+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    56

    a few questions.

    Hello all,

    I am new to the concept of overclocking and don't really know much about it. I have always wanted to try it, and now that I bought a new system, I think this would be a good time to try. What is the information that you need to know to overclock? Is there a certian program that you use, or is it done with bios?

    Thanks for the help.

    P.S. if you need my specs I can post them also.

    Dragontech

  2. #2
    Senior Member The Punisher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    672
    System specs would probaly help out everyone that plans to reply to your post.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    19
    overclocking usually is done in the bios, but beware, you must have a board and a bios that is capable of being overclocked, i need more info on your board and bios

  4. #4
    Ultimate Member EvilRick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    N of Music City, USA
    Posts
    7,815
    In the words of the all knowing,

    "Just up the FSB"



    Yes, specs. would be nice.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    56
    specs are:

    1.8 Intel P4
    512M ddr RAM
    60G HD
    Standard 3d graphics card
    Windows XP

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    56
    I'm not to sure of the board type... I'm not at home so I can't check that right now.

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member EvilRick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    N of Music City, USA
    Posts
    7,815
    What is "Standard 3D graphics card" ?

    You will also need to post your mobo mfr. as stated above.

    If this is a branded system like Gateway, Dell, or along those lines. You probably won't be able to do much with it.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    56
    Oh ok, Well it is a dell.. So I guess that ends the discussion.

    Thanks everyone

  9. #9
    Senior Member The Punisher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    672
    I think that Standard 3-D graphics is probaly integrated. Yea he might not be able to do much.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    19
    yeah, they pretty much dont allow their users to overclock, then they wouldn't be able to sell a higher end system. lol!

  11. #11
    Rather Large Member Beemer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Vernon, BC, Canada
    Posts
    10,201
    FYI
    Overclocking may damage your CPU. There's a lot more to overclocking than meets the eye. You have to be able to monitor your CPU temps and case temps. Extra cooling may be required in both instances. You can overclock a little or a lot. You may not get a decernable amount of increased speed after overclocking. The best way to overclock is get more RAM. It's cheap and safe.

    Cheers!

  12. #12
    Rather Large Member Beemer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Vernon, BC, Canada
    Posts
    10,201
    Overclocking would void your warrantee with Dell.

    Cheers!

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    19
    VERY TRUE, BEEMER, I WAS IN TO OVERCLOCKING AND STILL AM TO A POINT, AFTER I BURNED (3) CPU'S I STOPPED AND LEARNED MORE ABOUT IT, NOT TO BE DONE BY INEXPERIENCED USER!

Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above.

What planet do we live on?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc