+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Senior Member ZENYO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Coquitlam BC
    Posts
    889

    Can't get my headphones to work.

    Just like the title. I can't get my headphones to work. It's not muted in the volume control and the volume on the cd-rom is turned up. I'm lost, and it's dark, I'm sure I'm missing something very simple. Someone please show me the light.

    Sound Card is a Creative Sound Blaster 16. and labtec 2 deskspeakers with subwoofer.

    thanks
    Eat, drink and be merry...

  2. #2
    The Mad Redhatter storm2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    3,552
    wow, that's an old sound card. the digital audio cable (or analog, dunno if an old sb16 could even do digital) might not be plugged in between the soundcard and the cdrom... if so you probably won't get any sound...

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    on the street next to the 7eleven
    Posts
    75
    Do you have a program from Creative that lets you change Digital Output? I have Creative Sound Blaster Live!, and a folder called Audio HQ where there is a program called "Speaker" There I can change the Digital Output 'on' or 'off' for headphones you need it to be 'off'. On my comp at least. Hope I helped

  4. #4
    Member snaggle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    487
    Hey ZENYO,
    Have you unpluged the speaker and put the head phones insted? or have you put the head phones in another socket beside the speakers socket?

    ___/Snaggle\____
    ___/Snaggle\___;)

  5. #5
    Senior Member ZENYO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Coquitlam BC
    Posts
    889
    Hey Storm, It's an ensonic or something like that. It's not that old, maybe a year old, that's when the computer was purchased. I didn't order it so I'm not to sure (My Work Puter). But it's apperantly a newer (Low End) card. THe cable is plugged in, I get great sound ou of my speakers just not my headphones.

    Hey Br0t, I didn't install Audio HQ.
    Eat, drink and be merry...

  6. #6
    Senior Member ZENYO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Coquitlam BC
    Posts
    889
    Hey Snaggle, I put the headphones in in the pug on the cdrom.
    Eat, drink and be merry...

  7. #7
    Member snaggle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    487
    Were you playing any audio cd's at the time?

    ___/Snaggle\___
    ___/Snaggle\___;)

  8. #8
    Senior Member ZENYO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Coquitlam BC
    Posts
    889
    lmao! Yes I was.

    I unplugged the speakers from the sound card and plugged my headphones in and they worked. But then I put the headphones into the cdrom, even with the speakers unplugged, and it still nothing.
    Eat, drink and be merry...

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member eweruk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,238
    The audio cable from the CD to the sound card is not installed.

  10. #10
    Member snaggle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    487
    All I can say is that the only thing that would play through the Cd-Rom Drive socket is Audio CD's, Mp3 and other sounds that come out of the sound card are Data and cannot be played through the Cd-Rom socket.
    Audio CD's can be played through the sound card because there is a straight connection to the sound card from the CD-Rom Drive.
    Hope that helps!

    If not I'd think that the Cd-Rom socket dosen't work for some reson, may be it dameged or somthing!

    ___/Snaggle\___
    ___/Snaggle\___;)

  11. #11
    Senior Member ZENYO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Coquitlam BC
    Posts
    889
    Hi eweruk, If the cable from the cd to the sound card was not installed, I wouldn't be getting sound out of the speakers either . Correct?

    Maybe it the cdrom socket is damadged. I'll fiddle with it more. Thanks

    edit: One of these days I'll learn how to type.
    Last edited by ZENYO; April 12th, 2002 at 05:46 PM.
    Eat, drink and be merry...

  12. #12
    Ultimate Member eweruk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,238
    Opps, missed that part. So you can hear through the speakers when the CD is playing and from the computer. The headphones work through the sound card for computer generated sounds but not CD-ROM. The jack on the CD-ROM is flaky, wiggle it with the headphones plugged in.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    on the street next to the 7eleven
    Posts
    75
    ZENYO, go ahead and install Audio HQ from the Creatve CD-ROM, it will work after you install and then do what i said earlier. (i hope )

  14. #14
    Ultimate Member willy_ph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Trent University
    Posts
    2,414
    I don't think that it's a problem with your headphones. It's more likely that there is something wrong with the headphone jack in your speaker set. If you can find another set of speakers with a headphone jack, try them and see if your headphones work then. If they do, then it's pretty damn likely that there's something wrong with your speakers.
    The difficulty is to try and teach the multitude that something can be true and untrue at the same time. -- Arthur Schopenhauer

  15. #15
    Ultimate Member willy_ph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Trent University
    Posts
    2,414
    br0t, if the speakers were playing music, then there's nothing wrong with the soundcard and AudioHQ doesn't need to be installed.

    Besides, you can select and deselect the digital output option without using AudioHQ. If you ask me, AudioHQ is just more bloatware that isn't needed.
    The difficulty is to try and teach the multitude that something can be true and untrue at the same time. -- Arthur Schopenhauer

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1

    Need a second (or perhaps first) audio cable

    Just go to a computer store and ask for an audio cable to go from your mother board to your cd-rom drive. Should be under 10 bucks. Then, unless you're feeling adventurous, get out your motherboard manual and locate where you can plug your audio cable in (often more than one place located next to each other). Finding the spot to plug the audio cable in on your cd-rom shouldn't be hard. Voila.

  17. #17
    Thaumaturge Member howste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    West Haven, Utah
    Posts
    35,675
    Welcome to TechIMO, Climberstevie.

    I'm confident that in the 10 years since he posted he's solved the problem, or more likely had several new computers...

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc