+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Mobile Member ShuckyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    S. Central PA
    Posts
    3,641

    conductive glue.. is there such a thing?

    I have a nice punch subwoofer that a friend gave me to fix and the problem was that the wires are so short running from the headers where it connects to the box/amp and then to the cone that when it gets used they ripped off. Unfortunately its a rather expensive sub and I fixed the other wires and made them longer. There is one wire to go and the problem is that instead of tearing the wire somewhere else it tore right near the poly cone so I have about a quarter inch of wire coming out of the cone for me to solder a wire on, which I cant do. To little for the solder to stick and way to close for comfort on the cone.

    My next idea below sounds like a longshot but may work, I would much rather find some sort of conductive glue that I can use to glue the wire I need to the little wire still there and call it a day, I dont know of such a thing, what keeps coming to my mind if JB Weld but I'm almost positive they dont make a metallic or conductive version of it. What I thought I could do is get 3 pins and poke them through the wire (so they are conductive) w/o penetrating the cone inside (i have about 1/3 of an inch of play) and make a sorta tee-pee style fanout and glue them that way and then I will have more of a base to solder on... hmmm? risque to say the least

    Really the best thing I can think of is a conductive glue/cement to take the wire I have and adhere it to the other wire and I'll have a bond... Anything like that exist
    Mobile: Thinkpad T61 | WinXP Pro | C2D T8300 CPU | 3GB DDR2 | 320GB Hybrid SSD HDD | AGN & WWAN
    Desktop: Dell XPS 8300 | 3.4 Ghz Intel i7 | 8GB DDR3 | 1TB OS, 1.5TB Mirrored DATA

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member EXreaction's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    15,223
    Blog Entries
    1
    Conductive glue = solder.

    If you take the stranded ends on both and mesh/twist them together a bit so that they hold you can just put any kind of glue on the outside.
    "The problem with quotations on the internet is that the sources are hard to verify" - Abraham Lincoln

  3. #3
    Mobile Member ShuckyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    S. Central PA
    Posts
    3,641
    yea but it infiltrates and I cant mesh them enough, I need something cold process

    I found this link to some sort of paste/glue this guy made, I'm gonna break open a few chemistry kits I have at home tonight to see if I can find graphite powder, if I can then all i need to do is go to Wal-mart and pick up some of that "liquid tape" stuff...

    Make Conductive Glue and Glue a Circuit: Materials for the Conductive Glue and Circuit - Instructables - DIY, How To, tech, art


    Whatcha think?
    Mobile: Thinkpad T61 | WinXP Pro | C2D T8300 CPU | 3GB DDR2 | 320GB Hybrid SSD HDD | AGN & WWAN
    Desktop: Dell XPS 8300 | 3.4 Ghz Intel i7 | 8GB DDR3 | 1TB OS, 1.5TB Mirrored DATA

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member EXreaction's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    15,223
    Blog Entries
    1
    Graphite powder isn't too hard to find in stores either.

    I don't think that stuff would work too well, but I guess you could try it.
    "The problem with quotations on the internet is that the sources are hard to verify" - Abraham Lincoln

  5. #5
    Mobile Member ShuckyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    S. Central PA
    Posts
    3,641
    ehh... any other suggestions? Anyone know of a good conductive glue for this purpose?
    Mobile: Thinkpad T61 | WinXP Pro | C2D T8300 CPU | 3GB DDR2 | 320GB Hybrid SSD HDD | AGN & WWAN
    Desktop: Dell XPS 8300 | 3.4 Ghz Intel i7 | 8GB DDR3 | 1TB OS, 1.5TB Mirrored DATA

  6. #6
    OAP Theophylact's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    inside the Beltway
    Posts
    12,340
    Blog Entries
    69
    The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds; and the pessimist fears this is true. -- James Branch Cabell

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member osprey4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    11,365
    Graphite is not conductive by itself.

  8. #8
    OAP Theophylact's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    inside the Beltway
    Posts
    12,340
    Blog Entries
    69
    Quote Originally Posted by osprey4 View Post
    Graphite is not conductive by itself.
    Yes, it is. That's why the old pencil trick works for overclocking.
    The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds; and the pessimist fears this is true. -- James Branch Cabell

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. glue
    By rubyred in forum IMO Community
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 10th, 2007, 08:32 PM
  2. Conductive Epoxy?
    By Urban_Squrill in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 18th, 2003, 01:03 AM
  3. Conductive pen/paint
    By Petros in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 24th, 2003, 05:15 PM
  4. Where to find conductive pens
    By Pete04 in forum Processors, Memory, and Overclocking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 18th, 2001, 06:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc