+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2

    Can I have more than one modem in the house?

    I have very fast internet, but my computer isn't near the router and modem, so my wireless connection is bad. Could I get a modem, plug it into a coaxial outlet, and plug it into my PC?

  2. #2
    Goverment property now GroundZero3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    NOVA
    Posts
    34,948
    Blog Entries
    62
    No you cant have more than one modem plugged in. If you router is separate from your modem I suggest getting a longer cat 5 cable between the two devices so you can move the router around and get a better signal.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2
    Oh, thanks.

    Can I move my modem to any Coaxial outlet I want, or would I need to contact my ISP for that?

  4. #4
    Super Stealthy Moderator RicheemxX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    8,574
    Blog Entries
    4
    Yeah you can use any coaxial outlet with your cable modem you want. Put it somewhere near the middle of the house if need be. What router are you using, and what wireless card?
    Be a Liberal, blame everyone else!!

  5. #5
    Anime Otaku RobRich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tampa, FL USA
    Posts
    119,884
    Blog Entries
    68
    Welcome to TechIMO!

    About the WiFi.... What distance? How many floors? How many walls?

    In regards to possible interference from other nearby devices, have you tried changing the WiFi channel at the router? Channels 1, 6, or 11 are recommended. Many routers default to 6, so try the other two.
    Robert Richmond | Infinite perceptions. One reality.
    TechIMO.com Community Director

  6. #6
    Member Morph3uz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16
    You can use what they call a bouncer to move sig further out the house...will find u a link..

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is 10 and 5 added together?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. use laptop in shop 300' from cable modem router in house
    By deonnea in forum Networking and Internet
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: April 28th, 2009, 10:26 PM
  2. Replies: 15
    Last Post: March 6th, 2009, 02:04 PM
  3. House Mix For Download - DJ Miko March House Mix
    By djm1k0 in forum IMO Community
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: March 23rd, 2006, 06:21 PM
  4. Connect my two boxes via modem/phoneline in house?
    By BFlurie in forum Networking and Internet
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: August 27th, 2002, 09:47 AM
  5. modem drivers needed for Aureal AU8810 Modem/Sound combo
    By Richard Cranium in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: January 15th, 2002, 07:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc