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  10. #10
    Senior Member sm8000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    985
    This is a WinFast board made by Leadtek, but my main PC runs a WinFast board made by Foxconn.

  11. #11
    Senior Member sm8000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    985
    The worst part about this is that the video card I was using to test doesn't work any more. The fan spins up but no display in two systems. There goes my HTPC's X1600 Pro

  12. #12
    I Void Warranties KarmaKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Springfield
    Posts
    13,490
    Blog Entries
    5
    Yeah that's a real bummer. I just sold off my last AGP card(x1650pro) I'm finally making the switch to PCI-e. I thought it was about time, plus I blew up half my system, so it was a good time for me..
    Q6600@4Ghz | i7 920@4.4Ghz |E6320@3.5Ghz
    FAQ's ~ Team Stats
    My PC

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is the color of the sky?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. LEDs and fans - but no POST or power off.
    By asweve in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: March 4th, 2006, 12:36 PM
  2. Replies: 24
    Last Post: August 19th, 2005, 07:57 PM
  3. New Board won't power up
    By GregMior in forum Motherboards
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: August 23rd, 2004, 02:19 AM
  4. No fans, no spin ups, JUST green ASUS board light
    By buddhafest in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: February 4th, 2003, 04:57 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 3rd, 2003, 02:20 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc