+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member flashingcurser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ThirdWorld- Montana
    Posts
    607

    Question Can I use any DNS?

    Can I use the dns from another isp?

  2. #2
    Goverment property now GroundZero3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    NOVA
    Posts
    34,840
    Blog Entries
    59
    The domain name system (DNS) is the way that Internet domain names are located and translated into Internet Protocol addresses. A domain name is a meaningful and easy-to-remember "handle" for an Internet address.

    so im not sure what your asking?

  3. #3
    Senior Member flashingcurser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ThirdWorld- Montana
    Posts
    607

    Talking

    I know what a DNS is .

    What I want to know is: can you use a name server from a different isp other than the one you are using?


    And/or resolve URL's locally?
    Last edited by flashingcurser; May 28th, 2002 at 12:15 AM.

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member cadetstimp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Oceanside CA
    Posts
    1,804

    Re: Can I use any DNS?

    Originally posted by flashingcurser
    Can I use the dns from another isp?
    Yes as long as you know what it is and your ISP allows you to reach it.

    Good ISP will cache DNS or run a proxy to increase domain name call times locally, but if your ISP has slow DNS service then looking for another is a good idea

    Try MCI world com DNS

    198.6.1.1
    198.6.1.2
    198.6.1.5
    198.6.1.6

    The best would be ATT but I don't know what they are...

  5. #5
    Not Really a Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    27,895
    Some ISP's limit who can use their DNS to require the requesting IP to be within their own domain.

    I believe you could run your own DNS to work as a DNS cache locally if you wish, however don't try setting up your own DNS entry for your own webpage that way
    Helicopters don't fly; they vibrate so much and make so much noise that the earth rejects them.

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member tobu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Aus.
    Posts
    1,460
    i believe that www.dot.tk offers a form of redirection that acts like a DNS!

    Eg: www.theburningcat.tk bounces to my IP addy.

    EDIT: It doesn't bounce to my IP, it bounces to www.theburningcat.com which then hits DNS and bounces to my IP addy! But you can make it bounce to your IP.

    Last edited by TheBurningCat; May 28th, 2002 at 06:14 AM.
    --
    www.theburningcat.com

    All Your Cats Are Belong to Us

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member otheos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Cardiff, Wales UK
    Posts
    1,378
    And if you run linux make sure you have set up dns-cacheing turned on as it speeds up things dramatically

  8. #8
    Ultimate Member tobu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Aus.
    Posts
    1,460
    Another suggestion is www.dns2go.com

    I use it for my home server. www.th3burningcat.myip.org

    Its just free DNS, just downlaod the client to your webserver, register and your off!
    --
    www.theburningcat.com

    All Your Cats Are Belong to Us

  9. #9
    addicted DVNT1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    6,103
    As cadetstimp said, yes you can use another DNS. I do the same thing because my ISP has (at least had) many DNS problems in the beginning so I did the very same thing.

    Now I use my own DNS server though.

  10. #10
    Indispensable Member surreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    31,516
    Yep I use my buddy's DNS. Because my ISP never does much of anything right for long.
    "Sometimes life is just what we make it."

  11. #11
    Senior Member flashingcurser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ThirdWorld- Montana
    Posts
    607

    Thumbs up

    Wow thanks guys. As soon as I get the iso (from a friend in another state) for slack 8.1 i'll have to give cashing the addresses a shot. To many good things to try here.

    Oh BTW: one good DNS I have used in the past is:

    204.147.80.5


    Sooo.... look like I need to set up my own DNS server lol

  12. #12
    addicted DVNT1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    6,103
    When you don't use your ISP's DNS server you may have some problems at times. If the ISP changes IP addresses for any server (like mail) you may not see the changes right away when using the remote DNS. It will just depend on how that remote DNS server is setup (like with any caching).

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc