+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    13

    Internet through mains socket??

    Ive heard that you can put the internet/broadband through a main socket straight to your PC. How could this possibly work!? I really need this IF it does exist. Has anyone got it? Is it still as fast as usual? Are there any problems?

  2. #2
    Goverment property now GroundZero3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    NOVA
    Posts
    34,902
    Blog Entries
    60
    You need a network card

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member elroy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    3,774
    Quote Originally Posted by meharry
    Ive heard that you can put the internet/broadband through a main socket straight to your PC.
    What does this mean? "main socket" ?
    Do you mean without a dsl or cable modem ?
    “Those who desire to give up freedom in order to gain security will not have, nor do they deserve, either one.”
    Benjamin Franklin

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    13
    *mains* sorry

  5. #5
    Senior Member buckaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    989
    Through the mains? How on earth thats supposed to work i don't know. Seems impossible to me, its supposed to carry electricity at high currents/voltages, not internet signals....

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    13
    It goes through the earth cable

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member _Switch_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Halifax
    Posts
    1,213
    http://www.techimo.com/articles/index.pl?photo=257

    basically you put an ethernet from your modem to this.....plug into a wall scoket......plug another one into a wall socket......put ethernet from it to your computer.....if i understand correctly

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member elroy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    3,774
    Oh, do you mean run internet over your electrical wiring?
    I also read that this is being experimented with over entire power grids. Allowing an ISP to deliver service to an entire town over the power grid.

    Read here
    http://reviews-zdnet.com.com/4520-7298_16-4207996.html
    http://computer.howstuffworks.com/power-network1.htm
    http://www.shopping.com/xPF-Netgear_20740790
    Last edited by elroy; May 7th, 2006 at 09:59 AM.
    “Those who desire to give up freedom in order to gain security will not have, nor do they deserve, either one.”
    Benjamin Franklin

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    13
    thanks!

  10. #10
    Senior Member buckaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    989
    Ahh, but its not actually the internet then?

    Still pretty cool, if you don't want the wires and don't mind the massive cost that is, but hey, im not going to complain .

  11. #11
    Human voltmeter DanU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    4,214
    It can be internet data. There's a technology called Broadband over Powerline (BPL):
    http://computer.howstuffworks.com/bpl.htm

  12. #12
    Member drjekel_mrhyde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    338
    Quote Originally Posted by meharry
    Ive heard that you can put the internet/broadband through a main socket straight to your PC. How could this possibly work!? I really need this IF it does exist. Has anyone got it? Is it still as fast as usual? Are there any problems?
    You mean BPL its has its quirks people with HAM's hate it

  13. #13
    Senior Member buckaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    989
    Thats a pretty cool idea, hate to think what the price could end up being through...

    Oh well, should help the world out by giving even more people access to the internet.

    Edit: oh wow, seems that AC voltages are used...i was wondering whether the USA has a 2pin socket...this tech works in the UK and USA apparently, in tests so far anyway.
    Last edited by buckaro; May 8th, 2006 at 04:11 PM.

  14. #14
    Senior Member bfcx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    557
    Interesting discussion since i just saw this:
    http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=31522

    How would it be more expencive? you can buy the little converters for your house for 10 bux or less, you can route any traffic over it (Same as cat5). If you dont want to run wires it's a perfect solution.

  15. #15
    Senior Member buckaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    989
    Quote Originally Posted by bfcx
    Interesting discussion since i just saw this:
    http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=31522

    How would it be more expencive? you can buy the little converters for your house for 10 bux or less, you can route any traffic over it (Same as cat5). If you dont want to run wires it's a perfect solution.
    Well it is more than $10, more like over $100. However, this isn't what im saying, im saying i reckon that ISP's will make this internet over powerlines expensive because its a new tech once it arrives fully, and at the strat they will probably use a skimming strategy before any other ISP's use the technology to give people internet access over the power lines. That and also im not sure how easy it would be to steal internet access from these lines....i don't know but you could get internet access anywhere with this tech basically, which could equal high prices.

  16. #16
    Senior Member bfcx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    557
    Powerline Ethernet Adapter F5D4070
    The Powerline Ethernet Adapter links your Ethernet-equipped computers and devices over your existing, standard 110-volt electrical wiring - eliminating the need for you to run cabling between them. http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatSecti...tion_Id=201539

    $60 bux, but there was a deal on buy.com a while ago where they were $10 AR, friend picked up like 5 of em and uses them at his apartment.

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    13
    Thanks gang im getting 1 now!

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Temp Readings Socket 939 vs Socket A
    By ragtop in forum Processors, Memory, and Overclocking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 18th, 2005, 10:49 AM
  2. Socket A Heatsink on a Socket 7 CPU
    By Messiah89 in forum Processors, Memory, and Overclocking
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: April 10th, 2004, 01:32 PM
  3. Looking to buy Socket 370 and Socket A Motherboards.
    By Cyberjunkie1 in forum Traders Forum: Buy, Sell, Trade
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: April 24th, 2003, 01:59 PM
  4. Socket 423 to Socket 478 Intel CPU Adaptor
    By lackdog in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 23rd, 2003, 04:53 PM
  5. Slot 1, Socket 7, Socket 370, This and that
    By mikey76 in forum Processors, Memory, and Overclocking
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: May 12th, 2002, 06:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc