+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    18

    Networking Win XP & Win 7

    Has anyone networked a computer running Windows XP SP3 to another running Windows 7 Home Edition? I have a desktop with XP on it, connected to my ATT DSL internet via ethernet cable to a wireless gateway, and my Notebook running Windows 7 connected via built-in wireless to the gateway. No problem with the Internet connections, but I tried to network the two together and I couldn’t. I ran the network wizard on XP and got it set up for connecting. It told me to run a floppy disc named ‘Netsetup’ to use on the Notebook. When I ran ‘Netsetup’ on the Notebook, it went through the process just about to the end, then told me ‘setup cannot be performed’, with something about 'Win32'. Could it be becasue the XP is 32 Bit and the Win 7 is 64 Bit? Or is it something to do with the network setup connections? I have networked computers with different O/S before, but I’m ‘brand new’ to Windows 7. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
    RJL

  2. #2
    Super Stealthy Moderator RicheemxX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    8,574
    Blog Entries
    4
    I haven't done W7 home to XP but had no issues with W7 Ultimate to XP. So long as everything is on the same workgroup and you have file sharing setup on the xp box you should be ok. This tutorial from MS might help

    Sharing files and printers with different versions of Windows - Help & How-to - Microsoft Windows
    Be a Liberal, blame everyone else!!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    18
    Thanks a bunch for the lead. I'll give the procedure a try and let you know the results. Thanks again for your prompt reply!
    RJL

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    18
    I got it! thanks to you and your link, the problem was that the Acer Notebook came with McAfee Firewall installed, which was overriding MS Firewall. MS Firewall will allow networking and sharing, but McAffe won't. I took out the McAfee, and BINGO, NETWORKED!!! Thanks so much for your help! This is the best site for techo I have ever seen!
    RJL

  5. #5
    Super Stealthy Moderator RicheemxX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    8,574
    Blog Entries
    4
    Those pesky firewalls! McAfee would allow networking you'd just have to change the setting to allow the connections. I haven't used it in awhile so I couldn't tell you what you'd have to change but it probably wouldn't be to hard. But hey glad to hear you got it working!
    Be a Liberal, blame everyone else!!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Belfast NI
    Posts
    33
    ...next up windows 7 homegroup - oh yeah

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Win Networking
    By chasf in forum Networking and Internet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 17th, 2005, 06:56 PM
  2. Networking between Win 98 & XP
    By robinmitra1 in forum Networking and Internet
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: October 30th, 2004, 09:46 AM
  3. Networking Win 2k and Win XP Pro help!!
    By zousug in forum Networking and Internet
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 25th, 2004, 05:15 PM
  4. win 98 networking
    By jiggyjg in forum Networking and Internet
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: January 8th, 2004, 01:09 AM
  5. Win 98 networking
    By phil_monk in forum Networking and Internet
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: May 7th, 2003, 10:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc