+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 144
  1. #61
    Ultimate Member Prince Lalijama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cant tell you
    Posts
    2,300
    Question, would a 1TB HDD be faster or slower than my WDC 250GB?
    I'm PL, I've come to suck all the intelligence out of this thread.

  2. #62
    to F@H or not to F@H ? Cmptr-Gy-Dv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    4,640
    so this is what it will be,

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820148070

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131196

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115018

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835150082

    I don't need the rest right now, I will use this case and PSU I think it's a 500 watt
    but once I get vista installed I'll unplug the DVD and spare sata drives,

    than in a couple weeks I will pick up the rest of the system, this way I can install vista ultimate and call MS and see if they will activate it on the new board,

    it's OEM but they have done it, that way I can buy a copy of home premium to load back on this board, and keep my ultimate,

  3. #63
    I Void Warranties KarmaKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Springfield
    Posts
    13,490
    Blog Entries
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Cmptr-Gy-Dv View Post
    so I can still run 1 nvidia card in the P5K I just can't run 2 in sli mode,
    Correct! You can still run one Nvidia card, no problems.

    i'm sticking with the asus board, and the nvidia card, i'm not planning on dual cards any way at least not now, maybe when I can get 2 decent ATI cards for $200 or $250 maybe in a year or so,
    Quote Originally Posted by Prince Lalijama View Post
    Question, would a 1TB HDD be faster or slower than my WDC 250GB?
    That's depends on RPM of the drives, Buffer sizes, etc. You'll have to do some research between specific drives to find that out. It's kind of a broad question..
    Q6600@4Ghz | i7 920@4.4Ghz |E6320@3.5Ghz
    FAQ's ~ Team Stats
    My PC

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  4. #64
    to F@H or not to F@H ? Cmptr-Gy-Dv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    4,640
    Quote Originally Posted by Prince Lalijama View Post
    Question, would a 1TB HDD be faster or slower than my WDC 250GB?
    should be the same

  5. #65
    to F@H or not to F@H ? Cmptr-Gy-Dv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    4,640
    wait I need 64bit vista, so I guess i'm buying a new one after all

  6. #66
    I Void Warranties KarmaKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Springfield
    Posts
    13,490
    Blog Entries
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Cmptr-Gy-Dv View Post
    so this is what it will be,

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820148070

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131196

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115018

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835150082

    I don't need the rest right now, I will use this case and PSU I think it's a 500 watt
    but once I get vista installed I'll unplug the DVD and spare sata drives,

    than in a couple weeks I will pick up the rest of the system, this way I can install vista ultimate and call MS and see if they will activate it on the new board,

    it's OEM but they have done it, that way I can buy a copy of home premium to load back on this board, and keep my ultimate,
    Looks like a solid build to me. So you like the tracers huh?
    Odd choice for a HSF, but if it works, who cares..eh?

    Promise me one thing though: When you get everything hooked up, you'll bench it in Xp. I wanna see what the bench scores run in XP vs Vista. Just for my sake. I don't run Vista, so I'm curious to actually see the performance hit you take...
    Q6600@4Ghz | i7 920@4.4Ghz |E6320@3.5Ghz
    FAQ's ~ Team Stats
    My PC

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  7. #67
    to F@H or not to F@H ? Cmptr-Gy-Dv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    4,640
    Quote Originally Posted by KarmaKiller View Post
    Looks like a solid build to me. So you like the tracers huh?
    Odd choice for a HSF, but if it works, who cares..eh?

    Promise me one thing though: When you get everything hooked up, you'll bench it in Xp. I wanna see what the bench scores run in XP vs Vista. Just for my sake. I don't run Vista, so I'm curious to actually see the performance hit you take...

    I'm like a fish I see something shiny I go after it,

    whats HSF?

    so you want me to benchmark vista not XP? i'll do that maybe benchmark it before and after I install SP1 i'd like to see if SP1 did anything I should care about

  8. #68
    I Void Warranties KarmaKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Springfield
    Posts
    13,490
    Blog Entries
    5
    HSF = Heatsink Fan

    so you want me to benchmark vista not XP? i'll do that maybe benchmark it before and after I install SP1 i'd like to see if SP1 did anything I should care about
    Don't hold your breath...
    Q6600@4Ghz | i7 920@4.4Ghz |E6320@3.5Ghz
    FAQ's ~ Team Stats
    My PC

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  9. #69
    to F@H or not to F@H ? Cmptr-Gy-Dv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    4,640
    OK it's been paid and it's got a bus ticket,

    it will be here Thursday,

    and if I have no problems it will be running Thursday


    and I have $77 left in the bank

    thank God I have a Job

  10. #70
    I Void Warranties KarmaKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Springfield
    Posts
    13,490
    Blog Entries
    5


    $77.. You should buy yourself a nice dinner. Reward yourself for all the studying you've been doing lately...
    Q6600@4Ghz | i7 920@4.4Ghz |E6320@3.5Ghz
    FAQ's ~ Team Stats
    My PC

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  11. #71
    to F@H or not to F@H ? Cmptr-Gy-Dv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    4,640
    whats wrong with that HSF it got great reviews, even had a couple running the Q6600 overclocked they said it worked great, I liked it because they also said it's not that wide more tall, so I didn't have to worry about it taking up more room then I have, I seen a lot of them that said the HSF's got in the way of the ram, my stock one in here touches the ram, I have an AMD X2 6000 although the memory slots on that asus board looks like it's a lot farther away then this board,

  12. #72
    I Void Warranties KarmaKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Springfield
    Posts
    13,490
    Blog Entries
    5
    I didn't say anything was wrong with it. I just said it was a odd choice. Most people opt for a Zalman, or something to the like.
    That's all I was saying. If it works, who cares what it looks like, right??
    Q6600@4Ghz | i7 920@4.4Ghz |E6320@3.5Ghz
    FAQ's ~ Team Stats
    My PC

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  13. #73
    to F@H or not to F@H ? Cmptr-Gy-Dv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    4,640
    Quote Originally Posted by KarmaKiller View Post
    I didn't say anything was wrong with it. I just said it was a odd choice. Most people opt for a Zalman, or something to the like.
    That's all I was saying. If it works, who cares what it looks like, right??

    it will never be seen, no windows, although with that shiny ram I might go with a window

    boy I'll tell ya something some people in this world just scare me, this is one of the bad reviews on newegg for that HSF, I don't get how somebody buys something don't look at what it is, and then blames the product because he's to lazy or not smart enough to take his MB out,

    this is why a lot of them reviews are useless



    Cons: I got this 2 days after I finish building my computer and learned that to install it I would have to remove my motherboard. I am going to RMA this because I really don't want to spend 3+ hours taking my motherboard out and reinstalling it, at least not while the generic heat sink that came with my CPU is doing a good job


    cry me a river

  14. #74
    Ultimate Member Prince Lalijama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cant tell you
    Posts
    2,300
    What cases are you looking at, or are you just upgrading?

    LOL! If its doing a good job, you don't need a aftermarket cooler, and second, it doesn't take 3hrs to take our your motherboard, even if a semi noob like me did it, I could do it in under 1hr 30mins and thats an overestimate.

    You'd just have to take out the screws, and attach it, put it back.
    I'm PL, I've come to suck all the intelligence out of this thread.

  15. #75
    Ultimate Member 2monsters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    2,504
    Boy you are gonna love that quad! I havnt had any problems with my board. I will suggest you go with an artic cooling freezer pro 7, the thing kicks ass,right now my temps are MB=25c CPU= 28c the cores themselves are like at 31,32,31,33c thats all stock temps. I have played around with ocing a little bit, but this cpu is to fresh ,it fast as hell at stock speeds. I picked up that AC7pro at egg for like 22.00 free shipping! Anyways have fun and enjoy

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  16. #76
    I Void Warranties KarmaKiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Springfield
    Posts
    13,490
    Blog Entries
    5
    I thought about recommending that, after all, it's what I use also. But I think he already hit the buy button..
    As far as windows go, just get whatever case you want, and put the window in yourself. I just go done doing that myself today. It cost a total of $8 for material, and took about 30mins to do.
    Plus you get to make the window the size you want, not some 8"x8" window. I think those look cheesy.
    I posted pics in the gallery, check them out...

    And if it takes 3 hours to install a HSF, you don't need to be building your own system...
    Q6600@4Ghz | i7 920@4.4Ghz |E6320@3.5Ghz
    FAQ's ~ Team Stats
    My PC

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  17. #77
    to F@H or not to F@H ? Cmptr-Gy-Dv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    4,640
    I have this one, but I will be buying another one for the new build, (same case)

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811147033


    I love this case, screw-less drives, the hard drives go in sideways, comes with 2 fans front and back, front fan is filtered, so you just pop the face of and clean the filter,
    keeps everything on the inside nice and clean, no dust, at least not as much as normal,

    and most of all I like the USB ports being on the top, I have the case on the floor and I always worry about kicking any jump drives and braking them, plus I don't have to bend over to put one in or take one out, I do some stuff on server 2008 so I have been playing around with answer files, one day I had a jump drive in the back of another case and forgot about it, I went to reinstall vista and deleted everything on the computer

    backup drives and all, because I had a jump drive with an answer file on it, I put the vista disk in and left for awhile thinking it would be asking me for the key when I got back, but when I did get back it was sitting on the desk top,

    and I'm thinking how the hell did it do that, looked and all my backup stuff was gone, the partitions were gone, then I remembered that I left that jump drive in the USB port on the back of the box with an answer file on it, so it did what the file said to do erase all and install,

    now I can see any jump drives right in front of my nose,

  18. #78
    to F@H or not to F@H ? Cmptr-Gy-Dv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    4,640
    Quote Originally Posted by KarmaKiller View Post
    I thought about recommending that, after all, it's what I use also. But I think he already hit the buy button..
    As far as windows go, just get whatever case you want, and put the window in yourself. I just go done doing that myself today. It cost a total of $8 for material, and took about 30mins to do.
    Plus you get to make the window the size you want, not some 8"x8" window. I think those look cheesy.
    I posted pics in the gallery, check them out...

    And if it takes 3 hours to install a HSF, you don't need to be building your own system...

    Step 3: Your credit/debit card has been successfully charged. Please note that you may no longer make changes to your order.

    to late

  19. #79
    Ultimate Member Prince Lalijama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cant tell you
    Posts
    2,300
    Whats so good about tool free? Personally, I'd rather have drives I screw in than install with tool less.

    Also, can you remove the push pin LGA775 heatsinks? I don't know if I'll get an aftermarket, you guys think I should?
    Last edited by Prince Lalijama; February 10th, 2008 at 10:34 PM.
    I'm PL, I've come to suck all the intelligence out of this thread.

  20. #80
    to F@H or not to F@H ? Cmptr-Gy-Dv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    4,640
    Quote Originally Posted by Prince Lalijama View Post
    Whats so good about tool free? Personally, I'd rather have drives I screw in than install with tool less.

    Also, can you remove the push pin LGA775 heatsinks? I don't know if I'll get an aftermarket, you guys think I should?

    I seem to be changing drives a lot, loading different OS's on them,

    so it's a lot easier with screw-less and there just as tight as having screws in the drive, they will not move at all,

    don't know about the LGA775 pins I never had one before, I'm a virgin

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Help on Motherboards!
    By ltkenbo in forum Motherboards
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 20th, 2005, 03:51 AM
  2. Motherboards and RAM
    By Minimum in forum Motherboards
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: July 15th, 2005, 10:34 AM
  3. how do you buy motherboards?
    By ceco in forum Motherboards
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: November 5th, 2004, 11:10 AM
  4. a ? about motherboards
    By wv87minitruckr in forum Motherboards
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 26th, 2004, 12:05 AM
  5. amd motherboards
    By c44151 in forum Motherboards
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: August 20th, 2003, 07:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc