+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    43

    Cl4 vs. Cl5 Memory

    Well my friend currently replaced his 1GB RAM with 4GB of some other type of RAM (not sure).

    The 1GB that he took out works perfectly, he just needed more RAM, so I decided to take it from him since he isn't using it anymore. The RAM is 1GB Kingston DDR2 667mhz but it is CL5.

    I wanted to know if i could add his 1GB stick into my computer since we have almost the same RAM. My RAM specs: 1GB Kingston DDR2 533mhz but it is CL4.

    I understand that his 667mhz will downclock to my 533mhz but I'm wondering what would be the difference with CL5 vs. CL4. Would my computer see any upgrade from 1GB to 2GB RAM? (I play games occasionally)

  2. #2
    Ride 'em Cowboy Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    12,685
    More ram is generally better then fast ram....You can look in Task Manager->Performance tab and keep an eye on how much ram you're using now... If ots under 600megs...Odds are adding more won't help...It also depends on which OS you're running...Adding more ram would help you if you stared opening more programs and such...

    Pop it in and take it for a test drive.
    "Life is unpredictable, eat dessert first."

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    112
    the cl4 ram will become cl5 and the 666 will downclock to 533
    Q9400||8gb dual cannel GEIL cl7 PC3-8500 Black Dragon||9800gx2||MSI x38 Hydrogen||Jersey 550W modular PSU

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    43
    Quote Originally Posted by dark shader View Post
    the cl4 ram will become cl5 and the 666 will downclock to 533

    Ah, that was my initial thought. But my main question was: what's is the main difference between Cl4 and Cl5, if there is any.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    43
    Bump.
    The CL5 RAM that is going to be added is 667Mhz (1GB)
    and the current one in my computer at the moment is CL4 533mhz (1GB)

    Should I just stick to my 1GB 533 CL4 RAM?
    Or should I add the CL5 1GB 667 Stick and it will degrade to 533 and CL5.

    Any suggestions

  6. #6
    Reap what you sow Aaron_8015's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    4,162
    Blog Entries
    1
    2gb will show huge improvements. Ignore the speed/latency, wont make any noticeable difference (only in benchmarks....)
    I7 920 @ 4.2Ghz/6GB//GTX480 SLI/M4 64 GB + 1.5 TB + 2x 640 GB/Corsair TX950/ASUS blu-ray/ASUS P6X58D-E + X-Fi /LC PCK62

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  7. #7
    I Haz Catputer JLK03F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    5,494
    Your RAM is CL4 @ 533 and his RAM is CL5 at 667, am I reading that correctly? If that's the case, his RAM will most likely run CL4 in your system once you slow it from 667 to 533. As RAM is slowed the timings usually tighten (get lower) automatically.

    As Aaron said, you won't notice CL changes in real world apps. But you will notice running more RAM if you are using the swap file a lot.
    What computer do you have? And please don't say a white one. - Sheldon Cooper

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    43
    Quote Originally Posted by JLK03F150 View Post
    Your RAM is CL4 @ 533 and his RAM is CL5 at 667, am I reading that correctly? If that's the case, his RAM will most likely run CL4 in your system once you slow it from 667 to 533. As RAM is slowed the timings usually tighten (get lower) automatically.

    As Aaron said, you won't notice CL changes in real world apps. But you will notice running more RAM if you are using the swap file a lot.
    Yes, you are reading it correctly.
    So the RAM will downclock automatically correct? And I'm still wondering is CL4 or CL5 better? I usually go with the higher number but I have no idea.

  9. #9
    Reap what you sow Aaron_8015's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    4,162
    Blog Entries
    1
    The lower the better.
    I7 920 @ 4.2Ghz/6GB//GTX480 SLI/M4 64 GB + 1.5 TB + 2x 640 GB/Corsair TX950/ASUS blu-ray/ASUS P6X58D-E + X-Fi /LC PCK62

    TechIMO Folding@home Team #111 - Crunching for the cure!

  10. #10
    I Haz Catputer JLK03F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    5,494
    Quote Originally Posted by Aaron_8015 View Post
    The lower the better.
    Provided you're at the same speed.

    DDR2-533 at Cas 4 will bench test just about the same as DDR2-667 at Cas 5. Lower Cas at the same speed is better. I'm running my DDR2-533 RAM at 3-3-3-9, which will bench slightly better than your DDR2-533 4-4-4 RAM Kloudy.
    What computer do you have? And please don't say a white one. - Sheldon Cooper

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    43
    Quote Originally Posted by JLK03F150 View Post
    Provided you're at the same speed.

    DDR2-533 at Cas 4 will bench test just about the same as DDR2-667 at Cas 5. Lower Cas at the same speed is better. I'm running my DDR2-533 RAM at 3-3-3-9, which will bench slightly better than your DDR2-533 4-4-4 RAM Kloudy.
    Hmm, I see. One quick question, how do you determine the timings on the RAM? I'm pretty new to these terms but I'm a very quick learner. Any suggestions?

  12. #12
    I Haz Catputer JLK03F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    5,494
    CPUz is a great little app to see what your system is doing. The Memory tab tells you what the RAM is actually doing (timings and CPU:RAM Ratio) and the SPD tab tells you the RAM spec. Good stuff.

    If you are running Vista (& UAC) you will need to right click on the cpuz.exe file (after it has been installed) and choose Run as Admin for all the fields to populate.
    What computer do you have? And please don't say a white one. - Sheldon Cooper

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Memory testing shortcuts lead to ... bad memory in the market.
    By dunbar in forum Tech News Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 25th, 2009, 10:41 PM
  2. Mushkin XP2-6400 CL4 DDR2 Memory Review
    By RobRich in forum Tech News Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 19th, 2008, 03:21 PM
  3. 256MB of GDDR3 memory versus 512 MB of GDDR2 memory?
    By doug-d1 in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 25th, 2008, 03:58 PM
  4. Game pauses or hiccups! Video Memory or System Memory! Professional Help!
    By DanielMsi in forum Graphics Cards and Displays
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: October 18th, 2005, 03:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc