+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    just passin thru Sweeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    SW, OHIO
    Posts
    5,850

    Question Cat5 to wireless adapters?

    Is there anything that I can use to convert my sons PC from running on a Cat5 cable to wireless using a Linksys Non Wireless router? Like an adapter for the back of the Router and maybe a wireless PCI card? The Long Cat5 cable is annoying because it has to go from the living room to the back side of the house.... I don't know much if anything about the Wireless Technology. I also don't want to buy a new router either. May have enough to buy the adapter if there is something to that nature.

    Thanks,
    Sweeper

  2. #2
    Human voltmeter DanU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    4,214
    If you want to keep your existing router you can buy a wireless access point. It plugs into your router and extends the network into the wireless domain.

    On the PC you have a few options. You can add a wireless PCI card, or you can use a USB to wireless adapter, or a ethernet to wireless bridge (plugs into the exsiting ethernet port). The ethernet to wireless bridge may be the most expensive, but you can use it on game consoles like the XBOX, so it's good for that.

  3. #3
    just passin thru Sweeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    SW, OHIO
    Posts
    5,850
    Ok, if I wanted to go the Wireless access point and the wireless PCI card... How would I set it up? Also, where do I get this "WIRELESS ACCESS POINT"?

  4. #4
    Goverment property now GroundZero3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    NOVA
    Posts
    34,987
    Blog Entries
    64
    access points are usually more expenisive than buying a wireless router.

    You can just buy two wireless cards and run them in AD HoC mode but you have no real control over the wireless.

  5. #5
    just passin thru Sweeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    SW, OHIO
    Posts
    5,850
    uuuggghhh... guess I'll run some cat5 .... really can't afford a new router and wireless PCI cards.....

  6. #6
    Did you try Google yet? Siliconjunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Buckhannon, WV
    Posts
    3,468
    Or buy a wireless router and just use the wireless side. Thats what I have and it works fine. Just have to change the IP.
    My computer is bigger than yours!

  7. #7
    Super F@D Folder
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    5,093
    sweeper....for the price, i'd agree with everyone on getting a wireless router to replace your wired one. Then when you have to do some work and someone needs a wired router, you have one to sell them for 30 bucks....lol. For the price...wireless is the way to go these days just make sure it's wireless g so that you can use wpa encryption .

  8. #8
    just passin thru Sweeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    SW, OHIO
    Posts
    5,850
    Quote Originally Posted by sr71000
    sweeper....for the price, i'd agree with everyone on getting a wireless router to replace your wired one. Then when you have to do some work and someone needs a wired router, you have one to sell them for 30 bucks....lol. For the price...wireless is the way to go these days just make sure it's wireless g so that you can use wpa encryption .
    That's 1x wireless router and 3x wireless PCI cards..... I can't afford that. Two PC's are back to back and the cat5 runs through the wall but the third is on the other side of the house. I can run CAT5 but it will be a long run and time consuming. But I can't afford a router and 3 wireless PCI cards.

  9. #9
    The FNG rrcn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    5,611
    Why not keep the ones close to the router wired and the one that is far, place it on wireless? So you'd only need a wireless router and one wireless PCI card.

    Wireless routers have wired capabilities.

  10. #10
    just passin thru Sweeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    SW, OHIO
    Posts
    5,850
    So wireless routers are able to use cat5 cable and be wireless at the same time?

    ... if I would have known that I would have bought a wireless Linksys when my other one died about 3 months ago.... The one I have now is just barely 3 months old.

    'stupid stupid stupid'!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. #11
    The FNG rrcn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    5,611
    So wireless routers are able to use cat5 cable and be wireless at the same time?
    Yes. That's how my network is setup. Since the router is here in my room, my computer is hooked up using an ethernet cable. And the two other systems in the other room are wirelessly connected.

    Where did you get your router from? Maybe you can still return it...

  12. #12
    Goverment property now GroundZero3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    NOVA
    Posts
    34,987
    Blog Entries
    64
    yup most home wireless routers have a 4 port switch built inside of them just like the old linksys routers

    http://www.salescircular.com/oh/computer/wrlsnp.shtml

    Maybe this could help?

  13. #13
    just passin thru Sweeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    SW, OHIO
    Posts
    5,850
    Well, i just ordered 100ft of Cat5E Network Cable from NewEgg. The room is about 45+ feet from the router so I got extra just in case. Will run it when the cable comes in. It only cost $15.00. Much cheaper and just don't have the cash for a new router or wireless PCI cards... I didn't think it was going to be that expensive. I'll spend a Saturday wiring his room. I'll tuck it under the carpet along the wall. I think I can do it with out anyone noticing it.

    Thanks for all your help.....

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1
    LOL, you guys should really move to Wireless N

    hahahaha, just kidding, I know this is 6 years old..........

    I do have a question though, anyone know if you can take an old router, and bridge it to the new router, and plug it into an Ethernet port? So you can use an old router as a Ethernet WIFI?

  15. #15
    Goverment property now GroundZero3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    NOVA
    Posts
    34,987
    Blog Entries
    64
    Depends on the router and the firmware

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is 10 and 5 added together?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Driver Adapters
    By esurinak in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 18th, 2004, 12:42 AM
  2. Slotket adapters
    By dunbar in forum Processors, Memory, and Overclocking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 20th, 2004, 01:46 PM
  3. *****FS: 7 x D-Link DWL-120 WIRELESS USB NETWORK ADAPTERS*****
    By mtx in forum Traders Forum: Buy, Sell, Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 25th, 2003, 04:53 PM
  4. adapters
    By CubKid in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 15th, 2003, 12:07 AM
  5. About Laptop AC adapters...
    By AuraEdge in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: April 10th, 2003, 12:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc