+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    99

    Encore Wireless loses internet access

    I just got the Encore ENHWI-2AN3 (had been borrowing a Linksys wrt54g before, but had to give it back). Setup and initial performance was great. However, about once a day I will lose internet access. I look at the taskbar, and it says I'm connected to the network, but have "no internet access." This happens to all computers on the network at the same time. When I lose access, I can no longer access/ping the router interface either.

    If I go plug in to the router directly, I have internet/router access right away. My computer registers access through wireless within about 30 seconds. After doing that, it's fine for about a day.

    So is the router defective? Did I miss a setting somewhere?

    I have AT&T DSL, with the modem set to Bridged Ethernet
    The router is in PPPOE mode

    Computers on the network are a mix of XP, Win 7 x86 and x64. Some have wireless g, some have n.

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    KFNL FS2004
    Posts
    11,886
    Blog Entries
    1
    Did you try changing channels? In my experiences with WIFI it's been a crapchute. If your lucky you can have a continues uninterrupted signal providing the driver is worth a damn. Sometimes after maybe 15 hours it will just stop the connection. It's why I choose to install network cable all around the house.

    Your router settings could be of use.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    99
    Ok, I'll try changing channels and see if there is a difference.

    Here's some info, if you need other stuff let me know:

    DHCP Server enabled with "forever" lease time
    AP mode
    2.4 ghz, b+g+n
    Radio Enabled
    Broadcast SSID enabled
    WMM enabled

    There is a WLAN power save mode that was on, I've turned it off now so we'll see if that makes a difference.

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member osprey4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    11,365
    Is there any chance you could return this one and get a Linksys, since that one worked?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    99
    It was on sale, had some good reviews at Newegg. Is your answer then to stay away from Encore?

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    KFNL FS2004
    Posts
    11,886
    Blog Entries
    1
    Does WMM need to be on?

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    99
    Quote Originally Posted by Taxmancometh View Post
    Does WMM need to be on?
    I don't know tbh. It was on by default, but I can turn it off.

    However, I haven't had a problem since the 2nd (just before my initial post) so maybe turning power saving off was it?

    Or maybe i scared it off by posting?
    Last edited by [dnb]junglist; January 5th, 2011 at 08:04 PM.

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is the color of the sky?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Two Wireless Networks - Only want to use one to access internet
    By Thunderchild in forum Networking and Internet
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 5th, 2010, 06:36 PM
  2. Internet Browser loses access
    By MacAttack in forum Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: February 27th, 2008, 12:03 PM
  3. Wireless internet access for console
    By rrcn in forum Networking and Internet
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 13th, 2005, 02:48 AM
  4. Wireless Internet Access
    By highfield in forum Networking and Internet
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: April 2nd, 2003, 07:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc