+ Reply to Thread

Computer Won't Connect to Wireless

Hello, I've never used this forum before but I'm hoping someone can help me. I recently purchased a Netgear N150 wireless router which I hooked up to the Ubee D3.0 modem I have installed from Comcast. The router is hooked up to the main computer, which runs fine, and my laptop can also connect to the network just fine. However, I have another desktop upstairs that won't connect. It is a Dell running Windows XP and I installed a Dynex Enhanced G Desktop Card. I installed the drives for it and it seems to run fine. The program picks up on the wireless signal of the router, saying it has an excellent signal, but it won't actually connect to the router. I have contacted Dynex and they say that since the card is picking up the signal, it is not a problem with the card. I also tried contacting Netgear but they have yet to respond. The computer is currently set up for a dial-up connection (it's my grandma's computer, and I'm trying to get it set up on the wireless I installed) so I don't know if that is causing interference, or if the wireless card isn't compatible with the router. I have no idea what's going on and any help would be greatly appreciated!

Welcome to TechIMO!

Dynex is Worst Buys brand name. Need I say more?

Oh alright.

Is this a USB device?
    Have you tried temporarily moving the computer next to the router, to see if it is just distance?

I'll say it again, USB works fine with everything, but wireless.

I don't know why, but I know many people never have a problem, but many do.(we get posts all the time about USB wireless, not working.)

PCI cards are cheap.
    Newegg.com - Computer Hardware, Networking, Wireless Networking, Wireless Adapters, PCI

With a PCI wireless card, problems, are almost non existent.

Taking a computer apart, is really simple for me, so there is no reason what so ever,for me to have a USB network device ever.
    Last edited by stroyal; May 23rd, 2012 at 04:03 PM.