+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 58
  1. #1
    Ultimate Member Coolzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,112

    Amd athlon64 3200 or AMD Opteron 146

    Showdown....Which of these two are better.....

    I want to overclock, play latest games, run Photoshop, and encode DVD's

  2. #2
    Full Time WoW Addict nwo75200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    8,571
    Well, the first thing you said is you want to OC.

    Get the Opteron 146, there, done! A regular A64 cannot come even close to the OCing capabilities of one of these new Opterons. The Opterons can easily get past 2.5GHz. Their OCing average is over 500MHz, while the regular A64s maximum would be around 500MHz OC.

    An Opteron is basically a specially picked A64 core, so there are no performance differences if the two are runnning at the same clock speed. Meaning that the Opteron (so far known as a server CPU) will do just as good in gaming as the A64.

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Austin, tx
    Posts
    1,005
    good point... i see alot of voodoo that people mention about why opteron and why not opteron.... but yeah, it all comes down to the fundimental differences between the A64 and the opteron, which boils down to the model numbers. 1xx is single chip opteron, 2xx is dual, 4xx is quad, etc. that is the only difference. some may have different cache sizes and what not, but the cores function the same. the opterons just carry a reliability factor with their name and price, and so they can take a bigger beating and still keep on going with respect to the A64.

  4. #4
    I got this #43 fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    5,562
    So, get the Opteron. Better OC'ing capability

  5. #5
    Ultimate Member SpaceSquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    2,742
    Quote Originally Posted by johnnyis42
    1xx is single chip opteron, 2xx is dual, 4xx is quad, etc..
    Naw, that's for socket 940

    the socket 939 one's are what we're discussing. The singles range from the 144-154 and the duals from 165-175.

    edit/ and those numbers aren't really for telling how many cores there are. There are 8xx series s940 opterons too. And they are certainly not 8-cores
    -Space

  6. #6
    Ultimate Member HeadBand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,988
    no its not the cores with the s940 numbers....its the ammount of cpu's you can use on a single board
    Hey who turned sigs on?

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member SpaceSquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    2,742
    Quote Originally Posted by HeadBand
    no its not the cores with the s940 numbers....its the ammount of cpu's you can use on a single board
    yup

    The s939s are completely different. The opterons are actually more like FX series cpus
    -Space

  8. #8
    Senior Member buckaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    989
    Get the opteron, they kick ass for OC'ing...and are generally good anyway, for the price(about the same atm i think) its worth it for OC'ers easily

  9. #9
    Ultimate Member Coolzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,112
    i guess it is opteron all the way then!
    When is amd going to release a new socket to take the place of the 939....anyone know

  10. #10
    Banned cableuser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    732
    I heard they were to release the new M2 socket sometime this year.

  11. #11
    What? SoloCamo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Burning in Florida
    Posts
    15,233
    Blog Entries
    4
    I'm pretty sure they will release it midspring - early summer. Not 100% sure though
    Main PC: AMD FX-9590 / 16gb DDR3 2400 / AMD R9 290X @ 1100 Core & 1350mhz Mem / Win7 Pro 64bit
    Linux Boxr: AMD FX-8120/ 4gb DDR3 1866/ Nvidia GTS450/ Ubuntu 12.04
    Laptop: HP-Compaq nc8430/ Intel CoreDuo T2400 / 2gb DDR2 667/ Ati x1600 / WinXP Pro 32bit

  12. #12
    Ultimate Member Coolzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,112
    i might wait then......939's will come down or i might buy the new socket.....
    Will the operons be continued in the M2 socket??

    Which will be different in AUS... we always get stuff late....

  13. #13
    Ultimate Member SpaceSquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    2,742
    I heard 2nd quarter of 2006 for the M2 socket
    -Space

  14. #14
    Full Time WoW Addict nwo75200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    8,571
    Quote Originally Posted by SpaceSquad
    I heard 2nd quarter of 2006 for the M2 socket
    Sounds pretty good to me

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    147
    Quote Originally Posted by buckaro
    Get the opteron, they kick ass for OC'ing...and are generally good anyway, for the price(about the same atm i think) its worth it for OC'ers easily
    cheaper actually
    Core2 Duo E6600 @ 3.2ghz|Abit Fatal1ty FP-IN9|2GB Kingston DDR2667|MSI 8800GTX 768mb 610/2000|1TB total HDD|Logitech G5 & G15|Gigabyte 3D Aurora|

  16. #16
    Senior Member desiredfaith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    544
    Whats faster

    3800 64bitX2
    or a Opteron

  17. #17
    What? SoloCamo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Burning in Florida
    Posts
    15,233
    Blog Entries
    4
    depends on the opteron... and on what programs you plan on running. That's an open ended question and needs more detail, so enlighten us
    Main PC: AMD FX-9590 / 16gb DDR3 2400 / AMD R9 290X @ 1100 Core & 1350mhz Mem / Win7 Pro 64bit
    Linux Boxr: AMD FX-8120/ 4gb DDR3 1866/ Nvidia GTS450/ Ubuntu 12.04
    Laptop: HP-Compaq nc8430/ Intel CoreDuo T2400 / 2gb DDR2 667/ Ati x1600 / WinXP Pro 32bit

  18. #18
    Full Time WoW Addict nwo75200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    8,571
    Quote Originally Posted by desiredfaith
    Whats faster

    3800 64bitX2
    or a Opteron
    Well the X2 3800+ is equivalent to having 2 Venice core 3200+ A64s.... so there you have it...

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  19. #19
    What? SoloCamo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Burning in Florida
    Posts
    15,233
    Blog Entries
    4
    exactly, BUT it honestly boils down to whether or not you are going to use programs that need it, or otherwise, use enough programs at once TO need it. and how much you want to spend and overclock
    Main PC: AMD FX-9590 / 16gb DDR3 2400 / AMD R9 290X @ 1100 Core & 1350mhz Mem / Win7 Pro 64bit
    Linux Boxr: AMD FX-8120/ 4gb DDR3 1866/ Nvidia GTS450/ Ubuntu 12.04
    Laptop: HP-Compaq nc8430/ Intel CoreDuo T2400 / 2gb DDR2 667/ Ati x1600 / WinXP Pro 32bit

  20. #20
    I got this #43 fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    5,562
    Which Opteron. If it's a Dual one, then I'd get the Opteron.

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What is 10 and 5 added together?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Socket 939 AMD Opteron
    By lukesparksoff in forum Processors, Memory, and Overclocking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 28th, 2006, 01:36 AM
  2. AMD dual-core opteron
    By roosta21 in forum Processors, Memory, and Overclocking
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: April 12th, 2005, 07:03 PM
  3. AMD athlon64 Hyper transport vs hyperthreading
    By lukesparksoff in forum General Tech Discussion
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: November 1st, 2004, 07:06 PM
  4. What's a quality overclocking fan for the AMD Athlon64 3000+?
    By ZeroAce in forum Processors, Memory, and Overclocking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 17th, 2004, 05:52 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc