home hardware prices news articles forums photos user reviews
Go Back   Tech Support Forums - TechIMO.com > PC Hardware and Tech > Security and Privacy Issues
Ask a Tech Support Question (free)!

Security Focus just sent me a virus

Reply
Get bargains at  »  Dealighted.com
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Currently Active Users: 1289
Discussions: 204,480, Posts: 2,419,041, Members: 249,898
Old February 24th, 2004, 07:41 PM   Digg it!   #1 (permalink)
Mean Moderator
 
EvilRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: N of Music City, USA
Posts: 7,791
Security Focus just sent me a virus

This file: "Unknown0000.data" was infected with: "Bloodhound.Exploit.6" virus.

I can't believe it. I'm gonna Google in a bit to see if anybody else has experienced this.
EvilRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2004, 07:47 PM     #2 (permalink)
Anime Otaku
 
RobRich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Posts: 110,141
Blog Entries: 15
Security Focus didn't send you anything, it was a forged email header. For example, my primary TechIMO address was used in the first known batch of MyDoom emails.

If you examine the source of the email, you will find the message never originated from any known Security Focus server.

Robert Richmond
__________________
Robert Richmond | TechIMO Community Relations Director
Infinite perceptions. One reality.
FanFiction.Net - Unleash your imagination.
RobRich is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2004, 07:51 PM     #3 (permalink)
Mean Moderator
 
EvilRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: N of Music City, USA
Posts: 7,791
Your sure about that?

I'd have to say, it's a good "forgery".

Now I'm going to have to dig.
__________________
This signature intentionally left blank.
EvilRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2004, 08:12 PM     #4 (permalink)
:slack: strong
 
Detritus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 18,479
Blog Entries: 4
Send a message via MSN to Detritus Send a message via Yahoo to Detritus
We had the same thing with MyDoom at work... emails coming from ppls machines when their machines weren't even on...
__________________
Tyranny doesn't have to come at the end of a gun.
It also comes cloaked in compassion.
Detritus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2004, 08:18 PM     #5 (permalink)
Mean Moderator
 
EvilRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: N of Music City, USA
Posts: 7,791
I figure some "Foo" sent it to me.
EvilRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2004, 08:22 PM     #6 (permalink)
Anime Otaku
 
RobRich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Posts: 110,141
Blog Entries: 15
[inside joke] That would be crazy. [/inside joke]
RobRich is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2004, 08:24 PM     #7 (permalink)
:slack: strong
 
Detritus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 18,479
Blog Entries: 4
Send a message via MSN to Detritus Send a message via Yahoo to Detritus
Yo!!!! you two "Foos" (if that is the right lingo ) look like your avatars are about to take each other out... any way, we even got returned emails that were sent from our machines (yeah right) to nonexistant email addys.
Detritus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2004, 08:27 PM     #8 (permalink)
Mean Moderator
 
EvilRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: N of Music City, USA
Posts: 7,791
It's to an address I don't publish and not the one I sent either. Same domain, but different account.

I don't really think it's from a "Foo", but yes, that would be funny. Just a coincidence . . . I hope. :shakinginmyboots:
EvilRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2004, 08:31 PM     #9 (permalink)
Anime Otaku
 
RobRich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Posts: 110,141
Blog Entries: 15
Quote:
your avatars are about to take each other out

Didn't you know? Rick is my evil opposite from another dimension. Haven't you ever seen that episode of Star Trek where Mr. Spock had a beard?
RobRich is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2004, 12:11 PM     #10 (permalink)
Mean Moderator
 
EvilRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: N of Music City, USA
Posts: 7,791
It seems the e-mail contained some "proof-of-concept code" that triggers avtivirus software.
EvilRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Most Active Discussions
Is It Just Me? (1509)
The Local Weather Thread (700)
would this build be enough for WOW? (13)
CBO: Obama's health care plan cuts .. (57)
Suggestions? (6)
Motherboard the culprit? (5)
Recent Problem (8)
I need help Guess what happened to .. (5)
Can't Rename Files (11)
[ F@H Chat] 03/07/10 New Month New.. (88)
Need some suggestions on building a.. (21)
My PC shutsdown after 30 minutes of.. (5)
Drive 0 not found: Serial ATA, Sata.. (7)
Compaq presario V5000 LAN Driver (8)
Recent Discussions
Recent Problem (8)
Selling Xbox Live 1 month codes!!! [$.. (1)
Want a new power supply for my Dell. (34)
[ F@H Chat] 03/07/10 New Month New T.. (88)
Suggestions? (6)
would this build be enough for WOW? (13)
Drive 0 not found: Serial ATA, Sata-0 (7)
3D Pinball for Windows High Score (122)
Motherboard the culprit? (5)
mac noob in need of help please (0)
Hard drive full = slower computer? Is.. (4)
Processor speeds? (19)
Clean up safe to delete? (4)
Where to buy 3Rsystem Iceage 120 Boss.. (3)
Need some suggestions on building a g.. (21)
2.6.12, Linux kernel (3)
I need help Guess what happened to my.. (5)
Can 2 cards run off 1 pcie 16 slot (2)
Microsoft removes hardware virtualiza.. (0)
Screen Flickers @ Bios, Waves at Desk.. (0)
Writing lead-out (6)
Broken PaperPort 10 Link (5)
Windows XP Pro Error log (4)
Lost Password - Win7 (8)
YOUR BEST TRICK OR TIP FOR YOUR COMPU.. (19)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32 PM.
TechIMO Copyright 2009 All Enthusiast, Inc.



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28