+ Reply to Thread

Ethernet Cable not being read, LED lights not lit...

Hey guys I have a Toshiba Qosmio laptop and I was connecting to the net sometimes through a wireless connection and sometimes using an ethernet cable. I used the wireless most of the time, but when I needed a more stable connection for things like playing online games, I plugged in. I haven't needed to plug in the cable for about 2 months, so I have just been using the wireless, which i am using right now and has been working fine, and just the other day I tried plugging in via ethernet cable to try to get a little lan party going and it did not work. I had no idea what was wrong, but I tried to plug in my own ethernet cable, the one I had been using successfully for several months prior, and that was also not working anymore. Both the lan party setup and my home setup are working fine with other computers.

When I plug in an ethernet cable in the back, none of the LED light indicators are showing up (they normally would), and my computer is not detecting a cable at all. I visited Network Connections Tab, and made sure "Local Area Connection 2" is enabled, and it is. Also my friend suggested that I may have accidentally turned on an option in power settings where it disables my connection when my battery is low, but that was not the case. Also I thought that maybe there was an actual manual switch somewhere on my laptop that disables a local area connection (there is one for my wireless that I sometimes accidentally switch), but there is none. Everything seems to look ok under the "network adapters" pull-down in my device manager.

I don't know much about these things and was hoping someone could try to help me out or give me some suggestions?
    Last edited by pythagorous; July 26th, 2008 at 05:19 PM.

thanks for the reply!

- Well I have tried several different cables, including the one that used to work, and others that are currently working with other computers.