+ Reply to Thread

DIY barebook help?

I am planning on building (if possible) a laptop for college next year. I have been looking into barebooks as of today, trying to learn more and see which one would be best for me, but obviously, not having prior education and the previous post out of date(links from google etc) I wish to post my own question. I want to build a laptop with a high Ghz CPU, (unless a new one created) an i7 probably, since i hate AMD please dont even say to do with that, a huge ram capsity (at least upgradeable to 16 if not above), a SSD instead of a HDD, again of large size perferably, and a semi-good graphics card. I am not a gamer, but i am an amateur photographer so the the graphics card will be for that. This will be my laptop through my 4 years of college (building it this well to make sure it lasts unlike the store premade one). Any advice would be amazing, especially on what kind of barebooks to get, what components to buy instead of those listed above, i have no prior formal training in computers, just what i have learned from older sibling and messing around.

Super Stealthy Moderator RicheemxX's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    First off let me say, 16gbs on even a desktop is overkill for almost anyone and going to be out of reach on a latop. I'm not even sure they make 8gb sticks for a lappy yet and if they do you are looking at a stupid ridiculous cost!!

Second GPU, AFAIK most your barebones laptops don't have upgradeable GPUs, hell most laptops don't to begin with. Photography and most software you'd be using won't use a high end gpu anyways. Most rendering is cpu intensive and most the software doesn't utilize the GPU.