+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    67

    help! phenom II upgrade with am2+ mobo

    http://ph.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=... mobo m2n68-am
    im using this mobo m2n68-am im planning to upgrade to phenom II 720 BE i read at the asus site that my mobo supports am3 processors, all i need is a simple bios update, will my mobo suffice w/ this new procie? im using this pc for gaming will it be a big UP in the performance? my pc's specs are at my sig.. thanks techimo

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member cksboy15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio, Unit
    Posts
    1,426
    yes you will see a performance increase. and your mobo will suffice. I have an m3a78-em in my now spare computer and I updated the bios so I could run my 720 (even though I only ran it for about 2 weeks). It was humongus increase over the 8650 I had on it.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    45
    If your upgrading MB you should get an am3 MB with ddr3 ram it does not make since to upgrade to another am2+ board. Also why would you get the phenom II 720 be x3 2.8 Ghz when you have a phenom II 955 x4 3.2ghz that is a downgrade.

    i would upgrade to this.

    ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard 139$
    Newegg.com - ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

    and

    OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model OCZ3P16004GK 75$

    Newegg.com - OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model OCZ3P16004GK - Desktop Memory

    This would probably be better than a new processor and another am2+ board its more future proof using ddr3
    Last edited by bobreaze; July 22nd, 2009 at 10:43 AM.

  4. #4
    bammy pullmyfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,383
    Bobreaze, he doesnt want to get a new motherboard... he wants to upgrade he CPU on the mobo he already has... and the 955 X4 is more more expensive. of course its faster than the 720.

    JP the 720 BE is an excellent CPU. You will see substantial gains compared to any older non Phenom II AMD CPU . And yes your motherboard should work fine with it.

    edit: I see what Bobreaze meant about the 955 now. Its in your sig. Are you using that CPU currently? If not it would indeed be a step down to a PII 720 X3
    Last edited by pullmyfoot; July 22nd, 2009 at 12:20 PM.


  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    45
    yeh i had to do some research and rereading on his post.in his sig he has a phenom II 955 cpu listed and a biostar MB. Sounds like he wants a new MB i think he should clarify what he needs before we can further help him.

  6. #6
    OAP Theophylact's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    inside the Beltway
    Posts
    11,828
    Blog Entries
    69
    That CPU will work with that motherboard. The only limitation will be that dual channel memory is supported for only one pair of DDR2 SIMMs.
    Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored. -- Aldous Huxley

  7. #7
    PC Upgrade Procrastinator ShyguyXPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    18,246
    Quote Originally Posted by pullmyfoot View Post
    Bobreaze, he doesnt want to get a new motherboard... he wants to upgrade he CPU on the mobo he already has... and the 955 X4 is more more expensive. of course its faster than the 720.

    JP the 720 BE is an excellent CPU. You will see substantial gains compared to any older non Phenom II AMD CPU . And yes your motherboard should work fine with it.

    edit: I see what Bobreaze meant about the 955 now. Its in your sig. Are you using that CPU currently? If not it would indeed be a step down to a PII 720 X3
    Looks like he is: Phenom II x4 955 problem on my mobo

    would be nice to clarify what it is their asking, whether in fact they are thinking that this upgrade to a PhenomII Triple core and lower end motherboard is an upgrade or what?

    the PhenomII Quad they have is an AM3 CPU, so don't know what it is they're thinking or asking really.

    and the 790GX board they have should be better than that Geforce 7025 board they linked to above in this thread.
    i7 940//Corsair H60//EVGA X58 SLI LE//6GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz//2x EVGA GTX 560 Ti FPB SLI//NZXT Hale82 850W//CM 690 II Advanced//Win7 64//WD 74GB V-raptor, 750GB Black, 1.5TB Green

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is the color of the sky?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Mobo for Phenom 9500
    By Cursed in forum Motherboards
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 15th, 2008, 02:17 PM
  2. Best mobo for Phenom 9950
    By DeadAim in forum Motherboards
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: July 24th, 2008, 10:27 PM
  3. Advice on AM2 Mobo
    By Ryan220587 in forum Motherboards
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: April 22nd, 2007, 07:26 PM
  4. AM2 mobo that has agp?
    By pullmyfoot in forum Motherboards
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: September 5th, 2006, 10:37 AM
  5. Upgrade advice: 939 or AM2?
    By aj654987 in forum Motherboards
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: August 18th, 2006, 04:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc