+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Ultimate Member ShawnD1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,823

    How can I log onto another computer?

    How can I make it so another computer in my network can log onto my main computer? They have this setup in all schools but how do they do it?

    My OS is Windows XP Home (for all computers in the network).

  2. #2
    Ultimate Member meese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,467
    If you open the Computer Management Console and right click the Computer Management Icon, you can choose to Connect to another computer. I can do this on my network, but its an Active Directory domain, not sure if you can do that in a Workgroup. But anyway is that what you want to do?

  3. #3
    Ultimate Member ShawnD1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,823
    Where is Computer Management Console?

  4. #4
    Member CraigK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Long Beach, NY
    Posts
    328
    XP has a built in Remote controlled desktop. try that. read more on it by typing in "remote" in the start menu-->help and support.
    See the lights Blinking on your Modem? Thats me Hacking you! - adapted from an IRC log.

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member meese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,467
    Where is Computer Management Console?

    Go to Control Panel in Administrative Tools.

  6. #6
    Goverment property now GroundZero3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    NOVA
    Posts
    34,955
    Blog Entries
    62
    right click on my computer, then click manage to get to the computer management console

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member ShawnD1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,823
    It isn't working. When I put the computer's IP, it asks me for a user name and password, I put the correct user name and passowrd for that other computer but it still won't let me in. The computer I'm trying to connect to does not have a firewall.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    a cold place
    Posts
    260
    another question will xp be able to conect to a win 98 through a router.

  9. #9
    Swine flu stopper Mickwish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    BrisVegas, Australia
    Posts
    11,748
    Blog Entries
    1
    Originally posted by c44151
    another question will xp be able to conect to a win 98 through a router.
    Not using remote desktop, as win9x doesn't support it.

    But you could use a remote control application, like VNC, to do it. Would need to have it loaded on both computer for it to work, though.

    The only gotcha is that the remote port for VNC (5800 or 5900 I think) will need to be open in the router for VNC to get through.

    Or you could use the java console in VNC, but it isn't very secure though.

    Cheers
    Mick

  10. #10
    Swine flu stopper Mickwish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    BrisVegas, Australia
    Posts
    11,748
    Blog Entries
    1
    Originally posted by ShawnD1
    It isn't working. When I put the computer's IP, it asks me for a user name and password, I put the correct user name and passowrd for that other computer but it still won't let me in. The computer I'm trying to connect to does not have a firewall.
    Not sure, but you might need admin rights to do this. Does your account and the account you are using to connect with both have admin rights?

    Cheers
    Mick

  11. #11
    Ultimate Member ShawnD1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,823
    Yep, both are admin. I'm working in a workgroup, not a domain.

  12. #12
    Retired mostly.
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    5,150
    When you connect to the other computer, do you specify the username and password like this ->

    <computer you're trying to connect>\<username>
    <password>

    Eg. if your computer is named 'shawnd1' and the computer you're trying to connect to is named 'shawnd2', are you putting the username+password like this ->

    shawnd2\administrator
    password

    If that doesn't function, you might have set wrong permissions. NFS can't allow something NTFS denies.

    Doesn't matter whether it's a workgroup or domain.
    -M

  13. #13
    Ultimate Member ShawnD1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,823
    I've been trying user@192.168.1.102 then it promps me for a password. The password never works. Your way doesn't even find the computer, it says no computer is found.

    Forget it, I don't even care anymore.

  14. #14
    Retired mostly.
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    5,150
    You're doing something else that you say you're doing.
    You can't type user@ip when mapping a network drive.
    What I'm describing is the authentication process, not the initial mapping process. The mapping process is done like this ->
    net use <logical drive> \\<ip address>\<share>

    And the whole command in cmd would be ->
    net use <logical drive> \\<ip address>\<share> /user:<computer connecting to>\<username>

    (it's highly unlike that you would be able to map a computer by it's name when in a workgroup)
    -M

  15. #15
    MR Meek and Mild Epidemic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    almost Virginia
    Posts
    11,555
    Blog Entries
    2
    Mick,

    I Microsoft net meeting Remote desktop share using xp Pro at home and win 98 in the office. I also use VNC. Both are good but net meeting remote desktop sharing is much faster than vnc, but vnc is easier to initially configure.

    You have to use enable net meeting to start up the remote desktop sharing.

  16. #16
    Did you try Google yet? Siliconjunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Buckhannon, WV
    Posts
    3,468
    With 2k/xp/2003 you can use user@domain instead of user\domain. In 2003 it is the preferred/proper way to do it.

    I did find something interesting.... I do have a domain which I am not sure what impact that may have on this. But, I know for sure that 2000 recognizes the user@domain.com connotation.

    When I use: net use * \\10.0.0.2\c$ /user:user@domain.com it prompts me for a password and works:
    Code:
    C:\Documents and Settings\mark>net use * \\10.0.0.2\c$ /user:administrator@siliconjunkie.net
    The password or user name is invalid for \\10.0.0.2\c$.
    
    Enter the password for 'administrator@siliconjunkie.net' to connect to '10.0.0.2':
    Drive Z: is now connected to \\10.0.0.2\c$.
    
    The command completed successfully.
    Now if I try: net use * \\10.0.0.4\c$ /user:user@host.domain.com it prompts me but fails to authenicate.
    Code:
    C:\Documents and Settings\mark>net use * \\10.0.0.4\c$ /user:administrator@jupiter.siliconjunkie.net
    The password or user name is invalid for \\10.0.0.4\c$.
    
    Enter the password for 'administrator@jupiter.siliconjunkie.net' to connect to '10.0.0.4':
    System error 1326 has occurred.
    
    Logon failure: unknown user name or bad password.
    Not sure why this happens..... and yes, the user/pass are correct.


    And remote desktop is only with XP Pro not home. Not sure why it would be harder to configure, just check a box......

    I think its an approach issue for you Epidemic. Try this:

    start|right click my computer|select properties|goto remote tab|Check the box for "allow users to remotely connect to this computer"

    Thats it. No netmeeting involved. I find it faster than VNC, you may be getting netmeeting lag.....

    If you need the remote desktop client for 98/ME/2000 you can get it here: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...DisplayLang=en
    Last edited by Siliconjunkie; August 18th, 2003 at 09:55 AM.

  17. #17
    Retired mostly.
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    5,150
    Thanks for the correction silicon
    -M

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is the color of the sky?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc