+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Light to Counter the Dim MTAtech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Long Island, NY, USA
    Posts
    12,232

    error connecting to network

    I'm getting an interesting error after leaving an XP PC attached to the network unattended for an extended time. When coming back and trying to access a network drive, I get: "The system detected a possible attempt to compromise security."

    Logging off and logging back on cures this but I don't know how to make it not happen.
    Last edited by MTAtech; August 7th, 2003 at 08:10 AM.

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member meese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,467
    Is this a domain or workgroup?

  3. #3
    Light to Counter the Dim MTAtech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Long Island, NY, USA
    Posts
    12,232
    It's a domain.
    Conservatives: "If the facts disagree with our opinion, ignore the facts -- or at least misrepresent them."

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member meese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,467
    If this is a school domain they may have a policy enforced where if a pc is inactive for a predetermined amount of time, you get dropped. So when you try to use your pc again, it doesn't see you as being logged on anymore. Does this happen to anyone else?

  5. #5
    Light to Counter the Dim MTAtech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Long Island, NY, USA
    Posts
    12,232
    This is in my own home. I have Windows 2003 Server as the server and a few PCs and a Mac on the network. I have administrative rights.

    The PC is left on. It was able to access network drives when initially logged on. After a number of hours one can't access the shared network drives and the above error is returned. Internet is uneffected.

    This seems not to be only me having this problem:
    http://www.google.com/search?q=%22Th...&sa=N&filter=0
    Last edited by MTAtech; August 7th, 2003 at 08:21 AM.
    Conservatives: "If the facts disagree with our opinion, ignore the facts -- or at least misrepresent them."

  6. #6
    Retired mostly.
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    5,150

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member meese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,467

  8. #8
    Light to Counter the Dim MTAtech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Long Island, NY, USA
    Posts
    12,232
    messe/muno,
    I tried it tonight. So far, no problems.
    Interesting that there is no mention of this in the Microsoft knowledgebase.

    Thanks
    Last edited by MTAtech; August 7th, 2003 at 09:11 PM.
    Conservatives: "If the facts disagree with our opinion, ignore the facts -- or at least misrepresent them."

  9. #9
    Light to Counter the Dim MTAtech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Long Island, NY, USA
    Posts
    12,232
    Well, that didn't work. Problem reappeared the next morning
    Conservatives: "If the facts disagree with our opinion, ignore the facts -- or at least misrepresent them."

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1
    The problem could be due to your network having a DHCP server configured to use DNS servers outside of your network. If you have a broadband router acting as the DHCP server then make sure the DNS server(s) in the DHCP scope only contain internal ip address of your router (assuming it has the DNS proxy facility).
    If not just set up the server to do DNS and DHCP and that should fix it.
    Good Luck

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc